Spagger83

Ben Reid........????

hahahahaha

what the **** were we thinking?

to all the Ben Reid that have been singing his praises for the past two years here's a question - "when do you actually think he will become an average/decent footballer, let alone a gun like you all say he will be?"

we're all waiting in anticipation for your response, Ben Reid himself probably would like to know the answer to this question.

he's a joke, we should retire the number 20 after he's delisted at the end of the year.

he can't even run without looking like a footballer!
I've read this five times, and still can't figure out what you're actually trying to say here.

Anyhow, you obviously have below average intelligence, and obviously don't understand the concept of development.

Have a good day.

take it easy. let th guy get a few games on end to show you what he is capable of.. also, he had a few friends yesterday...

im one one of the ones who think he will become something special and based on yesterdays performance we wont see it..

before you write him off let him get a few games to get used to the demands and a bit of time on one position.. im sure you wull change your tune...

Patience.

No key position player out of that draft has really dominated AFL footy.

Gumbleton, Hansen, Leuenberger, Thorp all taken before Reid and are in a very similar position.

Jack Riewoldt taken at pick 12 has actually probably been the best of the bunch but still his kicking is suspect.

Patience.

Gumbleton, Hansen, Leuenberger, Thorp all taken before Reid and are in a very similar position.

Jack Riewoldt taken at pick 12 has actually probably been the best of the bunch but still his kicking is suspect.

Suspect? It's not suspect. It's s***house. Nothing suspect about that.

Patience.

yeah on the back of thos KPP's there shouldn't have even been a draft that year.... Gibbs, J.Selwood and that's it.

surely there was another midfielder we couldve snagged ??(i dont have my afl record book with me right now)

Reid, just doesn't look like coming on, in other words he's showed nothing.

Gumby is forever injured but i've seen him at least take a pack grab and kick a goal or two, Hansen can at least make a contest, Leuenberger is a ruckman so therefore different, Thorp unfortunately is a Hawthorn tall forward and won't get in while Roughead and Franklin are fit and firing. I'm not making excuses for the other players, Reid has been given afew chances and shown nothing to suggest he'll at a minimum be a handy AFL player. Some people here talk him up to be the next BIG thing, i'd like to know what games they've been watching.

Patience.

the guy we took two picks after Reid at number 10, came in and made an impact right away in a KP didn't he??.
Nathan Brown's brother Mitchell has shown abit too, and if it wasn't for an unfortunate knee injury i'd say we should've picked up both of them ahead of Reid.

Riewoldt's kicking is shizenhousen, but he's kicked 5 in a game once hasn't he? therefore shown much much much more than Reid.

Reid will come good, he's coming back from an injury, after all it's only his third season in the game. Rusling would be in more trouble than he is at this stage.

Ben Reid........????

hahahahaha

what the **** were we thinking?

to all the Ben Reid that have been singing his praises for the past two years here's a question - "when do you actually think he will become an average/decent footballer, let alone a gun like you all say he will be?"

we're all waiting in anticipation for your response, Ben Reid himself probably would like to know the answer to this question.

he's a joke, we should retire the number 20 after he's delisted at the end of the year.

I think that believe it or not they keep playing him out of position.
Ok so he has built up, during all preseason we play him in the backline and he seemed suited down back moving through the midfield then first round we play him in the forwrd line with zero impact......Malthouse....typical.

yeah on the back of thos KPP's there shouldn't have even been a draft that year.... Gibbs, J.Selwood and that's it.

Travis Boak? He'll be a STAR.

Off the top of my head there was also: Urquhart, Petterd, Al.Davey (?), Hill (Dogs), Lindsay Thomas, Reimers, Grigg, Houli, Garland etc.

Lots of good players. :thumbsu:

But I still have nightmares over Selwood missing us by one pick. If he slipped to pick 8, we probably would've won the flag in 2007 (impossible to say obviously, but Geelong would've been worse without him, we would've been better by a long way).

The benefit of trading Tarrant is that we got two bites of the cherry at trying to find a key position player. We probably would have taken Reid with our pick 10 anyway, so in reality we've picked up Nathan Brown in the Tarrant deal. Plus Medhurst.

We also picked up Dawes with our next pick.

Thats three talls who all will take time to come on. If all three succeed, that will be sensational. Its way to early to be bagging any of them - its not as if any other key postion players in that draft have done anything yet.

I'm not making excuses for the other players, Reid has been given afew chances and shown nothing to suggest he'll at a minimum be a handy AFL player. .

Yes, you ARE making excuses for other players, while ignoring Reid's injury troubles along the way.

yeah maybe I am, but they've shown more than Reid.
Reid is soft, unskilled, crap footy brain, can't read the play....
so tell me what i've missed? what does/can he do?

The benefit of trading Tarrant is that we got two bites of the cherry at trying to find a key position player. We probably would have taken Reid with our pick 10 anyway, so in reality we've picked up Nathan Brown in the Tarrant deal. Plus Medhurst.

We also picked up Dawes with our next pick.

Thats three talls who all will take time to come on. If all three succeed, that will be sensational. Its way to early to be bagging any of them - its not as if any other key postion players in that draft have done anything yet.

to be brutally honest i couldnt care what other players have shown at their clubs, if other clubs decide to keep under performing high draft picks then good luck to them.
all i care about really is what we do with our players and i hope he's gone at the first opportunity.

he's a dud, lets face it.

put some youtube footage on here of some of his highlights, i'm happy to view some of his magic moments so far for abit of comic relief. i feel like a laugh on a monday after a collingwood loss.

maybe we can see that footwork while lining up for goal against carlton last year? or in this years NAB cup when he overan the footy while simultaneously crapping himself on the dome surface.

ben reid @ pick 8 - FAIL!

Patience, my girl.

Or start a thread about every other second and third year player on the list.

Why dont you get stuck in to Jaxon Barham, or Brad Dick, or Chris Dawes?

Patience, my girl.

Or start a thread about every other second and third year player on the list.

Why dont you get stuck in to Jaxon Barham, or Brad Dick, or Chris Dawes?

Nice Try sunshine, remember we're talking about Reid not other players.

its really sad that all the Reid lovers can't actually give examples of why he's gonna be so great....he must have heaps going for him. maybe you just like the look of him in his shorts mate.

Barham 0 senior games, didn't play on weekend. He did actually show some grunt in his NAB Cup debut, he'd know his kicking isn't the best, he wasn't pick 8 though was he??, Brad Dick 6 or so games, showed he has some nice touch and is clever around goals before hurting his knee, also wasn't exactly pick number 8. and Dawes came in late last year and although is a little lazy or robotic looking he looks promising as a player that can replace Rocca. Dawes has flaws too, but that's why he's not getting a game.

Based on all this they have SHOWN something that at least gives us an idea that they CAN make it if they keep improving. Reid on the other hand has shown NOTHING! at all NADA, ZILCH, ZERO!

Your expectations of where he was drafted obivously exceed your understanding of the game. For the record his shown his not soft he is mobile quick and has far better hands then Dawes whilst being half his size physically. His shown his a decent field kick, leads to the right areas and has sticky hands overhead when hitting the ball on the lead. He pantsed Waite who is one of the most athletic defenders in the game and was one of our best in that game against Carlton which is a fact that is often overlooked because of the horrible set shot on goal.

He has also showed that as a defender he has good closing speed and a good ability to spoil.

IMO that is plenty to work with. If you want to make a case to rubbish young kpp you could do that with any of them. To say he has shown nothing is to show absolute bias or no football knowledge. To try and back this up by saying he can't mark, is soft and has no football brain is plain and simply rubbish.

Boys his played like 5 senior games, so he'll take a year, this is his year to prove somthing, if he cant do anything chuck him, but it also could be the making of him. remember his still young.

Your expectations of where he was drafted obivously exceed your understanding of the game. For the record his shown his not soft he is mobile quick and has far better hands then Dawes whilst being half his size physically. His shown his a decent field kick, leads to the right areas and has sticky hands overhead when hitting the ball on the lead. He pantsed Waite who is one of the most athletic defenders in the game and was one of our best in that game against Carlton which is a fact that is often overlooked because of the horrible set shot on goal.

He has also showed that as a defender he has good closing speed and a good ability to spoil.

IMO that is plenty to work with. If you want to make a case to rubbish young kpp you could do that with any of them. To say he has shown nothing is to show absolute bias or no football knowledge. To try and back this up by saying he can't mark, is soft and has no football brain is plain and simply rubbish.

once again shawthing has come to Reid's rescue.
ok shawthing, so you think you have seen enough to say that he's definitely going to be a good player. By the sounds of your argument, you actually sound like you think he's already made it.
Geez, you're very easily impressed.

do you honestly think he's in our best 22?
are you saying that what we see now is what we'll see for as loong as we have him on our list? tell us where you think he can improve.

once again shawthing has come to Reid's rescue.
ok shawthing, so you think you have seen enough to say that he's definitely going to be a good player. By the sounds of your argument, you actually sound like you think he's already made it.
Geez, you're very easily impressed.

do you honestly think he's in our best 22?
are you saying that what we see now is what we'll see for as loong as we have him on our list? tell us where you think he can improve.

well for starters we have to understand that hes only 19...and was drafted as bottom aged as you possibly can be...
can you name any 19 year old tall that has dominated afl in his first 3 seasons ?

i think he needs to improve his positioning and his willingness to attack the ball. A bit more size on him wouldnt hurt either, and he needs a permanent spot in the backline.

no need to write ben reid off as a prospect just yet mate

I was very very disappointed with him on saturday, and probably called him a number of mean names saturday night as i drank with mates

But its way WAY too early to write off a 19yo kid

well for starters we have to understand that hes only 19...and was drafted as bottom aged as you possibly can be...
can you name any 19 year old tall that has dominated afl in his first 3 seasons ?

i think he needs to improve his positioning and his willingness to attack the ball. A bit more size on him wouldnt hurt either, and he needs a permanent spot in the backline.

no need to write ben reid off as a prospect just yet mate

not wondering why he's not totally dominating, wondering why he hasn't shown an ounce of potential yet?
Key position or not, you can really judge if a player is going to make it or not, and he will not make it. mark my words, he will not!

he's a dud!

Geez, give him a break he's only 19 and has played only 6 games!
He's still only a skinny bloke, so give him a couple of years to develop and he will prove you wrong!

Look at Dane Swan, he debuted in 2003 but he didn't start to really dominate games until 2006 and now he has a Copeland Trophy.

So ease up on Reidy mate, all in good time.

I was very very disappointed with him on saturday, and probably called him a number of mean names saturday night as i drank with mates

But its way WAY too early to write off a 19yo kid

totally agree on all counts

he will improve and i've got faith in that. Also, he wouldnt be in the side if the coaches didnt see anything in him