Prediction Expectations for 2017

• Thread starter Thread starter Seedsfan

There seems to be a common misconception on the main board that you need to have elite key forwards and freakish smalls to be a good team and win games. We don;t have any straight up stars, but our 2010 premiership team didn't have any up forward either. In 26 games, our leading goal kicker for the year was Didak (a midfielder) with 41, followed by Cloke (a joke at the time, ala Mayne) with 38, Dawes with 30 followed by a load of midfielders in the 20's.

Front six for 2016:
HF: Chris Mayne, Darcy Moore, Steele Sidebottom
F: Alex Fasolo, Jesse White, Jamie Elliott
Plus depth of: Hoskin-Elliott, Broomhead, Crocker and Cox.

If that front six could average among them 30 goals in 2016 with some snaggers included from the depth mentioned; we have a really solid forward line who specialise in pressure acts (Mayne and Elliott specifically). Factor in more goals from Pendles, Treloar, Varcoe, Crisp, Greenwood and other occasional goal kickers; and we're on.

Here's what I'd realistically like to see from our forwards in 2017:
Darcy Moore - 40 goals, and a heap of contested marks. A few hauls of 4+ against highly rated teams also.
Chris Mayne - he wasn't brought in to slot goals only, but a 25 goal season and a high tackle count would be a good year.
Jamie Elliott - to pick up where he left off. 35 goals or more would be good to see again, as well as some big marks and tackles.
Alex Fasolo - in a 22 game season, he would have kicked 40 this year; I want more of the same. 35 goals or more please.
Jesse White & Mason Cox - these two will be battling for spots in the 22. They kicked 40 goals together in 2016, would like more of the same or more.
Steele Sidebottom - hoping he gets more forward time in 2017 where he belongs. He's the most clutch in front of goal of all our midfielders. 25+ snags please.
Hoskin-Elliott - I reckon he'll remain a forward due to the Wells pick-up, so I'd like to see a few games of 3 or more goals in 2017, for a total of about 30.
Broomhead & Crocker - I don't know how many games they'll play, but at least a goal a game average from the two would be ideal.

My view is that for us to make finals, Grundy, Reid and Moore simply must play the majority of the season. We are thin for quality in back up for these three. Our best 22 to 26 is actually pretty good IMHO and despite the trade period doom and gloom pretty balanced. A back six of Reid, Goldsack (or Dunn), Howe, Maynard, Wells, Ramsay (or Smith) I think can absolutely stand up (and Frost, Brown and even Marsh probably wouldn't get a game)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Be surprised if we make the finals, but if we don't, goodbye Buckley but happy for Ed to stay.

Would never wish Collingwood to lose but if they don't have a winning building year i want Buckley gone.

Premiership.
If we ain't aiming for a Premiership then why are we even in the competition?
My expectation every year is for the ultimate.
And if/when we start to falter I will call it as I see it.
People hate that, but the truth must out.
Anyway, looking forward to seeing the boys lift the cup in September.

Premiership.
If we ain't aiming for a Premiership then why are we even in the competition?
My expectation every year is for the ultimate.
And if/when we start to falter I will call it as I see it.
People hate that, but the truth must out.
Anyway, looking forward to seeing the boys lift the cup in September.
Agreed. My ladder prediction had us finishing 1st for 2016 and I don’t see any reason to change that for this year. Bar injuries of course.

This is my best side.

Maynard (186cms 86kgs) Dunn (192cms 95kgs) Howe (190cms 86kgs)
Sinclair (180cms 83kgs) Reid (195cms 96kgs) Scharenberg (191cms 86kgs)
Wells (181cms 82kgs) Pendlebury (191cms 88kgs) Varcoe (180cms 82kgs)
Grundy (203cms 102kgs) Treloar (182cms 85kgs) Adams (181cms 82kgs)
DeGoey (187cms 83kgs) Moore (200cms 94kgs) Sidebottom (180cms 85kgs)
Fasolo (181cms 81kgs) White (196cms 102kgs) Elliott (178cms 81kgs)
Aish (182cms 78kgs) Mayne (188cms 88kgs) Cox (211cms 110kgs) Crisp (190cms 91kgs)

That's what I think the best 22 will look like. It's actually quite a tall side IMO as in not so many dwarfs. If Broomhead gets a clean run he could break out. I also think Josh Thomas will give the best 22 a shake, as will Keeffe. WHE, Smith, Ramsay, Langdon and Marsh are a few others who will provide obvious depth.

1.) Pendlebury
2.) Treloar
3.) Grundy
4.) Reid
5.) Wells
6.) Adams
7.) Sidebottom
8.) Moore
9.) Elliott
10.) Howe
11.) Fasolo
12.) Varcoe
13.) Sinclair
14.) Degoey
15.) Crisp
16.) Dunn
17.) Aish
18.) White
19.) Mayne
20.) Cox
21.) Scharenberg
22.) Broomhead
23.) Thomas
24.) Keeffe
25.) Greenwood
26.) Maynard
27.) Ramsay
28.) Langdon
29.) Smith
30.) Marsh
31.) WHE
32.) Wills
33.) Goldsack
34.) Crocker
35.) Blair
36.) Oxley
37.) Phillips
38.) Sier

That's how I rate the list, but it'll change every week, I think Thomas and Keeffe could be great additions. We lack the absolute guns at the top, although there are a number of players who could step up, but we have one of the best lists as far as depth goes. Not too many out and out spuds, and Jesse White remembering was a good player last year with x-factor.

Blair and Oxley will be lucky to get games, Blair should only get games in case of a lot of injuries. I think people should consider getting in early and putting money on us to make the eight.

If Moore, Elliott, Fasolo, WHE, Wells, Adams & Sharenberg play 22 games, we'll be top 6
I like the list we've put together. I think we'll be top 4.
Premiership, Mayne coleman.
Premiership.
Agreed. My ladder prediction had us finishing 1st for 2016 and I don’t see any reason to change that for this year.

The sweet baby Jesus joy of unabated optimism!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Usually I start each year thinking we'll do well but not so sure at the moment. We had a lot of injuries last year and, on paper, our list looks okay but until we start performing it's hard to be really positive. Looking through next year's schedule it's hard to find a lot of matches where we'll go in favourites (obviously this will change if we win our 1st five). At the moment we'd probably go into rounds 2, 5, 7, 10, 14, 16 and 20 as favourites. That leaves us approx. 6 wins short of finals. To make this shortfall up will require significant improvement from how we played this year.

The sweet baby Jesus joy of unabated optimism!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
And why not. We haven't lost any best22 players and those coming back from injury and traded in are definitely an upgrade. A few areas of concern perhaps but i leave worrying to others who are much better equipped for that.

As indicated, my expectations are generally low. But I want to see improvement in how the club is run, and how we present publicly. A dignified and unified club, with no public fights or spats. And a gaffe-free season. These are things we can control; they are down to us, and not the fault of Robbo or Caro or anyone else hunting us in the media. How about it Ed and Pert? Or is it too late? Already being dragged into the mud via Gubby.

This is my best side.

Maynard (186cms 86kgs) Dunn (192cms 95kgs) Howe (190cms 86kgs)
Sinclair (180cms 83kgs) Reid (195cms 96kgs) Scharenberg (191cms 86kgs)
Wells (181cms 82kgs) Pendlebury (191cms 88kgs) Varcoe (180cms 82kgs)
Grundy (203cms 102kgs) Treloar (182cms 85kgs) Adams (181cms 82kgs)
DeGoey (187cms 83kgs) Moore (200cms 94kgs) Sidebottom (180cms 85kgs)
Fasolo (181cms 81kgs) White (196cms 102kgs) Elliott (178cms 81kgs)
Aish (182cms 78kgs) Mayne (188cms 88kgs) Cox (211cms 110kgs) Crisp (190cms 91kgs)

That's what I think the best 22 will look like. It's actually quite a tall side IMO as in not so many dwarfs. If Broomhead gets a clean run he could break out. I also think Josh Thomas will give the best 22 a shake, as will Keeffe. WHE, Smith, Ramsay, Langdon and Marsh are a few others who will provide obvious depth.

1.) Pendlebury
2.) Treloar
3.) Grundy
4.) Reid
5.) Wells
6.) Adams
7.) Sidebottom
8.) Moore
9.) Elliott
10.) Howe
11.) Fasolo
12.) Varcoe
13.) Sinclair
14.) Degoey
15.) Crisp
16.) Dunn
17.) Aish
18.) White
19.) Mayne
20.) Cox
21.) Scharenberg
22.) Broomhead
23.) Thomas
24.) Keeffe
25.) Greenwood
26.) Maynard
27.) Ramsay
28.) Langdon
29.) Smith
30.) Marsh
31.) WHE
32.) Wills
33.) Goldsack
34.) Crocker
35.) Blair
36.) Oxley
37.) Phillips
38.) Sier

That's how I rate the list, but it'll change every week, I think Thomas and Keeffe could be great additions. We lack the absolute guns at the top, although there are a number of players who could step up, but we have one of the best lists as far as depth goes. Not too many out and out spuds, and Jesse White remembering was a good player last year with x-factor.

Blair and Oxley will be lucky to get games, Blair should only get games in case of a lot of injuries. I think people should consider getting in early and putting money on us to make the eight.

That's pretty awesome the way the names stack up. The thing with the list is, it looks like the kind of list that is imposing on paper and when up against big teams there is absolute no fear factor, the guys are talented enough to push, win and on occasions make the opposition look like turkeys. However the same list can be made 2nd rate by shit like Carlton and Port. Its been said before, luck with injuries Buckley will make this club Hum like a Ferrari and a little more effort against the rabble teams, this club can do a dogs 2016. Who seen port coming 2014, who seen WCE in 2015 and the dogs this year. Just hope the pies dominate next year and beyond, and watch the media choke on a big fat one. Actually the comp is screaming out for the pies to rise again, The club as a whole operates so much better when we are truly hated and secretly admired.

My view is that for us to make finals, Grundy, Reid and Moore simply must play the majority of the season. We are thin for quality in back up for these three. Our best 22 to 26 is actually pretty good IMHO and despite the trade period doom and gloom pretty balanced. A back six of Reid, Goldsack (or Dunn), Howe, Maynard, Wells, Ramsay (or Smith) I think can absolutely stand up (and Frost, Brown and even Marsh probably wouldn't get a game)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Agree superficially but this year Grundy (21), Reid & Moore (17 each) did play the majority and we were missing too much else. All are more important next year due to departures affecting our depth.
Grundy for mine the single most important as alternatives might be able to ruck but won't have the aggression & accumulation etc to essentially be an extra mid
Reid - very important but at least have some cover if Keefe does okay and Howe can replicate 2016 & Shaz be fit & improve dramatically.
Moore - very important but if he's missing too much we'd need Cox, White, Fas & Elliott to take the field fit most weeks to share the load as targets up forward.
Leadership - need Pendles, Sidey, Adams fit most weeks & others to step up to fill the leadership void
Outside run / class - probably need at least 3 of Wells, Varcoe, Aish & Broomhead out there most weeks to improve our delivery into fwd 50 & general footy IQ.

Can make finals but I have concerns over our key position depth & coach getting the best out of the players (combination of motivation and game plan).

My expectations are low, and will probably sink lower. I was more positive at the end of the season, but don't like much of what I've seen since. There is an odour emanating from Gubby. Makes me very nervous.

Smell of victory.