Preview Changes vs Collingwood

• Thread starter Thread starter JP Sauce

No Reilly? Fair dinkum

I understand your argument but you cant drop the whole side who underperformed and who is going to come in for Reilly? If Jaensch was fit Reilly could have been in some trouble. Bringing in Otten and Rutten already slows us down but allows us to compete with the talls of Collingwood and Otten provides that Lynch style flexibility. Martin played a great game today and I could see him being selected but I don't trust him to perform at AFL level.

The Crow come thru the corridor more than any other club ...the advantage IF you don't turn the ball over is that for forwards the defense is under real pressure in knowing which way a leading forward leads ......having the plus one defender is negated somewhat by a skillfull midfield and smart forward.

Tex will thrive under this structure ....Jenkins and JPod have not the footy nous to capitalise

The Crow come thru the corridor more than any other club ...the advantage IF you don't turn the ball over is that for forwards the defense is under real pressure in knowing which way a leading forward leads ......having the plus one defender is negated somewhat by a skillfull midfield and smart forward.

Tex will thrive under this structure ....Jenkins and JPod have not the footy nous to capitalise

I think J pod and JJ will thrive as the alternative lead up forwards. The real good thing is Tex will take away the hit and hope into the forward line by midfielders not able to make the distance. Tex will just lead up around the 50 arc opening up the forward line for jpod and jj to both be one on one with less quality defenders. Betts will love this.

Wasn't bad yesterday. Reilly, Petrenko, Jaensch, Shaw should be dropped before Griggy.

The first unforced change for the Collingwood game will be Richard Douglas coming in for a midfielder. That midfielder will be Mitch Grigg. Wright is the only other mid even in the frame to be dropped, but I can't see it happening.

After today's SANFL game, my predictions for what will actually happen (not what I would do) are as follows:

In: Walker, Douglas, Otten, Martin, Lyons
Out: Lynch (inj), Grigg (omitted), Shaw (omitted), Jaensch (inj), Wright (omitted)

Yes that's right folks, there's a legitimate chance that both Reilly and Petrenko survive, even with 5 changes. Disgusting isn't it? Rutten will come in for Hartigan if he's considered fully fit and able to run out a game. Based on today, that seems unlikely.

Personally, I'd go with this:

In: Walker, Douglas, Otten, Lyons, Cameron, Battersby, Ellis-Yolmen
Out: Lynch (inj), Grigg, Shaw, Jaensch (inj), Reilly, Petrenko, Wright

Won't happen.

In: Walker, Douglas, Otten, Rutten

Out: Lynch, Jaensch, Petrenko, Grigg

So all of Walker, Pods, Jenkins, Otten, Rutten, Talia, Hartigan, Shaw, and Jacobs will play huh? 9 talls is an underutilised model.

Pendlebury may have 70 touches.

So all of Walker, Pods, Jenkins, Otten, Rutten, Talia, Hartigan, Shaw, and Jacobs will play huh? 9 talls is an underutilised model.

Pendlebury may have 70 touches.
If Kerridge goes to him, I doubt it. Swan on the other hand....

You can get set with me on that one!!:)

I won't be surprised if Kerridge keeps him under 1/3 of that!!

In that case, make it Beams!

More of a tongue in cheek comment based on the ridiculous land of the giants changes proposed by the poster above which would see us go in as the tallest and slowest side in the history of the sport.

Pods has more footy nous than most - if you watch him live. Clever tap ons, etc to bring team mates into the play.

JJ was good last week when he offered plenty of leads - hardly made any in the 1st half this week. He is still learning his trade.

So after watching the SANFL today id go with.

OUT
Lynch
Jaensch
Reilly
Grigg
Petrenko

In
Walker
Douglas
Lyons
Cameron
Otten

Cameron has the attitude of a maniac, I haven't seen a Crow tackle and chase like that before. Wasn't intimidated by Logan at all. Lyons wins the ball in tight, isnt fancy and has ordinary disposal but the quick long bomb might work with our talls in good nick with a young Magpie backline. Otten worked his way into the game and reads the play well. Dougy is a given and Tex is more than ready.

If those are to be the ins, and our mindset changes I can actually see us winning the game, those ins make our side LOOK significantly stronger. It would be like us to win and then drop the next one against inferior opposition, however if current form continues we will be in for a long night.

Unfortunately I missed most of yesterday's game cos I was playing but I still think Reilly needs to go as do most people and Petrenko, but what I did see Laird stepped up.

Out:

Reilly - Has been dreadful so hurry up and retire
Petrenko - Doesn't give us enough
Jaensch (Ribs)
Lynch (Jaw)
Shaw - Too slow and skills aren't good enough for AFL level.

In:

Walker - Straight in obviously, being made easier with the unfortunate injury to Lynch.
Douglas - Back from suspension
Rutten - I watched him today and while he's the slowest ever AFL player he can still play, so straight onto Cloke.
Lyons - Needs to be brought in, way too good for any seconds team.
Martin - Although he hasn't played that well for the 1's, I think he'd be a good replacement for Reilly off the back flank instead of Otten, simply because he'll give better run. Unless the pies go with 4 talls then Otten should play.

Unfortunately I missed most of yesterday's game cos I was playing but I still think Reilly needs to go as do most people and Petrenko, but what I did see Laird stepped up.

Out:

Reilly - Has been dreadful so hurry up and retire
Petrenko - Doesn't give us enough
Jaensch (Ribs)
Lynch (Jaw)
Shaw - Too slow and skills aren't good enough for AFL level.

In:

Walker - Straight in obviously, being made easier with the unfortunate injury to Lynch.
Douglas - Back from suspension
Rutten - I watched him today and while he's the slowest ever AFL player he can still play, so straight onto Cloke.
Lyons - Needs to be brought in, way too good for any seconds team.
Martin - Although he hasn't played that well for the 1's, I think he'd be a good replacement for Reilly off the back flank instead of Otten, simply because he'll give better run. Unless the pies go with 4 talls then Otten should play.
Agree with pretty much everything you say except Martin playing off the half back flank. Martin has been tried there and has been proven as a liability down there.

Mmm it's a hard one then, who can create that run we lose from Jaensch and well even sometimes Reilly? Grigg maybe?

So after watching the SANFL today id go with.

OUT
Lynch
Jaensch
Reilly
Grigg
Petrenko

In
Walker
Douglas
Lyons
Cameron
Otten

Cameron has the attitude of a maniac, I haven't seen a Crow tackle and chase like that before. Wasn't intimidated by Logan at all. Lyons wins the ball in tight, isnt fancy and has ordinary disposal but the quick long bomb might work with our talls in good nick with a young Magpie backline. Otten worked his way into the game and reads the play well. Dougy is a given and Tex is more than ready.

If those are to be the ins, and our mindset changes I can actually see us winning the game, those ins make our side LOOK significantly stronger. It would be like us to win and then drop the next one against inferior opposition, however if current form continues we will be in for a long night.

I'd actually be excited to attend the game if those changes all eventuate. Unfortunately they won't, and therefore I won't.

I reckon Knight will be a cracker, hopefully he sees some senior game time this year

Would be nice after what I seen from him today, out with one Reilly and in with another Riley
Yer would be great, but frankly don't think Sando has the guts to make that selection.