Autopsy Geelong defeated by Port by 16 points.

Move the ball quicker.

Put Paddy and Gaz in the guts near the end when it is tight.

Want to see Gaz go hard with the body next week.

Great games by Parfitt, Atkins, Blicavs, Henderson.

Miers out, Close in? Either that, or actually honour Miers' leads. He is not a contested player, but he covers the ground.

Maybe Harry out and Clark in. Big risk but HT is battling.

Figure out a plan to score goals that doesn't involve so much hard work out booming it in high.

Stick some tackles again please.

The Ranga needs a better game next week.
Atkins overrated. Bring in Narkle or Close, anyone who can be creative instead of chase and tackle parked cars.

Atkins was ok tonight. He played better than Menegola and Guthrie I reckon.
Gotta back you’re stars in I reckon. No point
That is the right team, only question mark is throwing in Clarke after leaving him out for so much of the H&A. For some reason this team, with all the players playing in the positions where they play the best, is completely untenable for the coaching staff.
May as well I reckon. Clarke has speed and is a weapon at his best. Should be playing every week tbh.

Told you Sav had to play as we were devoid of options forward.
We weren't devoid of options. Hawkins missed 5 and Port got three goals that you'd never put money on. We just folded under pressure as usual, simple as that. Selections aren't the issue. It's what's between the ears for the guys on the field.

Told you Sav had to play as we were devoid of options forward.
We took 10 marks inside 50 compared to Ports 4

We had 17 scoring shots compared with Ports 13, plus we had another 2 shots in the first quarter that failed to register a score

We weren't devoid of forward options, we failed to capitalise when on top in the game and convert our chances

Did Guthrie win one clearance? He has been outstanding this season breaking away from the middle. Tonight I saw him just play a very defensive, reactive game. There was none of the flair we've seem this year at all.
Guthrie had 4 clearances tonight compared to his 2020 average of 3.9.

Let's look on the bright side.

Beat Collingwood or West Coast and we will be playing in a prelim at a neutral venue. At least we won't be playing PA in a prelim at Adelaide Oval.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
I'd rather play Port in Adelaide than Richmond anywhere!

Just goes to show where we're at.

Chris Scott has had his chance, clearly doesn’t have a game plan to win finals, should be sacked
Please don’t recruit any more has beens
let’s go to the draft and take 1 step back to take 2 steps forward
need a big clean out
and please play Blicavs in defence
if harry plays next week they care more about Harry’s feelings than winning

It feels like since the Richmond game, oppo coaches have worked us out. Negate space. Highly contested. Numbers at the contest and a high-press defence. I feel the answer is to bring in players who take the game on. Close and Atkins. Drop Kolo as we have one too many defenders. We need a stronger offensive balance.

Port was playing on their patch in front of their crowd.

They have more football talent in their outfit than we do.

We had many sub-par players tonight– not the coaches doing.

Yet we had our chances to carry the day.

Grow up some of you.

You can analyse everything to within an inch of its life but in the end the game plan doesn't work in finals and the team selection isn't right. Which is all the coach

I come in peace, and ask you supporters this question with genuine curiosity:

Gary Rohan has an atrocious record in finals.

He went missing again tonight with 5 disposals.

If you're selecting the team for the semi final, do you keep him in the side. And if you elect to do so, why?

Port was playing on their patch in front of their crowd.

They have more football talent in their outfit than we do.

We had many sub-par players tonight– not the coaches doing.

Yet we had our chances to carry the day.

Grow up some of you.

Mate football supporting is driven by emotion. It's the entire lifeblood of this tribalistic pastime. You can't seriously expect Cats fans to log on after another finals disappointment and post calm, unemotional analysis along the lines of "not the result we hoped for but ultimately it was an honourable loss. Better luck next time".

Of course people are going to react like this.

Unless we play Brisbane in a prelim :p
True that. Brisbanes advantage playing at the gabba this year is unlike any other year. We will be travelling only one hour down the road from the gold coast.

In saying that Brisbane have only lost at the Gabba once in the last 12 months.

I like our chances of beating them though.

Have to get there first !!

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

We had 17 scoring shots compared with Ports 13, plus we had another 2 shots in the first quarter that failed to register a score

We weren't devoid of forward options, we failed to capitalise when on top in the game and convert our chances
And how did that work out.

Thank you for showing class Mac.
I agree some massive sooks on here. Hawkins public enemy number 1?
It’s embarrassing.

It's a passionate game - people get upset from time to time, especially with the stakes this high. If you don't want to read it, then maybe it's best you don't come on here. It's the same with every team. Not embarrassing - just passion and dissappointment. We invest heavily as supporters and it sucks to lose sometimes, hence we vent. There's nothing embarrassing about it - people are very invested in ths game and after a bad loss (in this case a huge final for us) sometimes we might say things that are over the top. Nothing wrong with having a vent IMO. Would be a boring world if we all golf clapped every perfomance.

Our best scoring chance is when we win the centre clearance because it means the ball is coming in quick for a change.

Do you know how many times we started with Stanley, Selwood, Dangerfield and Guthrie at the centre bounces?
(Genuine question)

You can analyse everything to within an inch of its life but in the end the game plan doesn't work in finals and the team selection isn't right. Which is all the coach

We finished the game kicking 5.12 42

We convert just half of those behinds and suddenly the score is 11.6 72 def Port 9.4 58

Failing to convert when we had control of the game is what cost us

If you're selecting the team for the semi final, do you keep him in the side. And if you elect to do so, why?

There's not really anyone to replace him with in that role - Jenkins is a better mark, but isn't as fast and doesn't pressure as well.

Rohan never gets more than 10 touches, so the lack of touches doesn't bother me so much, but usually he does other non-stat things that help - there weren't many of those tonight though

Can we just play every player in their true position where they are strongest and also stop playing slow, indecisive footy. Would go along way to winning the game instead of fking about playing players in wrong positions.

Yes purely because we don't really have any other medium forward options. Need a second tall in Jenkins or sav to take the heat of Rohan playing as the second tall which he is not. His record in finals is poor and a worry but would love to see him play on the wing or half back for a couple of minutes with the instruction to take the game on, would at least get him into the game.

Autopsy Geelong defeated by Port by 16 points.