Rumour Dayne Beams - will he or won't he retire?

Was there ever any proof posted on his social media or elsewhere that Beams even had a hip operation last year that ended his season?

I remain to be convinced that wasn't a complete load of horse sh*t and used as a cover.

At this rate we'll have a COVID vaccine before we get rid of the Beams virus.

Was there ever any proof posted on his social media or elsewhere that Beams even had a hip operation last year that ended his season?

I remain to be convinced that wasn't a complete load of horse sh*t and used as a cover.

Next thing you'll be saying that Beams 19 week quad injury was a cover too...

I reckon there was at least one photo going around of him in a hospital gown at some stage.

If the guy can run art classes, sell art and appear on TV, he is doing fine! If he doesn't like the thread being open, he can do the right thing by the club and supporters and leave without bleeding the club dry. Never liked him and don't believe he is suffering from anything of any consequence.
Why can’t we force his hand.
in any other workplace, you would need to participate in company sanctioned rehab programs and be moved sideways into another role you could manage.
If he is not physically injured and can paint and build items for sale, then he’s fit enough to clean toilets and wash floors at the club.
If the training and pressure to perform at an elite level is insufferable for him, then find another way for him to earn his money. Nothing should be beneath him.
At the very least, Collingwood should be filling his week up with programs designed to help him.
We would soon find out if he’s taking the piss because he would retire himself and walk away.

in any other workplace, you would need to participate in company sanctioned rehab programs and be moved sideways into another role you could manage.
If he is not physically injured and can paint and build items for sale, then he’s fit enough to clean toilets and wash floors at the club.
If the training and pressure to perform at an elite level is insufferable for him, then find another way for him to earn his money. Nothing should be beneath him.
At the very least, Collingwood should be filling his week up with programs designed to help him.
We would soon find out if he’s taking the piss because he would retire himself and walk away.

Good point, if he wants to be paid the next 2 years he can come and scrub the toilets to earn it.

Doesn't have to touch a Footy again.

Good point, if he wants to be paid the next 2 years he can come and scrub the toilets to earn it.

Doesn't have to touch a Footy again.
In any other industry, the individual is put through intensive rehab, returns to the workplace ASAP because it assists the individual, and they are found a role they can do. I just don’t get it.
I'm hoping a deal has already been done and he will retire this year rather than go through such a process.

In any other industry, the individual is put through intensive rehab, returns to the workplace ASAP because it assists the individual, and they are found a role they can do. I just don’t get it.
I'm hoping a deal has already been done and he will retire this year rather than go through such a process.
Maybe the club want him as far away as possible?

quite well documented that the operation led to slow recovery and over reliance on prescription painkillers / drugs. Spiralled downwards from there...

Well if WorkCover doesn’t apply to footballers, maybe things such as return to work plans and modified duties don’t apply either. Hopefully someone with more knowledge of the processes than I have can clarify.

I'm pretty sure the players would have their superannuation funds, attached to those can be a TPD insurance policy. If it is proven through doctors and specialists reports that the employee isn't able to continue their normal line of work due to injury or illness incl. mental health, then they could be paid out that insurance amount, which can he an amount anywhere between $100k to $1M...

It just seems bizarre that Beams can essentially move on with his life in a different direction and his previous employer has to keep paying him.
You make a good point and it would be good to understand the process for the AFL. It should not disadvantage CFC anymore than Beams. There should be some element of fairness.

I'm pretty sure the players would have their superannuation funds, attached to those can be a TPD insurance policy. If it is proven through doctors and specialists reports that the employee isn't able to continue their normal line of work due to injury or illness incl. mental health, then they could be paid out that insurance amount, which can he an amount anywhere between $100k to $1M...
That’s an excellent point because I have been thinking how the AFL would never make an exemption for CFC to payout the Beams contract and exclude it from our cap due to mental health.
Such an exemption would allow clubs (and players) to exploit this as a loophole.

Maybe the club want him as far away as possible?
I can understand that for sure. Then fill his week up with rehab programs and community service work away from the club.
If he’s put in a situation where it’s unreasonable for him to refuse to participate in rehab or other duties, then it’s grounds for dismissal.

If Beams has any level of respect for the football club that gave him the opportunity to become a premiership playing AFL player, the football club that facilitated his move to Brisbane out of respect for Beam's father, and the football club that spent too much to get him back to his desired destination and consequently look after him through an entire season of not doing what you're paid to do, any level of respect, let alone what CFC deserve, should see him retire. No payout.

Ediit: Then there's the spot on an AFL list that some young player is desperate to get on. That extra spot is filled by Beams. Seriously, WTF?

If Beams has any level of respect for the football club that gave him the opportunity to become a premiership playing AFL player, the football club that facilitated his move to Brisbane out of respect for Beam's father, and the football club that spent too much to get him back to his desired destination and consequently look after him through an entire season of not doing what you're paid to do, any level of respect, let alone what CFC deserve, should see him retire. No payout.

Ediit: Then there's the spot on an AFL list that some young player is desperate to get on. That extra spot is filled by Beams. Seriously, WTF?

Wishful thinking mate. He is a flog.