EDFL moves

bricksta said:
Correct Tony, and wanted to learn of some great footballers in Pappa and martin

Pappa and Martin, handy pick-ups for the Eagles. I heard they were very settled over at Eltham in the DVFL! I must be wrong :confused:

Greenvale just win this week. I don't know if Budge played last week - i couldn't see him out there in the 2 qtr's i watched last week.
I just think they will be to strong - they have all bases covered in my opinion.
Will Strathmore be pushed down back - although Robson & Thomas are absolute stars i don't know if they'll have enough additional stopping power. The likes of the second stringers ie. Mazzeo & Co may be stretched.
Tony apparently Harvey kicked a heap of points on the weekend on top of the 8 majors he posted - can you shed some light. I still think Budge will beat him if he plays accountable footy and doesn't suck forward to much.
Greenvales middle will win the game as long as they are just competitive against Quinn.
Thoughts????

TonyCampbell06 said:
I'm tipping a VERY even contest sloth. A few match-ups: Little v Paxman, Budge v Harvey, Thomas v Bakoulas (Thomas has been in exceptional form, yet to be beaten this year and a certain starter as Full Back if a Team of the Year was to be named right now). If ever the Mores needed their gun recruits to step up and assert themselves on the competition, it is this week. It will be interesting to see what sort of a reception John Tate gets from the crowd at Section rd. Tatey has been in red hot form, racking up the touches and snaring a few goals in the last couple of weeks. I'm keen to see who gets the job on the little man. I believe the likes of Quinn, May, J.Barnard and Williams may be too classy for the Jets. I'm tipping Strathmore by 13 points, adding further pain to the Jets supporters after their heart-breaking, extra-time loss in the Grand Final from 2005. EDFL supporters, get along to Section rd, for what is sure to be the A-Grade match of the season so far! :thumbsu:

I actually think that the mores will suffer another defeat here Tony, I believe that Greenvale are the team to beat this year, they will win by 4 goals, sending out a message to the rest of the comp this weekend.

I dont believe that strathmore can match them in hardness at the footy.

All i can say is that i hope they bash the crap out of eachother this weekend and i hope its a great even contest that the Maggots in orange dont spoil:eek: :thumbsu: :)

TonyCampbell06 said:
I'm tipping a VERY even contest sloth. A few match-ups: Little v Paxman, Budge v Harvey, Thomas v Bakoulas (Thomas has been in exceptional form, yet to be beaten this year and a certain starter as Full Back if a Team of the Year was to be named right now). If ever the Mores needed their gun recruits to step up and assert themselves on the competition, it is this week. It will be interesting to see what sort of a reception John Tate gets from the crowd at Section rd. Tatey has been in red hot form, racking up the touches and snaring a few goals in the last couple of weeks. I'm keen to see who gets the job on the little man. I believe the likes of Quinn, May, J.Barnard and Williams may be too classy for the Jets. I'm tipping Strathmore by 13 points, adding further pain to the Jets supporters after their heart-breaking, extra-time loss in the Grand Final from 2005. EDFL supporters, get along to Section rd, for what is sure to be the A-Grade match of the season so far! :thumbsu:

Agreed tonycampbell06, its going to be a super match at section road. Tatey is in terrific form from all reports, and i'm sure he'll be fired up this weekend. Hopefully Aussie Dude gets a game in the Jets ones this week.

TonyCampbell06 said:
Pappa and Martin, handy pick-ups for the Eagles. I heard they were very settled over at Eltham in the DVFL! I must be wrong :confused:

2 very very good blokes and footballers, pappa home to finish his footy and martin closer to home from what i have been told, not a money issue:thumbsu:

sloth6 said:
JAMA, I'm assuming you play for Marby. What was Dave Calendars roll on the weekend?

Sloth,

Spoke to the great man at Marby,

Apparently dave was given a one week project, took training through the week, and had an assitants role for Saturday. All designed to sharpen them up for the APW game,

Must have worked, apparently APW ordinary:thumbsdown:

Macca29 said:
Greenvale just win this week. I don't know if Budge played last week - i couldn't see him out there in the 2 qtr's i watched last week.
I just think they will be to strong - they have all bases covered in my opinion.
Will Strathmore be pushed down back - although Robson & Thomas are absolute stars i don't know if they'll have enough additional stopping power. The likes of the second stringers ie. Mazzeo & Co may be stretched.
Tony apparently Harvey kicked a heap of points on the weekend on top of the 8 majors he posted - can you shed some light. I still think Budge will beat him if he plays accountable footy and doesn't suck forward to much.
Greenvales middle will win the game as long as they are just competitive against Quinn.
Thoughts????

Harvey kicked 8.4 on the weekend. I think Strathmore's defenders are more than up to the task. They could always chuck one of the Barnards down back :confused: Robson has performed well. Held Tankard in the second half a couple of weeks ago, while Aaron 'Iron Fist' Thomas has been too good down back, spoiling ANYTHING that comes his way. May have his work cut out on Bakoulas though. Interesting to see if anything is said to Bicer, Bakoulas etc, after their contemplated departures. I hear Bakoulas didn't like getting teased at Heidelberg :p

JAMA said:
Sloth,

Spoke to the great man at Marby,

Apparently dave was given a one week project, took training through the week, and had an assitants role for Saturday. All designed to sharpen them up for the APW game,

Must have worked, apparently APW ordinary:thumbsdown:

Correct, weekly assignment and was paid to perform his duties!
Maybe Marby can sign him on.....then at least he wont be hanging around west coburg every other week! :eek:

TonyCampbell06 said:
Harvey kicked 8.4 on the weekend. I think Strathmore's defenders are more than up to the task. They could always chuck one of the Barnards down back :confused: Robson has performed well. Held Tankard in the second half a couple of weeks ago, while Aaron 'Iron Fist' Thomas has been too good down back, spoiling ANYTHING that comes his way. May have his work cut out on Bakoulas though. Interesting to see if anything is said to Bicer, Bakoulas etc, after their contemplated departures. I hear Bakoulas didn't like getting teased at Heidelberg :p

Let's face it though Tony - Big Georgie has always been a sook when it gets a little tough. He should break more packs open with his frame, anytime anyone gets into him he either sooks up and gets sucked in or goes missing - generally does both.

bricksta said:
I actually think that the mores will suffer another defeat here Tony, I believe that Greenvale are the team to beat this year, they will win by 4 goals, sending out a message to the rest of the comp this weekend.

All i can say is that i hope they bash the crap out of eachother this weekend and i hope its a great even contest that the Maggots in orange dont spoil:eek: :thumbsu: :)

Surprised me you tipped against the Mores bricksta seeing you've spent the last few months talking about them. But we'll wait and see.
Anymore retirements/departures down at Buclkleys this week?

TonyCampbell06 said:

Would be great to see Aussie Dude get a game this week, maybe Tate and himself can sort there differences out there......:eek: :thumbsu: :)
On the subject of teasing l'm sure Tate will be getting an ear full! :cool:

Macca29 said:
Let's face it though Tony - Big Georgie has always been a sook when it gets a little tough. He should break more packs open with his frame, anytime anyone gets into him he either sooks up and gets sucked in or goes missing - generally does both.

Macca29, l'm pretty sure you would have him(nuts) in your 21 each week! :eek:

aberdaberdo said:
Surprised me you tipped against the Mores bricksta seeing you've spent the last few months talking about them. But we'll wait and see.
Anymore retirements/departures down at Buclkleys this week?

didnt take you long did it to jump in mate
how about you and tony meet up blow eachother and get it over with this week mate

no sorry to disappoint but no just the one bloke thanks for worrying about us mate.:thumbsu: :)

bricksta said:

It may be an advantage for the Mores not playing at the lebo sand pit reserve! :eek:
Nah......greenvale for me by a couple. :thumbsu:

bricksta said:
how about you and tony meet up blow eachother and get it over with this week mate

no sorry to disappoint but no just the one bloke thanks for worrying about us mate.:thumbsu: :)

Very touchy about the "retirement" bricksta. How much was the pay cut he was asked to take?

sloth6 said:
Brilliant Richie

Correction...Dave will be at West Coburg this week for the ten year reunion of the 1996 flag that he coached! :eek:

Special quest Mark (Choco) Mickelthwaite will be there for round two against D.Callander..........:eek:

Just when you think he(dave) is gone he comes back..............:p

bricksta said:

Blow jobs......where's mine.....:eek:

I just can't wait until Strathmore play Douttas again! :thumbsu: :p :)

EDFL MAN said:
Aberdaberdo he(Hehir) may be getting on champ, but l'm sure he would have your measure! :eek:

He was tagged by S.Hoysted from the outset and still play a fair game in my opinion. :thumbsu:
well there's two of the biggest egotistical blokes going around !!! Hoysted went back to Doutta's a number of years ago after having a stint at Coburg and also Sunbury and wanted the world and delivered absolutely nothing, then packed his bags and headed to Keilor, not sure how long he lasted there.
I know Hehir has a cupboard full of various club jumpers, to name a few Geelong, Sunbury, Melton, Mansfield, and another Moama where he also only lasted half a season (what was the reason ??). Here is a bloke that apparently addressed his teamates at training and adamantly said his body was knacked and that he was retiring, but then 10 metres away from the main playing group he then goes on to tell a committee person he has decided to leave and play with West Coburg. Doutta's were pre-warned about this bloke, yeh, they got burnt, but they will move on as I guess Brendan will at the end of the year. Never hangs around to long ??? I wonder why

jets06 said:
well there's two of the biggest egotistical blokes going around !!! Hoysted went back to Doutta's a number of years ago after having a stint at Coburg and also Sunbury and wanted the world and delivered absolutely nothing, then packed his bags and headed to Keilor, not sure how long he lasted there.
I know Hehir has a cupboard full of various club jumpers, to name a few Geelong, Sunbury, Melton, Mansfield, and another Moama where he also only lasted half a season (what was the reason ??). Here is a bloke that apparently addressed his teamates at training and adamantly said his body was knacked and that he was retiring, but then 10 metres away from the main playing group he then goes on to tell a committee person he has decided to leave and play with West Coburg. Doutta's were pre-warned about this bloke, yeh, they got burnt, but they will move on as I guess Brendan will at the end of the year. Never hangs around to long ??? I wonder why

More clubs than Greg Norman?
I'm sure West Coburg are happy to have him playing there in '06. :thumbsu:
No money at West Coburg......clearly didn't come for money, l think he was told by the coaching staff to address the playing group and give that reason for his departure.....strange yes indeed. :confused:

EDFL MAN said:
Would be great to see Aussie Dude get a game this week, maybe Tate and himself can sort there differences out there......:eek: :thumbsu: :)
On the subject of teasing l'm sure Tate will be getting an ear full! :cool:

without doubt the match of the year, is gv v sm this week. looking forward to it. get there early for a car park.
talking about tate, the man thrives on the crowd getting into him.
should be interseting how gv's forwards go against sm's backs. that is where the game will be won or lost.

EDFL MAN said:
Macca29, l'm pretty sure you would have him(nuts) in your 21 each week! :eek:

Doubtful mate. A forward line packed with Tankard, Harvey, Winter, Minton-Connell, Gumm etc wouldn't fit him in. Don't get me wrong even though he's a little soft and sooks up easy i still think the boy can play a bit.

Played against my old mob in tulla on satdee and was quite impressed with the way they moved the ball and there run their fitness is very good think they will b quite competitive with the top sides towards the end of the year and should make finals in my opinion, the only thing that may b against them is their hardness towards the ball and when they're under pressure can turn the ball up at times but as i said i think they will finish just behind the big 3 and will b more than competitive just a matter whether they can sustain it 4 the full 4 quarters

TonyCampbell06 said:

Just a few points to note.

i dont think that gv and john tait will be resuming hostilities just yet. And as for Aussie_dude, i dont know where all the info is coming from, it would truely be a selection coup if i was picked in the firsts. The days of playing senior footy are well past me.

im not really sure that the strathmore football club could really comment on players coming and going. George has played at gv from about 5-6 years now, and i would really doubt that any strathmore player will last that long. Especially when you hear them out spruking that, "i just going down there to win a flag and get paid a sh it load of cash".

I think the game will be really even. Im tipping gv by a point. The two back lines are really even and have clearly had the least scored against them all year. The foward lines are also even, but i would amost give strathmores the nod. Gv midfield is better than strathmores, however i doubt that we have seen the best of quinn yet. If he dominates Smith/Garbutt he could really restrict the gv midfield. However if he doesnt do so, the strathmore foward line could be starved of football.

Hopefully we see a spitefull and even game. Probably the best two sides to play in the edfl for a number of years. Over $300,000 of footballers running around at Greenvale oval this saturday.