Fan threatened with eviction from MCG for barracking too loud

Didn't notice any security where i was on level 3 and i was one the isle seat. In an area which was about 90% Carlton there were no problems for the whole game until the siren went and one Carlton fan went ballistic throwing stuff over the balcony and kicking seats. Was pretty funny but women and kids would have been scared.

The AFL should really just say they were cracking down or maybe they were targeting Carlton as a result of what happened with the umpire last time. Who knows but just be open about it

Why do you feel that people should have the right to "constantly swear" around young children? Just interested in your side of the argument is all...
You have used the adverb as qualifier, constantly 🤔

How about instead of conferring values and judgement, on The Family Peace Foundation, educate your children, that their profanity idiom is used for tenor to convey their vehemence, however deluded the individuals may well be, and incorrect use of terms and grammar. If you teach your children literal truth and translation of those terms, you would be doing themselves a great disservice when instead of giving the a succour mom[sic] spiel, you give them a more penetrating education. Like when they are 11 and assigned their first book in English(as lit.) to read, Anne Holm's I Am David, you tell them that is the diminutive of Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn's Gulag Archipelago.

The media like getting us annoyed, 2017 it was freekickbullodgs, 2018 State of the game an rule changes and now in 2019 it's crowd control sure there might be a bit more happening but it's not at the level people are making out

Find it funny after all the talk about Abblett stopped and the so called "conspiracy" around him the media drum up a story about some kind of "Gilstapo" those Anti Social Behaviour mob have been at games for a few years now and occasionally I would see a security guard walk the isles checking that everything was good and now that it's being pointed out by the media everyone loses their minds

There weren’t people patrolling on L3 where I was sitting.

But, they were visible on the ground floor and on the concourse and had a very different tone to normal footy attendants. They seemed like the AFL had hired a bunch of nightclub bouncers rather than the genteel old codgers who are normally there

If they continue to insist they aren’t ‘cracking down’ then at a minimum they have changed contractors or hired some new people for new roles, or something.

Easy to say that if you're a straight white male. Not assuming you are, but I probably would have said the same thing a few years ago. Unfortunately too many female, queer and coloured friends have had poor experiences for me to truly believe that.

As a brown mid-eastern male with a name associated with Islam, I can tell you I have only ever had one (malicious) racial comment ever stated to me in 30+ years in this country.
This however does not include horrific racial/cultural banter from close friends - those comments (and the return serves) would cause a trendy lefty to have a heart attack.

However not denying terrible racism/prejudice is not out there - but I think there are those who overstate it out of a victim mentality imo.

Folks have no gratitude in this Hobbesian world 😏

Unless you live an a rural indigenous station without access to modernity, all Australians get a chance, and most of the world's other 8 billion would take our lot and opportunities. Ofcourse we have imperfections, we are part of modern homo sapien. We can point out myriad imperfections in Australia, can. We can. Or, we can demonstrate gratitude and thanks 🙏

I'm all for stamping out violence at the footy have seen it 3 occasions this year,

This kind of method won't help anyone it's embarrassing,

I follow alot of sport in Australia and overseas, AFL is the only sport I consistently hear that something shouldn't happen because it's a bad example for children, stop worrying about crap like this.

But, they were visible on the ground floor and on the concourse and had a very different tone to normal footy attendants. They seemed like the AFL had hired a bunch of nightclub bouncers rather than the genteel old codgers who are normally there

If they continue to insist they aren’t ‘cracking down’ then at a minimum they have changed contractors or hired some new people for new roles, or something.
The old codgers are the aisle attendants who check your ticket and help you find your seat. The security are a different mob with different roles, nothing has changed.

I ******* love sitting at level 4, best seat in the house imo
Sat there for the melb Richmond Anzac game, from up there you can see the spread so much better. See who they will kick it to, or the right players in the right spot

Gillon is destroying the AFL. Censorship is rife already, but now people will be reluctant to even cheer or jeer umpires at the footy. That’s always been part of the experience. Total joke. Gillon denies any interference but we already know the AFL are liars and coverup kings. My bet is they’re terrified of violence and have gone overboard with their security patrols, annoying and unnerving the general populace.

As a brown mid-eastern male with a name associated with Islam, I can tell you I have only ever had one (malicious) racial comment ever stated to me in 30+ years in this country.
This however does not include horrific racial/cultural banter from close friends - those comments (and the return serves) would cause a trendy lefty to have a heart attack.

However not denying terrible racism/prejudice is not out there - but I think there are those who overstate it out of a victim mentality imo.
My uncle sounds similar background to you, he and wife law profs(sandstone institutions) and Deans (at other institutions), and go to Harvard for research over summer, he has difficult times in US customs., wife not so difficult, same c.v. .Uncle did the PhD at one of the great universities in America too, but late 60s.

And also, security are just doing their job and following orders. I don’t put blame on them. Seems like a mighty coincidence these patrols are cracking down on crowds like this all of a sudden.

Right on mate. Completely agree.

How would you feel if you'd planned all week to go to to a game. You plan your whole day around what time you need to leave for the game. You catch a packed train into the city. Stand in line for 10 mins to get in. Another 5-10 mins to get to your seat. Minimum $10 for food. A few beers is what? $25-$30? You're into the game cheering on your team, not swearing, not baiting opposition supporters, not bagging out players, you're just really into the game and some miserable pos goes and tells security you're carrying on and swearing in front of their kids so you get booted out before half time. Faaaark that. No way I'm going to the footy this year.

Any sad sack of sh*t that's team's losing, out of spite, can go up to security and make up some totally bogus story about you swearing, being abusive or whatever the hell they want and potentially get you kicked out of a game. Hell, I'd be offended and in a sh*t mood for the rest of the game if security so much as approached me over a bogus complaint because now everyone in the vicinity is keeping an eye on you and waiting for you to do or say anything that could be construed as "anti-social behavior". Public shaming is a terrible way to make a point. Few situations warrant it.

If a complaint is made security should simply stand near the supposed offender for a couple of minutes so they can see and hear for themselves if the person is acting inappropriately before taking any action.
unintended consequences are so insidious.

Folks have no gratitude in this Hobbesian world 😏

Unless you live an a rural indigenous station without access to modernity, all Australians get a chance, and most of the world's other 8 billion would take our lot and opportunities. Ofcourse we have imperfections, we are part of modern homo sapien. We can point out myriad imperfections in Australia, can. We can. Or, we can demonstrate gratitude and thanks 🙏
None of this is relevant at all to what I said.

I engage in similar banter with my mates too. I'm glad to know you haven't had many unpleasant experiences. Unfortunately I've had one mate chased by what he believed to be neo-Nazis (also potentially just intoxicated dickheads) and another mate's younger brother (would have been around 14) verbally abused to the point he feared for his safety on multiple occasions. I'm not going to hold it against them for not feeling completely safe. Nor will I hold it against my female friends when they're regularly sexually harassed.

I like to yell at the footy and I casually swear at bad calls yelling bull shit and for ****s sake, etc. Language that is no worse than what you can and do hear at a pub, in the schoolyard, in work places, at home, in the media, in music, or in just about any random conversation.

Seems they are looking to take that away and set the standard that we don't want that supporter at the games. We want families and kids. That's fine, but I feel like they are missing a lot of their fanbase.

I'm certainly not inclined to risk going to a game right now risking being spoken to and kicked out or feeling censored in cheering loud or showing some frustration.

I agree. It's almost like it's a complete beat up by Channel 7 just to generate clicks and sell papers.
Peter Thiel talked about this phenomenon in first Bill Clinton administration. Now the fourth estate media business model utterly destroyed the businesses remaining scrambling for views and consumers = resort to controversy & sensationalism aka a tabloid model, as u say, click-bait.

Did the Security have a justifable reason to kick out the 2 (young looking) fellas out from the Carlton Game a few hours ago?
I didnt have a ny sound on i was at work, what was the reasoning for it?
The 2 with the dreadlock wig things?
Haven't seen any reports yet but I won't be believing their version of events after seeing that Collingwood bloke getting found out last week.

They guy who called Nicholls a bald flog got kicked out for doing it directly to him at the race in a threatening manner, it wasn't because of the word flog, it was how and where he said it. The AFL explained this, you can't personally abuse umps at the race.

The Colingwood bloke who was barracking loudly wasn't thrown out, he was just told to tone it down. He claimed he doesn't swear or abuse people yet evidence surfaced the next day of him doing exactly that and then he didn't want to talk to the media.
You essentially made the same point as I did only with more detail, cheers.

None of this is relevant at all to what I said.

I engage in similar banter with my mates too. I'm glad to know you haven't had many unpleasant experiences. Unfortunately I've had one mate chased by what he believed to be neo-Nazis (also potentially just intoxicated dickheads) and another mate's younger brother (would have been around 14) verbally abused to the point he feared for his safety on multiple occasions. I'm not going to hold it against them for not feeling completely safe. Nor will I hold it against my female friends when they're regularly sexually harassed.
BS, it had everything to do with it. I offered some overarching clarity, can't help if folks are too ignorant 👀

Fan threatened with eviction from MCG for barracking too loud