News Gabba Upgrade & Olympics News

QSAC-2021-1.jpg

So this is the plan ? Hosting the olympics in a bush in the middle of no where in a suburb I have never heard of before today ?
When you order your Olympic stadium from Wish

Suncorp + QSAC plan is poetic for brisbane when you think about it

tbh it really is going to be a s**t *

Really 3 not great options and i guess vic park probably was best

The best option tho - not bidding on the bloody games in the first place. Should've let the Qataris or the Saudis have it - they have enough to spend gazillions on it

A bit confused about the Gabba plans here, a bit of money to keep it up to basic standard for 2032? What happens after that when it's way out of date? Not sure about the long term planning here.

Spending this insane amount of money and after the olympics we'll have nothing to show for it.

“The Gabba will reach the end of its life by 2030,” Quirk said.

“Now, even if you keep it going beyond that date with some upgrades, at some stage, the Gabba is going to need to be replaced and it is never going to be a tier-one stadium because of the limitation of space.

A bit confused about the Gabba plans here, a bit of money to keep it up to basic standard for 2032? What happens after that when it's way out of date? Not sure about the long term planning here.

“The Gabba will reach the end of its life by 2030,” Quirk said.

“Now, even if you keep it going beyond that date with some upgrades, at some stage, the Gabba is going to need to be replaced and it is never going to be a tier-one stadium because of the limitation of space.
Steven Miles couldn't care less what happens re an oval stadium for AFL and Cricket long term, absolute ignoramus.

He only cares about League.

asked for independent expert advice and just reject it out of hand because it doesnt match up with what they want... reporting says he made his decision before the report was even handed in.

Hey Suns supporter here. I’m so disappointed in the decision to use QE2 and have it upgraded. I love going to the Gabba for footy and cricket but has it’s been pointed out it is in need of a major upgrade/rebuild

Early on when the Gabba was getting upgraded and there was talk the lions would play out of Carrara and there was a lot of outrage due to the long commute for lions fans and rightly so, I’m curious if you’d take playing on the GC for a few years now if you got a new stadium out of jt? I’m starting to think it’s a better compromise to get a new stadium than nothing at all

I also think spending 200 mill on enclosing Carrara and making it the athletics venue is also a better option/use of funds than a QE2 upgrade and will have a better legacy but then we can’t have a regional venue having a superior AFL and Cricket ground than our capital city, watch Tom Tate push this option

Crazy decision by Miles, ill be voting the LNP now at the next election, such a shame

I wonder if the AFL would or has discussed the potential of the 20th AFL team being Brisbane based?
At this rate the 12th team won't be Brisbane based because what's going to happen to the Gabba after it EOLs in 2032 or so, reading this report?

AFL seems to be alseep at the wheel. Is this stuff all out sight, out of mind for them?
I reckon the afl would be keeping their collective heads down this week. They have enough to worry about in Tassie. They won’t be advocating for any big stadium deals anywhere until that is over the line.

So the 2 Billion dollars from the IOC:think: .... they would not be happy with a lot of it being used for the upgrading of a Rugby League Stadium.

Surely this Steven Miles backed insanity doesn't end up being our long term legacy, a massively upgraded Lang Park, a white elephant QSAC and a crumbling oval Stadium.

Do they think the IOC won’t approve this idea which will give the government a plausible exit strategy out of the game altogether?

You guys know this was the IOC's proposal right? Coates is a rugby league man, he was keen to not see the afl benefit, he even gave them a clip when he came up with this s**t suggestion.

A great article in the courier mail giving Coates a wack, really enjoyed it.

The man who’s really behind cowardly QSAC decision​

It’s a cowardly decision that reeks of political survival, but there’s only one man behind the decision to splash $1.6bn to reincarnate QSAC stadium, and it isn’t the Premier, writes Hayden Johnson.

There’s only one man whose decision this was and it’s not the Premier of Queensland.

Be in no doubt, politicians aren’t controlling the vision of Brisbane’s 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games – International Olympic Committee vice-president John Coates is.

Using Queensland Sport and Athletics Centre, formerly QEII Stadium, as a venue was ruled out well before Brisbane won the Games in 2021 due to its dilapidated facilities and poor public transport.

It wasn’t mentioned again until January, when Mr Coates, a Sydney resident, used it as the grenade to blow up the Gabba.

Mr Coates is a clever and shrewd man who has reached the peak of global sport – but Steven Miles has swallowed his agenda, ignored clear warnings and splashed $1.6bn to reincarnate the 1980s-era QSAC in a cowardly decision that reeks of political survival.

The Premier has used $450,000 of your cash – just Monopoly money in the government’s eyes – to ask for a review that he was working to undermine before eventually ignoring.

QSAC is the cheap alternative at the expense of building a new stadium that would truly put this city on a national and global sporting and events map stage.

Not only are we missing a golden opportunity, we’re spending $1.6bn on a facility few are asking for.

Mr Miles’s claim that QSAC represents great value is rubbish – it is simply the cheapest option.

Next, the government will tell Queenslanders there won’t be any medals for athletes in 2032 because ribbons are much cheaper.

This is a political decision made by a tired Labor government desperate for survival at the expense of generational change.

QSAC offers no inner-city activation and isn’t remotely close to the $7.7bn Cross River Rail and Brisbane Metro public transport corridors.

The Premier says the savings of not demolishing the Gabba will be used to improve it and Suncorp Stadium.

Mr Miles isn’t yet sure whether the Gabba upgrade will make it fully disability-compliant to allow kids in wheelchairs on to the ground.

How will we get 40,000 people out of QSAC when the night’s athletics finishes?

Mr Miles says it’s “likely” to be buses, but he’s not entirely sure about that either.

What Queenslanders can be sure of is politicians with conviction are no more.

The LNP’s refusal to utter a word about the QSAC or Victoria Park stadium proposal is no better.

The opposition rightly slams the government for the lack of action and in the same breath says it will go back to the drawing board if elected in late October.

It’s a shambles.

A shocking decision. After three years they still come up with the lazy and stupid option. Clearly vested interest involved. Time to turf them out.
The media is going to town on Miles, almost looks like he was setup his decision is so laughable.

https://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/na...g-from-the-olympic-games-20240318-p5fd6d.html

He must have the most useless advisors, Cirsafulli can easily team up with Schrinner now and "save Brisbane" so to speak, could become the most easy road to election victory. It will be tricky for Miles to reconsider now too.....does he have a quick meeting with Albo and then announce he's reconsidering the deal due to Fed financial assistance just to try and backtrack from this poor decision? 2.6b for nothing....what a way to waste an Olympics I just can't believe it!