Fan threatened with eviction from MCG for barracking too loud

We go to the footy to watch the game. Security go to the game to watch us. Who is going to say anything with these increased foot patrols? What are the guidelines for cheering now? That’s the confusion and the problem.

Complete lack of communication from the AFL.

I’m so feckin tired of hearing ‘what about the children’, ‘it’s a bad example for children’ - **** children. I grew up around adults acting like adults can, as did eveyone here- and survived. Children need good parenting to point out how to behave and not behave, it’s not up to society to raise everyone else’s children.

Security should be checking bags and tickets at the gates. Coppers should be doing the patrolling of the bays etc. The coppers should always be paired off with one experienced and one junior member. Reports of trouble makers and law breakers should go directly to the Police. The most experienced member of the nearest available coppers should do the assessment and the talking.

Could people be reporting opposition supporters who cheer now they know how easy it is to get them removed?

is this essentially de-platforming?

could be a symptom of the footballing schadenfreude we know of and see regularly on bigfooty itself - i'm very interested in you and your team feeling like shit regardless of how it happens - taking place in the stadium itself.

Thats standard behavior for the inner circle east coast boys club at Perth Stadium.It comes from anxiety and percieved threat due to the Eagles and WA in general imo.
like the sun rises in the east and sets in the west, some eagles flog will bring up the 'vfl conspiracy' in every thread

one of the most successful clubs in the modern era in all facets, get your hand off it.

Words are just words, people are being conditioned to be offended at every opportunity.

Fights are started by pissed bogans, ban alcohol if you wanna fix the problem.

The irony I have with all of this is the worst fan I have ever sat next too was Gil McLachlan at the Eagles vs Demons prelim final. Visibly cheering for the Demons and being antagonistic in the Eagles sponsorship area.

that cheering would've been for all but 5 mins

Carlton fans again. They used to be well behaved, but the last few years they are always at it. That being said, the part time crowd behaviour specialists are even more embarrassing to our game. I see plenty of hawks fans are using it as their excuse to stop going.

The irony I have with all of this is the worst fan I have ever sat next too was Gil McLachlan at the Eagles vs Demons prelim final. Visibly cheering for the Demons and being antagonistic in the Eagles sponsorship area.

Dunno how much barracking for Melbourne could have possibly been done during that game.

Do what I have done the last few weeks after being told to tone my barracking down by security after nada in the previous 18 years in my area, told them to take a hike.

Don't know why people actually go with them after getting asked to, stay seated and make them physically grab you. Won't be a good look on the TV will it.

Security should be checking bags and tickets at the gates.
That should be the end of their shift for 90% of them and send them home. The rest of the day should be old school police presence. The explosion of security firms in last decade has got out of hand and with explosion of phone use, texting minor grievances to them via numbers posted on big video screen we arrived at this really stupid point in time.

It was weird in that he was cheering when they touched the ball essentially so the cheering was actually longer then that. He was kind of the way over the top girl at boy band concert fan that day
Not sure you can say that, pretty sure that's a sexist comment. I'll call the antisocial behaviour hotline and check.

Could people be reporting opposition supporters who cheer now they know how easy it is to get them removed?

As a soccer fan I prefer having away fans away from me tbh.
I never understood why people like having opposition fans around them.

obnoxious fans supporting your team are so much more tolerable because you generally agree with their 'football' views even though they may go over the top about it. like NMFCMUFC said, i prefer not having opposition fans around as i want to support my team, not hear the views of the other mob. it's like church - if you're catholic, you're going to a catholic church. you don't want to hear a proddy preach. reserved membership seats are good because you sit among the same fans. it's the outer that's shithouse.

This is my security moment I saw at last years qualifying final vs Collingwood. Guy was pretty passionate/vocal/nervous and had his arm in a sling from a footy injury i overheard (so easy victim). A ton of swearing but nothing that was I guess threatening. More like "******* ****" when Collingwood kicked a goal and what not

Anyway another guy infront turns around and says "Ive had enough of your swearing. My kid does not need to hear that. If you dont keep quiet ill make you quiet". Now this guy was 8 beers in, was being a smart ass to everyone and spent a good 2 minutes ranting about the bad phone reception not letting him put a bet on at half time for Eagles to win and had been standing up for a ton of the game, anytime ball got in the forward 50 he would stand to watch essentially.

Security guys come and well approach the guy that was swearing asking him to stop. At this point everyone says "Can you ask the guy to stop standing and being rude and aggressive". They said they hadnt got a text message about it and walked off. They dragged the guy swearing out of his seat to talk to him for 5 minutes after the end of the game

In the end I went up to security and had to tell them "Mate, you are throwing the wrong guy out". Luckily they came to their senses some 15 minutes later but to me it shows that alot of the time those reporting anti social behaviour and are actually using it as a barrier to excuse their own anti social behaviour that is about to take place.
So they threw out the bloke who was swearing, and kept the bloke who was standing too much and complaining about phone reception. And you rekn they threw the wrong bloke out??? wow

Kudos to Gil for stamping his foot down and eliminating absolute donuts like yourself. Accepting that kind of behavior says much about you and your morals.

This whole debacle is yet another example of sheep jumping on the 'you can't tell me what to do' bandwagon and barking for the sake of barking despite not even being one of the people affected by such authority. 95% of supporters are not abusive. No one is throwing anyone out for being too loud or supporting. Be loud and proud instead of being an abusive goose and you don't have to worry about anything. simple.

Is it reallyyyyy that hard to not abuse or swear at someone? If you're that inept then yes, sit at home. It's not your right to abuse, but it is everyones right to sit at a game with themselves or their kids without having to experience such rubbish.

Reckon you’ve got the nail on the head. There are quite a few dick heads at the footy who go overboard and deserve whatever they get, but this behavioral police crap encouraging people to dob in others is just inviting sooks, trolls and troublemakers to report the wrong type of people.

Do what I have done the last few weeks after being told to tone my barracking down by security after nada in the previous 18 years in my area, told them to take a hike.

Don't know why people actually go with them after getting asked to, stay seated and make them physically grab you. Won't be a good look on the TV will it.

They wouldn't have much trouble dragging my 70kg skinny arse up the steps, especially 10 beers in. I guess the best strategy is to go limp and pretend you've died.

Fan threatened with eviction from MCG for barracking too loud