Preview Changes V Hawks

I think we will see Jenkins at CHF and McKernan at FF and backing up in the ruck next week. Lynch as a 3rd tall lead up type forward.

McKernan will play next week! Bookmark it! I just hope he is given a block of games to get some confidence and form going at the AFL level. I honestly feel he just needs one break out game for it to finally click. Tex's injury is genuinely shit development and could completely screw up our already spluttering season but it could turn out to be a silver lining for McKernan. Who know it might turn out that by the time Tex comes back from injury, we might have just found his partner in the forward line.

McKernan has all the tools to be Tippett replacement and in some areas, much better than Tippett.

I think that with Walker out and Sando coming up with a new forward structure, he can afford to mess around with the team a little bit. Jaensch looked much better tonight than all his other games put together. Maybe his extended run has payed dividends.

Maybe Johnstone in....

I believe many of our errors were by players who had less than 50 games. Given the circumstances of the game that is forgivable if they learn from it. Jenkins stuffed up, but on review Sando will make sure he learns from it. He looks to be on the cusp of doing really good things. From experienced players, like Reilly we must expect more. You can't just watch the ball and expect to hold a spot. Could he be dropped for Johncock in Def? Sando will have him on a warning next game I think.....

I do think it looked like we lacked experience and cool heads. I wouldn't be surprised if Porps comes back in after "training the house down."

Was I seeing things or did Vince lift in the last quarter? Might retain his spot.

It is easy to drop a lot of players after that performance, but Petrenko and McKay have to be on thin ice. They have been given MANY more opportunities than Johncock, Vince and Porplyzia.

Surely Grigg and Lyons can offer more than than these two. I'd love to see Grigg in, I reckon he is one of these players that will actually do even better at AFL level by having better players around him and better grounds.

Needs to lift

- Jacobs, lucky cupboard is bare
- Henderson, would put him up forward

What no one wants Jaenschy out???
If he's being selected to play in defence then yes, surely after tonight Sando and the coaching staff can see if he's ever going to make it as an AFL player of any note it's as a small crumbing forward, it sticks out like dogs balls!!!! I'd persevere with him in this role for the rest of the season, for mine he has way more upside than Callinan into the future especially when he uses his ultra penetrating kick to full advantage!!

I think we will see Jenkins at CHF and McKernan at FF and backing up in the ruck next week. Lynch as a 3rd tall lead up type forward.

McKernan will play next week! Bookmark it! I just hope he is given a block of games to get some confidence and form going at the AFL level. I honestly feel he just needs one break out game for it to finally click. Tex's injury is genuinely shit development and could completely screw up our already spluttering season but it could turn out to be a silver lining for McKernan. Who know it might turn out that by the time Tex comes back from injury, we might have just found his partner in the forward line.

McKernan has all the tools to be Tippett replacement and in some areas, much better than Tippett.
He has the tools, but not the mental toughness. I wish he could seize this opportunity with both hands and become the player all AFC followers want him to be...just don't see it happening....happy to be proved wrong thou.

If he's being selected to play in defence then yes, surely after tonight Sando and the coaching staff can see if he's ever going to make it as an AFL player of any note it's as a small crumbing forward, it sticks out like dogs balls!!!! I'd persevere with him in this role for the rest of the season, for mine he has way more upside than Callinan into the future especially when he uses his ultra penetrating kick to full advantage!!

Have never liked Matty J as a defender. Been banging on about this all last year and all preseason and the last 4 weeks when everyone wanted him gone. Small crumbing forward that can kick from 55 or on the run. Just look back at the goals he has scored in previous seasons...yet play him in the last line of defence or kick outs...:confused:

Just sick of seeing players not played in the positions that suit their game.

You know who would be an awesome tagger? Sloane. Would beat them in the air, wouldn't let them get away and would get just as many touches following the best around all day. Free up Wright as he is giving us nothing like last year.

Out: Brown (conc), Walker (inj), Jacobs (form)
In: Lyons, Johnston, McKernan

I wanted to drop Mackay (form), Petrenko (form) too but we'd have less experience than GWS and get belted. Grigg and Martin would come in for them otherwise.

If you want to drop Danger, Sloane, Thommo and Wright go ahead.

They arn't playing great footy at the moment, but the players around them arn't helping much. They cant carry a whole side, we need contributors across the ground, not just our 5 best players with the weight of the team on their shoulders.

Kerridge at the moment is our best option to tag Mitchell. Hard at it, fit and can tackle really well. Judd beat him for Pace. Mitchell cant do that.

The difference in a win and loss can be down to the worst 6 players on each team.

I don't want to drop them as they are our best players. But they need to lift and are the #1 reason we are 2-3. Those players should carry a side... Its what elite players do.

To the bolded bit - this is true when both teams best players are playing well. Ours are not. Our biggest problem is our stars are not performing.

Brodie Martin and Aiden Riley massively disappointing tonight. You think they would have been jumping out of their skin with spots up for grabs.

It was gift wrapped for them.

Reilly, Mackay, Henderson, Petrenko will all definitely be dropped this week plus Tex out so there are minimum five spots up for grabs. They choked - big time. And for both of them that is perhaps any chance of an AFL career down the tube. Means we'll have to cycle through Porps, Callinan, Tambling... etc instead.

Well done McKernan though - 5 goals! Very timely. Good luck to him, hope he finally grabs a chance.

So players with talent get judged harshly and freeloaders in the forward line are excused. And having a crack at Sloane is laughable. Time to let go of your Petrenko love affair, he is not playing well enough to hold his place in the team, the others you mentioned are.

Absolutely players with talent get judged harshly. They should.

I am not suggesting dropping those players i highlighted. I don't know how to fix it, just that it needs to be fixed.

Its funny - Petrenko is doing the exact same he did last year, with the exception of kicking more goals.

You need to look at the big picture mate - why is our side not performing? It is clear as day. We are not getting the ball enough. Danger averaging 20 disposals isn't enough. We didn't have anyone get the ball more than 25 times today (same story in Rd 1).

Our biggest problem is Thommo/Danger/SLoane/Wright/Sauce/Walker not performing to the level they were in 2012. Fix this and we win games. Don't fix it we don't make the 8.

Contrast that to replacing Petrenko with a player like Riley. Will that make us win more games? Absolutely not.

Jaensch got named best for us on AFC.com.au - is that real or made up by Journos?
They also named Kerridge fourth best, so... maybe not the most accurate rating

I don't want to drop them as they are our best players. But they need to lift and are the #1 reason we are 2-3. Those players should carry a side... Its what elite players do.

To the bolded bit - this is true when both teams best players are playing well. Ours are not. Our biggest problem is our stars are not performing.
What tripe is this?

Sloane (23) and Dangerfield (23) should be carrying out team week in, week out? How about some of our 24-32 year olds?

Oh, I forgot. They're mostly garbage.

Leaders
Reilly
Douglas
Mackay
Vince

All get off scot free. Zero responsibility, zero criticism. It's not their "role" to be good players.

C'mon Danger and Sloane, just get 30+ every week and non-stop Brownlow votes. That's how we'll WIN

Can Lyons get the ball and then direct it to a free player with a precise kick? Can he tackle? Can he handball in tight? Can he stay on his feet? Doesn't need to be fast, just needs to be better than some of the skiers in our team atm.

Absolutely players with talent get judged harshly. They should.

I am not suggesting dropping those players i highlighted. I don't know how to fix it, just that it needs to be fixed.

Its funny - Petrenko is doing the exact same he did last year, with the exception of kicking more goals.

You need to look at the big picture mate - why is our side not performing? It is clear as day. We are not getting the ball enough. Danger averaging 20 disposals isn't enough. We didn't have anyone get the ball more than 25 times today (same story in Rd 1).

Our biggest problem is Thommo/Danger/SLoane/Wright/Sauce/Walker not performing to the level they were in 2012. Fix this and we win games. Don't fix it we don't make the 8.

Contrast that to replacing Petrenko with a player like Riley. Will that make us win more games? Absolutely not.
I know why we are losing, our ruckman isn't spoon feeding our mids who in turn fed our forwards with the number of forward entries. They aren't carrying the side like they did last year. That's even more reason we need our lesser lights to lift their game and justify being selected in our side, they are all supposed to be quality AFL footballers.

As for Petrenko, last year he started the year off very well. This earned him some browny points when he had a very lean patch in the middle. Luckily for him he had some decent games towards the end but stank it up again in the finals. This year he has done sweet FA. He's played two shit games in 5. He had a good half against Brisbane. He isn't not doing enough to justify his place in the team.

Preview Changes V Hawks