List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade Thread - 2025 Edition Vol 3

Quick Links

List Changes - 2025
In:
  • Brandon Starcevich arrives at West Coast in a three team deal
  • Tylar Young (Richmond) arrived at West Coast in exchange for Pick 38.
  • Deven Robertson (Brisbane) has agreed to join West Coast and will be signed on to the rookie list after being delisted by Brisbane
Out:
  • Oscar Allen joins Brisbane as a FA - West Coast receive Pick 2 as compensation
  • Liam Ryan and a 2027 R3 pick has been traded to St Kilda for a 2026 R2 pick
  • Campbell Chesser has been traded to Carlton for Pick 41
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Coen Livingstone joins the list of players not offered a new contract

Players Out of Contract - 2025 (0)
  • Jamie Cripps and Malakai Champion seem to have been offered new contracts despite there being no official announcement. Means that all players out of contract for 2025 have been given new contracts despite or removed from the playing list

2025 Draft Order

Current Draft Picks:
Round 1: 1, 2, 13
Round 2: 34, 41
Round 3: 53, 58 (These picks are in excess of available list spots so will be forfeited if we don’t consolidate our 2025 picks up the order or trade some for future picks)

List Spots Available (39 of 48):
• Main list (33 of 38) - 5* (in: Starcevich, Young out: Allen, Ryan, Chesser, Hunt, Petruccelle, Jamieson)
• Cat A rookie list (5 of 8) - 3* (in: Robertson (pending), out: Rawlinson)
• Cat B rookie list (1 of 2) - 2 (out: Livingstone)

* Based on Dewar being upgraded after the maximum 3 years on the rookie list. Hutchinson may also have been upgraded but this isn’t confirmed - if it is we will have 4 main and 4 rookie list spots open

* Matthew Clarke has stated we have 5 main list spots

Matt Clarke wraps up the trade period - 6PR

Not been paying much attention to the draft and I people say CDT is too short. How does he compare to someone like Luke Jackson?

Issue is if we have a good injury run we could have 49 players on our list (if they introduce the extra rookie spot) they will be juggling the emergency I’m sure but that’s still hard to get minutes into everyone
24/25 for Afl games and 22 beagles means we have to have three or less injuries for that to happen.
Miguel might be the best to answer but i think the most Afl listed players we played this year was 16 in a good run of injuries.
Only issue we might have is if we have 20 Afl listed players available we might have to play Barnett as a midfielder.
I think the most obvious answer is if we don't have any injuries we ask for some players to be played in another clubs reserves team. I can remember that a Eagles player played at East Perth before the alignment.
The player was coming back from injury and we were last on the ladder.
I think it was the only game we won in the ressies so he must have been a good player.

Nic also copped plenty of nonsense about having to "learn the game" because of his Fijian heritage despite growing up on a street playing footy alongside Chris Yarran and Michael Walters. Kind of shit that Chol and Aliir Aliir never seemed to have to cop, thankfully. Racism was definitely part of it.

Was just about to say this. Some of the comments early on in his career were like we pulled a savage out of the jungle to play a sport he'd never seen before, even though he was born in Sydney and moved to Perth when he was two.

It was sickening.

Oh ew.

Also just saw this with Dylan Alexander and some hot campaigner. On a side not I’d absolutely loath if we lose traditional ruckmen due to last touch.

It's not last touch, it's last possession.

I blame footy media for this. Heaps of them have been fuming this year over a last touch rule when it'll be the same as the AFLW.

Last clear possession between the arcs that goes out of bounds. You can still spoil the ball over the line for a throw in.

Jesus of Nazareth, he's the one for mine. Put the cross on his back, looked around at his disciples and said "who's coming with me?"

Gotta say the JC jokes had become tiresome until you came along. This is elite level standards that has a specific target audience of one; me, Bender.

View attachment 2454811
With our ins and outs, I thought it worth updating.

Assumptions:
We only take 3 picks in the open pool with Duursma, Sharp and Cumming.
We then match bids on T Williams and Banfield
Walley and Evans to Rookie list
Dev and Blamires (or pick your desired target) as SSP or Rookies

Total = 48 which is the standard 38 senior, 4 rookies + 2 Cat B and a special assistance 4 rookies
With the change to NGA kids being accessible until 21 now, I reckon there’s a bigger chance we let those guys slide, develop at the beagles or wafl club of origin and stock up on mature recruits

CDT reminds me of scott gumbleton who coincidentally was drafted at pick 2 in the 2006 draft. Huge promise, but just never quite got there with injuries hampering him for most of his career.

It’s a sign…trade pick 2! IMG_6674.jpeg

Last edited by a moderator:
I suspect we’ve also learnt to not dig our heels in for the sake of it. Whilst the Barrass trade was ok (even better if we take Carlton’s picks) we did get stung for not taking pick 12 or whatever the Hawks were initially offering. We would have still had pick 3.

This year, we seem to be more efficient at getting deals done and not squabbling over minor differences - and thus losing time / opportunity cost

Clarke could have totally messed things up and stuck it up Brissie thus screwing up our pick 2 compo.

So whilst it hasn’t been a groundbreaking trade period, it’s been the absence of **** ups that has been a positive.

Now we just wait for the bids for pick 1 or 2 and hopefully it’s a bidding war so we extract maximum value.
Judging performance as a positive because of the absence of **** ups is pretty wild to me.

I kind of hope we delist Cripps to create a list opening for a young player, none of the remaining 2018 premiership players will feature in our next, it’s time to move on.
I also rate Cripps highly, but I’d rather see a kid given the opportunity.

Another year on the rookie list is the way to go. I think with losing Ryan we need him around, let the new generation learn from him for a year & then call it a day. He can teach them that even if your not the most skilled player a good workrate can get you far.

He may even have to play some WAFL but I think he'd be fine with it. He won't move across the country and move his family for a year so no risk in him getting poached.

Essentially doing Chesser + 38 for Young + 41 is not worth melting over but it would be nice to one day see Clarke not pay slight overs/accept slight unders in every single trade he does.
Our recent results have placed us in an incredibly difficult position to attract players. As it stands, we need to pay overs to get them here. Hopefully, when we start winning again, we will be on a better footing to trade competitively.

I saw this today re: North, and would imagine Clarke is getting similar feedback from managers.

IMG_8326.JPG