Essendon in disarray

• Thread starter Thread starter Ant85

Caro is the journalistic equivalent of an internet forum troll.

I'm sure she's just biding her time before launching some unhinged tirade against the Pies.

While I am no fan of Essendon and they did cheat the salary cap in a premiership year (1993), they did redeem themselves somewhat to owning up at the time. They also had a big chance to tank a few years ago, but Knights, in his 1st year, had his team win games in about round 15 and after when they would have been best served to tank and pick up a priority pick.

I have respect for them for that.

Yes, outside of a few promising key talls, their list does look decidely poo.

I'm starting to think this "Leading teams" outfit just likes to stir up trouble. Every time one of these meetings where players are attacking each other and their coach come to light, LT seem to be right in amongst it goading it all on.:p

While I am no fan of Essendon and they did cheat the salary cap in a premiership year (1993), they did redeem themselves somewhat to owning up at the time. They also had a big chance to tank a few years ago, but Knights, in his 1st year, had his team win games in about round 15 and after when they would have been best served to tank and pick up a priority pick.

I have respect for them for that.

Yes, outside of a few promising key talls, their list does look decidely poo.

They cheated in 93. They used thug tactics in 1990 and 2000 grand finals. They cheated to get Mal Michael. They tanked in 06 in the super draft, just didn't recruit well. They have been down for a number of years now, and have stuffed alot of their first round picks.

Also, they have had a close relationship with Channel Seven and other media outlets, Collingwood haters Sheehan and Wilson like them, just look at Sheehan's piss weak article on Monday reviewing the Essendon game. They have other w***ers in the media.

We had to put up with them not only being successful under Sheedy during the nineties, but they were sponsored by seven, inflating their success and their talent.

The last two paragraphs are why Essendon's talent is always inflated by the media, their supporters and alot of opposition supporters. Alot of people just expect Essendon will be good again for these reasons along with idiots that went for 'da bombers' cause they were da best, on the back of being sponsored by the AFL broacaster.

Any suffering this club has is awesome. I don't respect them at all. We will will probably win flags as they conitinue to languish, and spiral crating a new history for their football club in the 21st century.

The next best thing is if Hird takes the reigns and fails too. That would be gold!

I have a lot of respect for the Dons (unlike the Scum and the Saints) despite our rivalry, sad to see them the way they are now.

I think they need a change of coach, it seems the players have lost faith in Knights.

I have a lot of respect for the Dons (unlike the Scum and the Saints) despite our rivalry, sad to see them the way they are now.

I think they need a change of coach, it seems the players have lost faith in Knights.

i don't. they revelled in the rabble that collingwood had become in the late 90's

now it's their turn. they have the most ordinary list in the comp with not 1 genuine A grade midfielder currently or on the horizon. and we all know it is quality of midfield depth that is the key these days. the flimsy knights game plan and lack of talent was masked by some very fortunate results in 2009. the true indication of the gap between them and the top sides was on display for all to see in the elimination final. how i laughed pre season when i heard their chairman in an interview saying they expected top 8 and to push for top 4 this year - maybe in his dreams

they in all sorts, on and off the field. we all know that the wheel turns in football. so let's enjoy this ess misery while we can

I think Essendon made a poor choice with Knights

IIRC the top candidate was Hardwick however the board decided to go with Knights as he had a far more optimistic outlook on the short term future of the club. I think Hardwick presented his plan to rebuild in 3-5 years where Knights had a vision which would have the club playing finals in 2-3 years.

That decision is ancient history anyway. Now they just have to figure out how the can fix the situation but a lot of the frustration is centred around Knights so to move on as a club they have to sack the coach and start again.

Essendon are the same as Carlton. Both convicted serial salary cap cheats. Essendon only weren't done as much as Carlton b/c of Ron Evans.

Anyone who feels sorry for them isn't a bonafide Collingwood supporter.

I don't like seeing Essendon fall apart. They're a noble enemy and there is almost nothing sweeter than beating them when they're up and running.

Carlton on the other hand ...

A lot of clubs cheated the salary cap actually, not just Carlton (and Essendon).

I hate every club (and some moreso than others), but I don't really care about what happens off the field to other clubs, I only care about Collingwood. I guess internal conflict and the prospect of a few sore years isn't a bad thing, but I would question anyone that went further and would want a club to completely fail.

Sounds from some remarks like people actually wish Carlton folded under previous management, I've never understood that. These teams are fundamental to why AFL is so good and why going to the footy on ANZAC day or against Carlton etc is so enjoyable.

I hate Carlton and love giving it to their supporters, but, for instance, the AFL would be far worse off if they ever were removed from the competition.

Caro is the journalistic equivalent of an internet forum troll.

I'm sure she's just biding her time before launching some unhinged tirade against the Pies.

Horse face would have the story written and is waiting only for a suitable shot of Buckley grimacing. I hear he stubbed his toe a few months back, letting out a small wince, but the Age photographer hiding in his garbage bin at the dumb cows orders was not quick enough to get the shot.

If I could go back in time and change the future of Australian sports journalism I'd show her father a picture of her and any article from the last 8 years.

Condom time I reckon...in a heartbeat.

Its our time to give it to them, their fans always love to stick it up us calling us pretenders and all that crap. Its our time to stick it right up em and make life hard for them they will not make the 8 in the next 10 years.

A lot of clubs cheated the salary cap actually, not just Carlton (and Essendon).

I hate every club (and some moreso than others), but I don't really care about what happens off the field to other clubs, I only care about Collingwood. I guess internal conflict and the prospect of a few sore years isn't a bad thing, but I would question anyone that went further and would want a club to completely fail.

Sounds from some remarks like people actually wish Carlton folded under previous management, I've never understood that. These teams are fundamental to why AFL is so good and why going to the footy on ANZAC day or against Carlton etc is so enjoyable.

I hate Carlton and love giving it to their supporters, but, for instance, the AFL would be far worse off if they ever were removed from the competition.

I can't disagree more. If Carlton were removed from the comp, we would throw a huge party and take so much joy out of their supporters misery. Seriously, if I were given the choice between a first division win in tatts, or to have Carlton banned, It would be a hard choice to make.

Having them relegated to the VFL would be better as we still get to see them lose.:D

Well it's all coming out today. Tim Watson on the attack ... http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/sheedy-backers-wrecking-bombers-watson-20100714-10ah9.html

The Collingwood supporters sympathising with Essendon either have too short a memory, or simply too young, to remember the crap we copped from them when we were at our worst (late 90s) and them arguably at their best.

No one is praying Essendon fold (bit extreme reaction to the OP), I'm just enjoying seeing them go at each others' throats. Wouldn't any real Collingwood supporter?

They are a rable at the moment and I for one couldn't be any happier!

F**K EM!

Can anyone post their email that went out to Essendon members this afternoon?

Well it's all coming out today. Tim Watson on the attack ... http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/sheedy-backers-wrecking-bombers-watson-20100714-10ah9.html

The Collingwood supporters sympathising with Essendon either have too short a memory, or simply too young, to remember the crap we copped from them when we were at our worst (late 90s) and them arguably at their best.

No one is praying Essendon fold (bit extreme reaction to the OP), I'm just enjoying seeing them go at each others' throats. Wouldn't any real Collingwood supporter?

Hello brother,

You know, you're coming along nicely as an expert shit stirrer. Well done.

The thing I always hated about Essendon was their insistence that they were the biggest AFL club in Australia. I mean, give me a freakin' break. They had a good run for a decade or so, but seriously, go back and compare crowd attendances when both teams had lean years, we are, by far the better supported, better backed and better loved club in the NATION. I for one am revelling in their demise.

But at the same time, I relish defeating a hated team, so the last thing I would want is for Essendon to do a Carlton or Richmond and fall so far that I go from taunting them to almost pitying them. I don't ever want to have pity for their plight.

So, to the Essendon Football Club, if you could please strike a balance between arrogant potential, and rabble football, that would be sweet. I reckon in 2010 you've got it just about right, just keep this up for the next 5-10 years. Cheers.

they seriously ****ed up with Myers in the 07 draft.Their midfield terrible

And to think people wanted welsh at Collingwood.

The way I read the Welsh one last year was that Essendon were making serious noises about taking Ball, and Collingwood used potentially signing Welsh as a defensive strategy against that, i.e. "if you take Ball, we'll offer Welsh a contract he won't be able to refuse, if you don't take Ball, we're not interested in Welsh". I remember thinking at the time it was a good strategy. I don't think we ever seriously wanted him.

This could not happen too a better club in my opinion. There list is alot like the Collingwood list in the late 90's just plain shit! I remember going to the footy in Round 20 1998 and Collingwood were 15th and Essendon were in the finals again and sitting in between 40,000 Essendon supporter's all saying what a pathetic club Collingwood are and how great it is to barrack for such a successful side in Essendon made me hate Essendon so much!

but now 12 year's on Collingwood will be playing in there 5th consecutive finals series and Essnedon on the bottom makes me feel so Happy!

Also My brother's best mate who is a Essendon supporter always used to boast about that Essendon have more supporter's then Collingwood has now finally concieded that Collingwood actually do draw bigger crowds then the dons but in reality when both are winning and when both are on the bottom Collingwood have always drawn more people through the turnstiles!

I wasn't implying that anyone was hoping they would fold (if you meant my post). It's just in the past I've heard people talk about how they hope/wish(ed) that so and so would fold/be gone (e.g. Mergers between clubs like Hawthorn/Melbourne, Carlton almost going under when they were virtually bankrupt, something that almost happened pre-Eddie). And that if anyone did think that or were going to, it's a ridiculous thing to think, imo.

Can't believe people would choose to have teams that are so integral to the AFL and the rivalry which makes the games what they are removed.. oh well.