Daniel Rich

• Thread starter Thread starter r dub 19

Think you guys missed the boat on this one.

Rich is one of the few young talents in the Lions list. They loaded up for a tilt at the flag last year... couldnt see them trading out thier one and only young mid with Black and Power set to retire soon.

Vossys a trade whore, but he's not that stupid.

Free agency will be out of the question as well. He will be a protected player by the time his 6 years is up you would reckon.

I feel i should step in and say something.

Voss won't trade Rich. Especially for Kerr. Why would we give up Rich for a player, who on recent form in the last two seasons (i am aware Kerr has been injured and probably playing with resulting niggle but who is to say they will go away) is no better than Rich. Who has maybe 3-4 years left at the top if that. Who's kicking is far worse than Rich.

Its just stupid to consider it.

If West Coast made an actual offer that would be MUTUALLY BENEFICIAL to both clubs then it may be considered. We are not going to make a charity trade that screws us over in the long run. It is pure stupidity to think we would throw away they key to our midfield post Black and Power for anything less than a top 5 pick + a player or its equivalent. I'm sorry but that is just the facts.

And i know there are some who are sitting there going "but he is a West Coast supporter" and "his family is here" etc etc. True, but you have obviously not seen or given any thought to how he has fitted in at Brisbane. Simon Black has taken him under his wing, they go surfing together every week. Do you think Rich, at this stage of his career, would give up the experience he would gain from players like Black and Brown and Power to learn the craft from someone like embley... Another key factor is that Voss was his idol when he was growing up. I think the chance to play under your childhood hero would definately come close to playing for the team you supported.

Give it five years and I would say you are a chance depending on how Brisbane have gone and where they are at. By that stage he will be about 25 and will most likely still be playing very good footy. Brisbane will still ask a lot for him but will be more willing to part with him as we will most likely be on a bit of a downslide by then.

i would be making a very serious play for banfield for the half forward line or the pocket. On top of everything he's a WCE supporter, a WA boy and a ranga that isnt a waste of space.

GOLD

Also would really love garlett from carlton for the pocket and krakeour from port for the backline.

For me perfection in our forward line would be.

FF Garlett Notte/Brown Mckinley
HF LeCras Kennedy Banfield

That forward would just ooze class going into the future and i also think all things considered with Kennedy being a more traditionally styled CHF that Notte will make a much better partner for him than Brown.

Backline of

FB Butler Emac Waters
Krakeour Schofield Hurn

The other great thing is that if both notte and brown come on then brown can be used as a utility with the ability to go down back or forward. Gives flexibility with talls especially when i'd say Schofield will be great on the faster more mobile large forwards and Brown could go back against teams that have 2 old style behemoths.

As a team i also think we really need to stop playing a third bigman down back all the time to cover against medium forwards or against resting ruckmen. We really need to back our players/structures rather than putting in extra stopgaps that rape and pillage our run.

It's just about the volume of young midfielders we have, Rich is a different fish with that very boot. to see him Playing under Naitanui alongside Masten, Swift, Shuey and Stevens. :thumbsu:

If we got pick 19 we could then go after a different type of player perhaps another KPP or a quality small.

To be honest EH those names are just that at the moment, none have shown anything to support a favourable core group. I keep hearing people throw up those names and I think its way too premature to be claiming they are going to be any good for us.

If we were to make a play for Rich we'd need to put up Ebert or another young gun as a trade option.

I mention Ebert because Voss was at the AIS when Ebert went through and had pretty big raps for him.

Ebert + a 2nd rounder would probably do it.

Would the club or Ebert do it is the $1,000,000 question!???

I would;):D

PS: Would love Banfield in the side, yet another ex Eagles fan who was stolen away from WA to play in the dark East.

The annoying thing about Banfield is that he's just another guy from our own backyard who's the type of player we should have been picking up in the last couple of drafts. Then again I suppose that is a bit harsh on ol' Woody, given that we took Smith with the pick that we could've gone for Banfield with.
The taking of Jordan Jones is just looking like a really frustrating pick now, given the fast midfield or crumbing options still available at that stage.

If we were to make a play for Rich we'd need to put up Ebert or another young gun as a trade option.

I mention Ebert because Voss was at the AIS when Ebert went through and had pretty big raps for him.

Ebert + a 2nd rounder would probably do it.

Would the club or Ebert do it is the $1,000,000 question!???

I would;):D

PS: Would love Banfield in the side, yet another ex Eagles fan who was stolen away from WA to play in the dark East.
Dude, everyone on here would do that deal in an instant. Voss and Brisbane sure as hell wouldnt.

The only way we're going to get Rich is by giving them an elite player from our side, or a pick as good as, if not better than what they drafted him with bundled with a decent player.

If you plan on taking key players from other sides they don't come that cheaply.

Dude, everyone on here would do that deal in an instant. Voss and Brisbane sure as hell wouldnt.
The only way we're going to get Rich is by giving them an elite player from our side, or a pick as good as, if not better than what they drafted him with bundled with a decent player.

If you plan on taking key players from other sides they don't come that cheaply.

Dude, the only way we would get Rich is if Rich wanted to come home, play for us. Once a player decides he wants out its not up to the coach or the club to refuse, its up to them to get the best deal they can.

Now I agree Kerr has too many negatives to interest anyone these days, hence I said a quality young player would be needed in any exchange and it is on the record that Voss rated Ebert very highly and said he was AFL captain material prior to being drafted at pick 13. Now Rich, pick 6, is worth more than Ebert, no question, is Rich worth 2 first round picks then? No, he's worth one and a half, which is Ebert + a 2nd rounder.

I don't believe Ebert + our 1st round pick = Rich, we would be paying too much especially for a player who has nominated us as his prefered club. Hence the 2nd round pick.

You mentioned an elite player ....... who?

Dude, the only way we would get Rich is if Rich wanted to come home, play for us. Once a player decides he wants out its not up to the coach or the club to refuse, its up to them to get the best deal they can.

Now I agree Kerr has too many negatives to interest anyone these days, hence I said a quality young player would be needed in any exchange and it is on the record that Voss rated Ebert very highly and said he was AFL captain material prior to being drafted at pick 13. Now Rich, pick 6, is worth more than Ebert, no question, is Rich worth 2 first round picks then? No, he's worth one and a half, which is Ebert + a 2nd rounder.

I don't believe Ebert + our 1st round pick = Rich, we would be paying too much especially for a player who has nominated us as his prefered club. Hence the 2nd round pick.

If Brisbane traded Rich for Ebert and anything less than a top 5 pick the club would have a mutiny on its hands. Given that is highly doubtful you lads will have a top 5 pick given you are not all that bad and the draft concessions, Ebert is not an option.

All the supporters love him, Voss loves him, all his team mates love him. The fact is to get him within the next 5 years you would have to put up an offer then looks good to Brisbane as they hold the hand. I can tell you right off the bat that although Ebert is probably your best mid this year, we don't want him.

A comparable deal would be Brisbane saying, 'OK, we'll give you Rich for LeCras and your first pick". You are not going to due it because its not a good trade for you. The fact of the matter is that Rich, and Bandfield for that matter, are too important for our clubs future over the next 5 years and beyond as experienced players. To get them you would have to incurr the hit to your list as it would to ours.

If Brisbane traded Rich for Ebert and anything less than a top 5 pick the club would have a mutiny on its hands. Given that is highly doubtful you lads will have a top 5 pick given you are not all that bad and the draft concessions, Ebert is not an option.

All the supporters love him, Voss loves him, all his team mates love him. The fact is to get him within the next 5 years you would have to put up an offer then looks good to Brisbane as they hold the hand. I can tell you right off the bat that although Ebert is probably your best mid this year, we don't want him.

A comparable deal would be Brisbane saying, 'OK, we'll give you Rich for LeCras and your first pick". You are not going to due it because its not a good trade for you. The fact of the matter is that Rich, and Bandfield for that matter, are too important for our clubs future over the next 5 years and beyond as experienced players. To get them you would have to incurr the hit to your list as it would to ours.

Ho hum, you are still missing the point ...... the main point ....... the only point.

The only way Rich would end up at the Eagles is if Rich wanted to leave Brisbane and come home.

Now just think about this for a miniute or two.

OK, so it really doesn't matter how much the fans or the coach or the coaches dog loves Rich, its up to Rich to decide he is leaving, just like it was up to Judd to decide to leave.

OK, have you got this part understood?:cool:

Now when a player wants to leave it up to the club to get as much as they can for him, if the player says 'do a deal with the Eagles or I walk into the PSD' you get a deal done. And in those circumstances the Lions can't demand a 1st rounder + Le Cras they accept the best deal they can get.

No way would the Eagles offer Le Cras .............. unless Le Cras said he wanted out, but he's contracted.;)

Remember people its not what we want on BF, its the players wishes that drive trades 99% of the time.

Ho hum, you are still missing the point ...... the main point ....... the only point.

The only way Rich would end up at the Eagles is if Rich wanted to leave Brisbane and come home.

Now just think about this for a miniute or two.

OK, so it really doesn't matter how much the fans or the coach or the coaches dog loves Rich, its up to Rich to decide he is leaving, just like it was up to Judd to decide to leave.

OK, have you got this part understood?:cool:

Now when a player wants to leave it up to the club to get as much as they can for him, if the player says 'do a deal with the Eagles or I walk into the PSD' you get a deal done. And in those circumstances the Lions can't demand a 1st rounder + Le Cras they accept the best deal they can get.

No way would the Eagles offer Le Cras .............. unless Le Cras said he wanted out, but he's contracted.;)

Remember people its not what we want on BF, its the players wishes that drive trades 99% of the time.

I therefore refer you to the points in my ealier post.

And i know there are some who are sitting there going "but he is a West Coast supporter" and "his family is here" etc etc. True, but you have obviously not seen or given any thought to how he has fitted in at Brisbane. Simon Black has taken him under his wing, they go surfing together every week. Do you think Rich, at this stage of his career, would give up the experience he would gain from players like Black and Brown and Power to learn the craft from someone like embley... Another key factor is that Voss was his idol when he was growing up. I think the chance to play under your childhood hero would definately come close to playing for the team you supported.

There is no indication that Rich wants to, or ever will want to, leave Brisbane. Therefore to get Rich you would need to make Brisbane an offer they can't refuse. Although I would like to say we still would not consider it. It's hard to forget how we shafted Braddles, a champion of our club, late last year.

I therefore refer you to the points in my ealier post.

There is no indication that Rich wants to, or ever will want to, leave Brisbane. Therefore to get Rich you would need to make Brisbane an offer they can't refuse. Although I would like to say we still would not consider it. It's hard to forget how we shafted Braddles, a champion of our club, late last year.

Fair enough but thats a seperate debate entirely.

The discussion was about trading for Rich and as I stated if a player doesn't want to go trades rarely if ever happen. I agree I'm pretty sure the Lions wouldn't even entertain trading Rich so its a moot point.

The question being debated is what would it costthe Eagles if Rich wanted to come home?

Thats the only scenario that would lead to a trade offer.

Fair enough but thats a seperate debate entirely.

The discussion was about trading for Rich and as I stated if a player doesn't want to go trades rarely if ever happen. I agree I'm pretty sure the Lions wouldn't even entertain trading Rich so its a moot point.

The question being debated is what would it costthe Eagles if Rich wanted to come home?

Thats the only scenario that would lead to a trade offer.

Fair point.

I just hope that if Rich ever does decide to head back west, he makes sure Brisbane get a fair deal. One sweetener for me would be seeing him play at Subi on a regular basis. Would just have to envisage him back in a Subiaco jumper though...

You didn't mention anything about the scenario if he wanted to come home. But regardless Ebert + 2nd rounder doesn't equal Rich.

Rich has clearly shown qualities of being a superstar. They must get the opportunity to get a superstar in return in any trade. If they screw it up well that's hard luck to them. But they wouldn't trade him for anything less than a top 10 pick. Two good things combined doesn't make something great.

For Rich we'd have to give them our first round pick for starters, and probably get an upgrade on it somehow by trading out someone else. You'd have to give either a top 5 pick or trade a player and offer our first rounder with another earlyish pick, two inside the top 20 with a top 10 pick minimum (eg. 7 and 20). We may have to trade out a player like Ebert somewhere else (Port or Adelaide) to get another pick sufficient enough for the trade.

Everyone on here will say that's overpaying the odds, but that is the price you pay for certified guns, and the reason why trading for gun players generally only occurs in premiership mode.

Compare the scenario to Naitanui, many on here wouldn't trade him for 3 first round picks, which the GC recruiter put out there. Rich won't go for the equivalent of a late first rounder and a second. No chance, regardless if he was homesick.

I know alot of people don't rate Ebert but I certainly wouldn't want to trade him. However if it secured Rich I would be for it.
I wouldn't and I wanted Rich over Naita when we drafted.
No way would Kerr ever want to go to the GC. All he needs is to be put in charge of another bunch of kids.
I think that would be Abletts Job, and with other possibilities like Dangerfield (adel) and Armitage (stk) as well as a few others we havn't even thought of yet running around he will feel right at home...
If Kerr was to be traded to Carlton.

Realistically, what would WC want by way of trade?
We wouldn't trade with Carlton, They want Gold in exchange for slop.
Look at the Judd deal, but we had the last laugh in that 1. Hoe bad would you love Kennedy in your forward line NOW ha ha ha.
You can forget about that one!
See you think Yarran a kid with no experiance is worth more then Kerr with heaps of experiance, Premiership Midfielder and on his day is 1 of the best Mids in the Comp.
A fair Trade from Carlton (which wont happen Cause carltank arn't Fair) would be Yarran and Garlett for Kerr + 2nd Round Pick.
Thats Fair.
If I was over the top like You I would say Yarran, Betts, Garlett and Your first round pick for Kerr and our 4th rounder. :rolleyes:

I'd trade Kerr for Yarran.

There is no way that Yarran and Garlett are worth Kerr + a 2nd round pick.

Kerr is all class and an elite player on his day but he has had injury/suspension issues regularly since Juddy and Cuz left.

I'd almost agree with a Yarran for Kerr straight swap, however i doubt either team would go for it.

We've missed the boat with this one the year Rich was drafted. If we were ever going to offload Kerr that was the time to do it. Unfortunately we weren't bold enough with our decisions (which was understandable at the time) and the current state of the squad is the result.

couldnt have said it better RoJo Junior:thumbsu: i was saying the same thing at the time to all my mates and they shot me down.now they all agree after the last couple of years with kerrs undisciplined play and injuries that the eagles should have made the risky decision at the time to snare nata and rich.

i reckon we're better off trying to trade kerr to gold coast for darling, swallow or matera. if the rumours are true lynch is going there, and then any other trades would be as per normal trading...

I agree GC will need good solid players, Kerr seems a perfect fit. If we could get Darling or Metera I would do it in a hart beat.