Preview Changes v Saints

That backline looks a bit thin for tall backs

I think Cordy can take King and Keath the resting ruck (even a chance they drop Ryder), while Wood or Williams on Membrey.

I think we play our best footy with two talls and a lot of run.

Almost an impossible task given so much depends on how each player got through the time out and performed in the closed intraclub

Hopefully a youngster has 'trained the house down' and demanded selection, but barring anything wildly speculative, I'll go for;

Keath Lew Young Crozier
Williams Wood JJ
Macrae Bont Hayes
Dale Naughton (Schache if underdone) Lloyd
Dickson Bruce Wallis

English Dunkley B.Smith

Liberatore Lipinski Daniel Cordy

We need to shed some defenders - probably 3 of them. Although its difficult to pick who, after Gardner, as they are all solid performers. I would throw up Suckling and Williams, but they are seriously tough calls.

William's out?????????
It seems you feel about William's the way I feel about Dale. What was it about his Round 1 performance you didn't like compared to all the other players you would keep in?

Hopefully the midfield shows a bit more ticker this game. It's time for a statement. 2 games in a row getting bullied on the field.
Getting bullied by Collingwood was bad but they're a top tier midfield, so if you slip up they can easily take advantage.

Being bullied by the Saints in the midfield would simply be unacceptable.

McLean deserves a shot to prove himself considering how poor our kids were last week. Him, or Libba

Was watching the Saints v North Rd1 match the other day and I reckon Saints aren’t as bad as some on here think they are. Me included a few weeks ago.

Rubbish coach so we won’t be out coached, but they’ve put a decent 22 together over the off season so won’t be easy beats.

If we are 3/4’s fair dinkum we’ve got them covered but if our boys have another off day, I can see us getting rolled.

Hopefully we’ve got our act together by Sunday.

In I think there would be very little risk of letting 2,000 supporters into the Marvel stadium wearing masks. There is more danger at a big shopping centre than 2.000 at the footy. I know SA corona figures are less than ours and it is small steps at a time but this is very low level risk.

Out Cardboard Cut outs

I’ll spew up if we play as soft as we have the last 5 or so games . We are starting to get a reputation as push overs

In I think there would be very little risk of letting 2,000 supporters into the Marvel stadium wearing masks. There is more danger at a big shopping centre than 2.000 at the footy. I know SA corona figures are less than ours and it is small steps at a time but this is very low level risk.

Out Cardboard Cut outs
I think the club would still stick by their commitment to use a cardboard cutout if you've submitted payment for one.

It'd be funny if they relented and let say 2000 people attend ... and you were seated beside your own cardboard cutout.

I think the club would still stick by their commitment to use a cardboard cutout if you've submitted payment for one.

It'd be funny if they relented and let say 2000 people attend ... and you were seated beside your own cardboard cutout.

It’d make for great selfie potential.

Was watching the Saints v North Rd1 match the other day and I reckon Saints aren’t as bad as some on here think they are. Me included a few weeks ago.

Rubbish coach so we won’t be out coached, but they’ve put a decent 22 together over the off season so won’t be easy beats.

If we are 3/4’s fair dinkum we’ve got them covered but if our boys have another off day, I can see us getting rolled.

Hopefully we’ve got our act together by Sunday.
I think Brett Ratten is a pretty good coach actually.

I'm confident he'll make it.

You'll be happy to be proven wrong, I'm sure.

He has looked absolutely terrible in his limited 3 afl games. Don’t know what you see in Gardener but you are very optimistic. One thing is forsure, he hasn’t warranted a spot in our starting 22.

Regardless, Trengrove should be our full back and was in ripper form leading before being bemusedly omitted for finals. He seems to be in Bevos catagory that Will Minson was in.

He has looked absolutely terrible in his limited 3 afl games. Don’t know what you see in Gardener but you are very optimistic. One thing is forsure, he hasn’t warranted a spot in our starting 22.

Regardless, Trengrove should be our full back and was in ripper form leading before being bemusedly omitted for finals. He seems to be in Bevos catagory that Will Minson was in.

Gardner sucks, but I don't feel like the selectors agree.

Trengove was out of the first round after rolling an ankle. Hopefully he's in this weekend's side.

I think Brett Ratten is a pretty good coach actually.

Rubbish was probably a bit too strong a description.
I like Ratten as a coach, I think he’s a good people person who connects well with his players. He seems to have always had good relationships with the players below him going on what a lot of his ex players say.

His influence on his players and the tactical side of things is where I think he lacks.
Can’t ever see him becoming a premiership coach, I think what we saw him do at Carlton is what we’ll see at the Saints.
IMO he had a pretty good side at times while at Carlton and they were still pretty ordinary.
If he was to come out and do amazing things at the Saints it’ll probably be due to his time at the Hawks, but from what we’ve seen from his time as a head coach previously, I don’t see him in the top rung of coaches.

My post last Friday...."Someone with beanie on doing extra leg stretches (JJ?)." Although it's not JJ, well spotted even if I do say so myself.;)

1591692554933.png

Western Bulldogs duo Taylor Duryea and Roarke Smith have been ruled out of this Sunday’s clash with St Kilda.

Duryea and Smith recently suffered some quad tightness, and are expected to return to full training in the next 1-2 weeks.

Round 2 --- 2020

B:
Hayden Crozier, Jack Trengove, Zaine Cordy

HB: Easton Wood, Alex Keath, Matt Suckling

C: Jack Macrae, Marcus Bontempelli, Ed Richards

HF: Bailey Dale, Aaron Naughton, Sam Lloyd

F: Mitch Wallis, Josh Bruce, Toby McLean,

Foll: Tim English, Josh Dunkley, Bailey Smith

Int: Tom Liberatore, JJ, Caleb Daniel, Josh Schache

2nd ruck
Some movement with the talls
Flexibility with the mids
Good chance of a complete rehash after 10 mins :)

Round 2 --- 2020

B:

2nd ruck

To many talls in this team and Bailey Williams must play he was our best player in round 1 even though feels like last season.

Round 2 --- 2020

B:

2nd ruck
Very solid team. Bailey Williams the only glaring omission. Probably swap out Schache to not be so tall.

Williams has been one of our only shining lights this year, he simply has to play