Opinion Changes vs Hawks OUT: Ryan Cox IN: Deluca McCarthy

Big outs, in the sense that they are unexpected and the reasoning surrounding their outs is disappointing. I've told someone here who they are for legitimacy. McCarthy will probably slot straight in to replace one of them.

Yep that does sound disappointing if it is another Blakely lack of discipline or drinking type scenario. You would imagine this will open an opportunity for DeLuca.

So long as it is not a massive drugs/fight type issue I guess we will survive, pity as we are a real chance in this game.

I mean you can still develop kids with peel playing final series . You are just one dimension . Sometime not playing for freo look like not develop kids but I think differently. Logue should play wafl.

Disagree with this strongly.
Every game he has played for us he has started to grow in confidence (with the exception of the Cats game), he just needs to keep playing and gain confidence that he can do it.

Ethan Hughes is a perfect example, looked awful until about 2 weeks ago and has now gained the confidence required to be an AFL player and is progressing each week.

Disagree with this strongly.
Every game he has played for us he has started to grow in confidence (with the exception of the Cats game), he just needs to keep playing and gain confidence that he can do it.

Ethan Hughes is a perfect example, looked awful until about 2 weeks ago and has now gained the confidence required to be an AFL player and is progressing each week.
But Ethan and blakely been dropped last year and develop their game in wafl. Ethan also been dropped this year . Our opposition hawthorn dropped Sicily and other until they improve their game.

Rightio so we have some sort of disciplinary reasons behind a couple of droppings.
There's no one we could lose in the forward line that would be disappointing in regards to form! So perhaps Cox has made a poor decision and McCarthy slots in.
Backline? Whoever his mate is. Luke Ryan?
All speculation. I'll respect DollarDollarBeal. Thanks for heads up.

If it was form players? Well nothing worse then losing Walters.

Does he?
Current state of rucking has settled post 3rd man ban.
It seems that a pure ruckman taking 90% of the load and a fwd who does the remaining 10% when the ruckman is off the field is the most successful combination. Darcy seems capable of being that pure ruckman and continued growth in that area would have to be the best for his development.
We get Sandy back next year which could open the possibility of Darcy spending time forward but even in the case I'd prefer Darcy to ruck the vast majority of game time.
Sorry, but if you think it's a good idea having a first year rookie carrying the ruck solo for half the season with 0 backup when he can't run out a full game, then you're wrong.

I just want to see our deepest forward playing deeper. Would love a forward anchored inside the forward 50 like Dangerfield was but not sure it will happen. Against the Eagles our deepest forward was about 80 m our from their goals. We were collapsing back too much into defense.

As an aside I noticed the Eagles would really crowd in about 12-13 players within about 15 m of the ball in their defense with only three or four at about the 50 m line as outriders. As soon as it looked like they might win the ball in close many of the the players around the ball would sprint directly forward on a fast break with running handballs. In contrast when we broke from defense we normally went sideways (certainly we spread in all directions more) with kicks which allowed the Eagles more time to get back.

It won't be Walters soud great yesterday with hassle in 6pr radio . I am going for pizza team now.

I don't like this guessing game

On SM-A5100 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Sorry to disappoint but I am going to guess anyhow!!

I reckon from the backline it will be Ryan (just looks like a lad that is enjoying the time of his life and may have gone too far)
From the forward line I am going to guess Cox who as our youngest may have made the mistake through sheer inexperience.

I would be very surprised if it was one of our experienced guys (like Johnson again).

Note I have no idea, just guessing to pass the day!

Surprised Johnson hasn't been given a rest this year. He's had quite a few knees in the back with players jumping on him in marking contests of late and the other week watching the game vs North, Fox commentator Dunstall pointed out how the protective padding was visible under his jumper.

6 day break is an issue. Don't know what Darcy's capacity is for hard work as he has exceeded expectations so far - but going mostly solo against McEvoy is a big ask.

Surprised Johnson hasn't been given a rest this year. He's had quite a few knees in the back with players jumping on him in marking contests of late and the other week watching the game vs North, Fox commentator Dunstall pointed out how the protective padding was visible under his jumper.

6 day break is an issue. Don't know what Darcy's capacity is for hard work as he has exceeded expectations so far - but going mostly solo against McEvoy is a big ask.

Geez Johnno was stiff and sore even in the warm up before the derby game. See no issue with him resting in some of our away games especially certain losses to GWS and Sydney.

Rightio so we have some sort of disciplinary reasons behind a couple of droppings.
There's no one we could lose in the forward line that would be disappointing in regards to form! So perhaps Cox has made a poor decision and McCarthy slots in.
Backline? Whoever his mate is. Luke Ryan?
All speculation. I'll respect DollarDollarBeal. Thanks for heads up.

If it was form players? Well nothing worse then losing Walters.

Speculative but, Kersten and Ryan are good mates i have heard.

I'm not even going to mention Hamling / Kersten as i think Joel is as level headed as they come.

I think it'll be Logue/Nyhuis out for Ibbotson and Macarthy

View attachment 394208
Hey guys.
Me and a couple mates launched WA FAN TV at the derby. Got a fair bit of time with Fremantle and Eagles fans before and after the game. Just asked for thoughts on the game and on a couple of hot topics flying around the clubs at the moment. The page has been met with a great response from almost a couple hundred people.

If you'd like to check us out just hop on facebook and search WA FAN TV and drop us a like and let us know what you think! Actually met a couple dudes who are active on these forums and suggested that this might float afew peoples boats here

https://www.facebook.com/WAFANTV/

If you enjoy the page or think its a good idea please share it around and let your footy mates know.
Footy doesnt exist without fans and true fan opinion does not get enough exposure.

keep an eye out for us at all Eagles and Dockers home games and be sure to have your voice heard

Cheers!

there's a good bet in there somewhere ;)

Well you didn't compliment my selection of Ryan and Cox so I am going to suggest that makes it Ryan and Nyhuis, just so you don't have to say it.

I will also guess it was all Ryan's fault hahah.

Not good for them but pretty easily replaced by McCarthy, DeLuca, Ibbo or even more likely Sutcliffe. Hopefully the lessons will be learnt.