Could some teams do with a bit of re-branding?

North Melbourne isn't a suburb, is it?

Arden Street runs from West to East, and joins Kensington to Carlton.

No?

Ugh.

Yes it is a suburb. The club was named after the suburb.

Look.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Melbourne,_Victoria

North Melbourne is a suburb of Melbourne, Australia, 2 km north-west of Melbourne's Central Business District. Its local government area is the City of Melbourne. At the 2011 Census, North Melbourne had a population of 11,755.

North Melbourne is bounded by the CityLink freeway to the west, Victoria Street to the south, O'Connell and Peel Streets to the east and Flemington Road to the north.

Ugh.

Yes it is a suburb. The club was named after the suburb.

Look.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Melbourne,_Victoria

North Melbourne is a suburb of Melbourne, Australia, 2 km north-west of Melbourne's Central Business District. Its local government area is the City of Melbourne. At the 2011 Census, North Melbourne had a population of 11,755.

North Melbourne is bounded by the CityLink freeway to the west, Victoria Street to the south, O'Connell and Peel Streets to the east and Flemington Road to the north.

Still prefer Kensington Kangaroos.

Sorry GG... I think the suburb you are looking for is now officially called Sydney Olympic Park (formally Homebush Bay).

The Sydney Olympic Park Giants.

Was suggested in a thread I created a year or two ago proposing "Nepean Giants" (that was a fantastic thread btw), that the name Olympic Giants would be very apt.

To all those who say West Coast should change to Perth, I don't think they realise how many fans they have all over WA, not just Perth. WC is working for them big time, especially in country areas and areas outside Perth along the coast, I've seen it myself.

Granted, "west coast" in it's literally sense refers to a coastline, but for country folk that's fine. I don't think Perth would be.

^This. The best thing the club ever did was knock back the name Perth - not that they ever had a choice because there was already a Perth Football Club who objected. In the end it worked in the clubs favour and probably gave us more fans. Now that we have Western and Greater Western Sydney it presents a bit of a branding problem - but I doubt West Coast will ever change its name and it shouldn't either.

West Coast Eagles
Footscray Bulldogs
Parramatta Giants

Sydney Olympic Park is located 16 kilometres west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of Auburn.

---------

Therefore, even more specific (and nicer sounding) would be Auburn Giants ;)

So if you need to name a side specifically after where they actually play. So I expect you'll agree that the following changes need to be made - the Jollimont Demons, the Jolimont Magpies, the Jollimont, Tigers, the Jollimont Hawks (sorry, Launceston Hawks)

The Docklands Dogs, the Docklands Saints, the Docklands Bombers, the Docklands Kangaroos (sorry, Hobart Kangaroos), the Docklands Blues.

Why?

Western Force would be a dumb name?

If you're going to base a team in Joondalup to draw support from Joondalup and the surrounding areas, you call it Joondalup.

agree but given all footy is played out of one oval it doesn't matter where a club is "based"

If a club limits itself to the northern suburbs, I can't see it being a success for generations

Butthurt_o_127904.jpg
What ever you do in your private time, we dont do care about

I'd love to see the AFL be creative and pro-active in this area. The new teams, in particular, are aweful. Gold Coast wear McDonalds little league uniforms, while everyting about GWS from the name to the G to the colours is disgusting.

But I'd like to see even more than that. The AFL has done heaps to make the competition a 'level playing field', but in doing so, has ironed out all the differences between clubs that added spirit to the game. The teams are really just basically identical franchises now. But 'level' doesn't have to mean identical. I'd love to see them re-brand each club around a theme. Then, 'tweak' the equalisation measures to match the theme, giving each club a DIFFERENT but roughly equal advantage. Some examples off the top of my head:

Theme = The family club
Advantage = reduced threshold for father/son - can take the son of any player who was on their list for at least 3 seasons using a second round draft pick or lower

Collingwood:
Theme = the people's club
Advantage = subsidized membership tickets, supporters get free lower level seating at matches to have more influence on the game

Carlton:
Theme = money/power and buying their way to success
Advantage = extra 15% in salary cap, but free agency compensation comes directly from Carlton (ie if compensation is first-round pick it comes from the club)

Theme = Night footy specialists
Advantage = all games played at night throughout the year

Theme = represents WA
Advantage = WA academy

Theme = scrappy underdogs
Advantage = expanded rookie list to 15 players

Theme = Tassie
Advantage = Tassie academy

Theme = glitz and glamour
Advantage = extra marketing allowance in the salary cap (double the rest of the league)

etc. It would take some tweaking to make it fair, but even really small differences could lead to teams having to have drastically different approaches in building their teams, thus helping creating stronger identities for their clubs.

So if you need to name a side specifically after where they actually play. So I expect you'll agree that the following changes need to be made - the Jollimont Demons, the Jolimont Magpies, the Jollimont, Tigers, the Jollimont Hawks (sorry, Launceston Hawks)

The Docklands Dogs, the Docklands Saints, the Docklands Bombers, the Docklands Kangaroos (sorry, Hobart Kangaroos), the Docklands Blues.
C'mon, man! You're losing the plot there. Not being so anal as that. Just coming up with names that are less generic and 'nothing', for nicer sounding more specific location names.

Perth > West Coast
Ok let's keep North Melbourne, if Kensington isn't exactly right.
Footscray > Western
A more unique name like Nepean, Cumberland would be better than the worst generic name given to a club identity in GWS.

Meanwhile, we also need to get the Gold Coast a better nickname than Suns, and Port Adelaide a better one than Power.

And then things would feel a lot better in terms of branding and team location names.

agree but given all footy is played out of one oval it doesn't matter where a club is "based"

If a club limits itself to the northern suburbs, I can't see it being a success for generations

I think Fremantle have done a pretty decent job for themselves

They have done a great job but feel the city of Fremantle has always had its own identity, the two freo clubs had good support, the wafl flags and most importantly a blue collar market to tap into.

Joondalup doesn't enjoy the same identity, history or representation. I'm sure it will one day but I'm not sure why it has any more claim than say rockingham or ballajurra.

I hope Perth gets a third team soon but feel "Perth", "North Perth" or another ubiquitous name may be more beneficial than Joondalup.

Lol you don't even North Melbourne is a suburb. Think it's time to stop posting.
Are there kangaroos running wild down the streets there too?

I guess anything is possible in this fairytale make-believe land called "north melbourne".... which is closer to carlton than Kensington is to Essendon... so I still propose this as a better unique identifier.

Plus NMFC not as good as KFC, can set up a long term major sponsorship with KFC ;)

Once again, GG solving bunches of problems with forward thinking ideas.

They have done a great job but feel the city of Fremantle has always had its own identity, the two freo clubs had good support, the wafl flags and most importantly a blue collar market to tap into.

Joondalup doesn't enjoy the same identity, history or representation. I'm sure it will one day but I'm not sure why it has any more claim than say rockingham or ballajurra.

I hope Perth gets a third team soon but feel "Perth", "North Perth" or another ubiquitous name may be more beneficial than Joondalup.

But West Coast are the 'Perth' team?

If WA three isn't tied to another area and plays from the same stadium, why would anyone change clubs?

I'd love to see the AFL be creative and pro-active in this area. The new teams, in particular, are aweful. Gold Coast wear McDonalds little league uniforms, while everyting about GWS from the name to the G to the colours is disgusting.

But I'd like to see even more than that. The AFL has done heaps to make the competition a 'level playing field', but in doing so, has ironed out all the differences between clubs that added spirit to the game. The teams are really just basically identical franchises now. But 'level' doesn't have to mean identical. I'd love to see them re-brand each club around a theme. Then, 'tweak' the equalisation measures to match the theme, giving each club a DIFFERENT but roughly equal advantage. Some examples off the top of my head:

Theme = The family club
Advantage = reduced threshold for father/son - can take the son of any player who was on their list for at least 3 seasons using a second round draft pick or lower

Collingwood:
Theme = the people's club
Advantage = subsidized membership tickets, supporters get free lower level seating at matches to have more influence on the game

Carlton:
Theme = money/power and buying their way to success
Advantage = extra 15% in salary cap, but free agency compensation comes directly from Carlton (ie if compensation is first-round pick it comes from the club)

Theme = Night footy specialists
Advantage = all games played at night throughout the year

Theme = represents WA
Advantage = WA academy

Theme = scrappy underdogs
Advantage = expanded rookie list to 15 players

Theme = Tassie
Advantage = Tassie academy

Theme = glitz and glamour
Advantage = extra marketing allowance in the salary cap (double the rest of the league)

etc. It would take some tweaking to make it fair, but even really small differences could lead to teams having to have drastically different approaches in building their teams, thus helping creating stronger identities for their clubs.

Not sure if post was meant to be funny, but it had me stitches.

Deserved more likes tbh.

Agree regarding branding. It's incredibly stupid of the AFL to allow that.

Nothing wrong with Footscray, like there's nothing wrong with other teams retaining suburban names like Essendon, Hawthorn, etc

GWS is the worst name in all of sports, around the world. The most homogenized nothing name. Even "West Sydney" is as useless a name.

Despite any sporting league around the world being a pond, where its own city or suburban names don't mean anything to anyone outside that country, it's still done and should be followed, as they're very unique names.

North Melbourne is also up for a change.

West Coast does have relevance, clearly means Western Australia, but now that we have Fremantle, and perhaps soon a third WA team, the West Coast name should be changed as it's redundant. At the time, pride of all WA, in a Victorian league. The town name of Fremantle is superb, no need to have been called Greater Southern West Coast Dockers, or South West Coast Dockers, for instance.

San Francisco and Oakland, for instance, two neighboring cities....synonymous names now despite being city names. Far better than West Bay and East Bay as names just to try to 'capture' a region of people.

Essendon, Hawthorn, etc are all fine names. Iconic, unique, as Nth American city names for sporting clubs.

West Coast to Perth Eagles
North Melbourne Kangaroos to something like Kensington Kangaroos (for instance), which is where they're located more specifically.
GWS Giants to something like Nepean Giants (again, more specific) or perhaps Cumberland Giants, or Macarthur Giants
Western Bulldogs to Footscray Bulldogs

Similarly, in the NRL, the Sydney Roosters really should change their name to Bondi Roosters....far more specific/relevant, and iconic name now known around the world.

nothing you've said makes any sense.
you want regional names NOBODY refers to? Macarthur giants? Macarthur is a tiny suburb in the ACT. The macathur region is an antiquated term for South West Sydney. nobody use's it and it as almost no marketable value. same as the Nepean Giants,
WTF does that mean even mean? where the **** is Nepean? you mean Nepean districts? or the Nepean river?
Cumberland Giants? you mean the county which 99% of people don't know exists? or the cumberland Plain that 90% of people don't know exists?
most people would think you're talking about the highway.

everyone of your "exact" terms are not only less exact but almost completely unknown. GWS as it is has an issue as nobody identifies with coming from Greater Western Sydney. Western Sydney, South West Sydney and so on and so forth absolutely, but not GWS.
Cumberland giants :rolleyes:, sure while you're at Melbourne can change their name to the Burke demons.

oh BTW bondi's on the other side of the harbour.

Could some teams do with a bit of re-branding?