Changes vs. Blues

• Thread starter Thread starter Canary

Sub would have to be Nicholson, maybe Petterd. No way Gizz or Evans will be after their great games last week...

nicholson already said he expected to play as the sub, but looking at the side we have named... i reckon morton will be as sub, he can come on go back/forward an can get all the uncontested footy he likes fresh in the last

Making Bartrams absence even worse... That said he'd smash Bartram in the air...
Bartram we needed for Garlett and Betts.

Macdonald could have at least taken Judd, if he's forced to take one of the smalls, ****.

frawley can run with betts, he has pasted milne before
warnock to waite, and **** nos who takes garlett.. it worries me the height of the team we are trotting out yet we arent a good contested marking side anywere on the ground..players who are taller than average

bate
newton
jurrah
petterd
watts
green
morton
martin

rivers
macdonald
frawley
gysberts

that 12 of the 22 who would be considered taller than the average midfielder :s

Good point, this is something that worries me. TBF, the ones in bold will all play in the midfield for all or most of the game, so that mitigates the problem a bit. But I do agree that we go in far too tall.

Time for Morton to stand up, he'll come out firing.

Who'll be the sub? Petterd, Gyzberts, Nicholson or Evens
Nicholson said in in his interview he would be the sub.

Good point, this is something that worries me. TBF, the ones in bold will all play in the midfield for all or most of the game, so that mitigates the problem a bit. But I do agree that we go in far too tall.

yeah true and even jurrah and petterd will work up the ground, but what i meant was with that many taller than average players we should be taking marks all over the ground but we just dont do it, in time having morton/watts/gysberts as marking targets always moving all over the ground will be excellent but i atm we just look probably one or 2 players to tall

Nicholson said in in his interview he would be the sub.

From the thursday team chat with matt burgan:

G'day Ethan, it's interesting because Daniel Nicholson at his media conference today said he thought he would be the sub, yet Dean Bailey said it hadn't been fully finalised. So Nicholson would be leading the race at the moment - but it could be a tactic, so it'll be interesting to see. Matt

FB: Bennell Warnock Frawley
FF: Garlett O'Hailpin Walker

HB: Macdonald Rivers Morton
HF: Betts Waite Robinson

C: Evans Moloney Green
C: Simpson Gibbs Scotland

HF: Bate Watts Jetta
HB: Russell Thornton Yarran

FF: Jurrah Newton Maric
FB: Laidler Jamison Duigan

Foll: Martin Sylvia Jones
Foll: Hampson Murphy Judd

Int: Petterd, Gysberts, McKenzie, Nicholson
Int: McLean, Carrazzo, Ellard, Armfield

We're going to get smashed in the midfield, and from there it will all unravel. Shame really, if we had Jamar, Scully, Tregove in, Davey in form to give us some speed and Bail to tag Judd I feel like we'd be a good shot even without 4 members of our starting 6 backline.

Jetta should take one of the Carlton small forwards & Frawley the other, if Judd plays forward then Green to follow him... Bennell to play half forward on Yarran, I am so disappointed Bail doesn't get his chance for payback against the blues sniper...
I've never seen Jetta play in defence, but I'd be worried about him having the speed for Garlett or the defensive skills for Betts. Green playing half back flank or Judd, I can't see that ending well. Green is down on agility and should probably try to lock down on a wingman, he's done ok in that roll in a couple of the last few weeks.

McKenzie will run with Judd.
He could limit his impact at the stoppages but out in space it will be a disaster. Maybe rotate him with Jones and Gysberts. Is it too big a gig to give Nicholson after coming on fresh in the second half? Or even give it too him the whole game, he should have the speed.

B. Frawley Warnock Bennell
HB. Rivers Morton Nicholson
C. Jones Moloney Jetta
HF. Sylvia Watts MacDonald
F. Maric Newton Jurrah
R. Martin McKenzie Gysberts
IC. Evans Petterd Green Bate (sub)

MacDonald to play on Yarran.

This would be nice...
B. Frawley Warnock Barteam
HB. Grimes Garland Tappy
C. Jones Moloney Trengove
HF. Sylvia Watts Bennell
F. Green Jurrah Maric
R. Jamar Scully McKenzie
IC. Martin Gysberts Blease Petterd

Switch Blease for Grimes and this could be our lineup shortly.

Juice Newton will give him some relief in the centre bounces, in the forwardline Watts will take a few contests, Warnock a possibility in the backline. That's about it.

IIRC, didn't Sylvia ruck against Carlton last year?
Not saying that he should tomorrow night, but i'm sure I saw that last year.

he may have taken a centre bounce because the Russian was on the bench at the time. He takes the odd ruck if no one else is there and is sometimes 3rd man up - like i assume he, et al, will be on Friday night at times.

I think we also threw him in the ruck when trying to secure Scullgove a few years back IIRC.

No-one. Newton will have a go but he's rubbish.
What does Newton got to do to get the ass? It's got me ****ed! The only thing Newton is going to bring to the table is an All Australian jumper for Jamieson after gets BOG for tearing Newton a new arseh*le.

Jetta should take one of the Carlton small forwards & Frawley the other, if Judd plays forward then Green to follow him... Bennell to play half forward on Yarran, I am so disappointed Bail doesn't get his chance for payback against the blues sniper...

This is how I'd like to see them match up. Jetta is hard as nails and I'm hoping he can step up and play a Bartram type role. Bennel playing defensive fwd. Gysberts could run with Judd I think.

Bate should be the sub, give Nicholson a real go - Bate has embarrassed himself and the club enough - not under the Friday night lights, please!

Newton, I still have more patience for him, just enough to get through this week with 11 of our top 22 out now (our fitness staff must be doing a great job :))