Autopsy Geelong defeated by Port by 16 points.

So can someone tell me if I’m correct.

Hawkins kicks bad = Chris Scott’s fault

Miers and Rohan have there worst games for the year in the same game = Chris Scott’s fault

Our defenders ran into each other twice last night resulting in Port Adelaide goals = Chris Scott’s fault

Should I continue or have I hit the nail on the head
This happens every final. What is the one constant?

and its not rohans and miers worst game. They have each had about 6 games as equally as terrible. Why do we call him one quarter rohan? most of the season he has been missing in action.

hawkins was forced to take shots from the boundary due to our slow ball movement and lack of foward targets.

scott chooses to play 5 lumbering tall defenders in the one side. Thats him making that decision.

all these problems have been highlighted throughout the season. And in previous seasons. These outcomes were completely predictable. Solutions were suggested. scott doesnr implement them. Dont pretend they are black swans.

Im not sure, he has had a lot of injuries lately and his crash and bash style of play over the years wont be good for his body, 300+ games of doing that he must be wrecked, reckon he will hang them up and start popping out some father sons with Britt.

hope so; a dignified exit would be befitting such a great champion of the club - suspect he'll stick around though ..

Miers and Rohan have there worst games for the year in the same game = Chris Scott’s fault

Our defenders ran into each other twice last night resulting in Port Adelaide goals = Chris Scott’s fault

I can't speak for the other two, but these are things a coach owns.

At what point was Motlop ever Taylor's responsibility?
Why was Kolo frequently on him in contests.

We shoehorned extra defenders in, then not only couldn't hold them to a low score but couldn't kick one ourselves.

I am getting shredded on one of the Geelong FB pages, but we lost this match in selection, again.

Assuming Hawkins kicks a bag, or doesn't get injured was a fools game. Once Hawkins had the yips Port left an average defender on him. Who stepped up? No one. Jenkins or even ****ing Fort would have been a better option.

Scotts weird fetish with Blicavs out of defense has to stop. As does his weird love of having Miers and Dahlhaus up the ground.

Team balance is a mess, in match strategies are a mess. Have been for 4 weeks now.

If I were coaching (facebook flogs remind me I am not, but then again my finals record isn't a mess) I would line up next week with;

Defense;
FB: Bews, Kolo, O'Connor (Henderson on bench to swap)
HB: Stewart, Blicavs, Tuohy (Clark on bench to swap)

Cap the defense at 8. Rotate Blicavs, Henderson and Kolo on either Darling/Kennedy or Cox/Mihocek. You are then letting Stewart and Tuohy with longer, more direct kicking bring the ball out of defense, or having Clark and Bews break the lines because those two seem to be the only two who like to go for a run.

Midfield
C: Duncan, Selwood, Menegola
R: Stanley (swap with Jenkins), Dangerfield, Guthrie

Not even sure why you would have Dahlhaus and Atkins at a centre bounce, not once but twice.

HF: Close, Jenkins, Ablett
FF: Miers, Hawkins, Rohan

IC: Parfitt, Clark, Henderson, Narkle/Steven

That line up gives us a second scoring forward in Jenkins, a pressure forward in Close (asking a lot of a rookie with 8 games but he tries and pressures, Atkins was a ****ing bust and Dahlhaus has been ordinary), Miers has great goal sense so why the **** is he always on the HBF, Wing or HFF when he should be much deeper.

Parfitt, Narkle/Steven are midfield depth. Id prefer Narkle because he offers more, but we brought in Steven because he attacks and tackles. What did we lack last night? And we dropped him for Atkins?

People online who railed Steven last week very quiet when I point out his "shit" game last week was better than Atkins this week. Funny that.

Since the start of 2019, our best football has been played with Selwood not in the midfield. This is not a criticism of a champion player, but for whatever reason the other midfielders seem diminished when he is there.

Selwood should be played forward. Guthrie is our cleanest and quickest midfielder and seemed to be out of action.

Touhy could be moved back for Kolo, a better match for the smalls, and bring in Steven onto a wing, but I don’t think we will see any changes.
Selly was good but you could see he was gassed just before half time. He started to over run the ball and get out of control sloppy like he does.

I was really disappointed with him in the last. His hand was mangled and flopping beside him and he would not only not come off the ground but also change off the ball. The game was in the balance and he was a passenger in there.

He’s not the “man” anymore and the trait that made him such a legend, a champion, will also be the finish of him. It’s not brave anymore. It’s not making a stand.

We need to find a position for him where we can use his decision making and hardness outside of the midfield a la Hodge or I’m afraid the end is a lot nigher than either most or even he thinks.

So can someone tell me if I’m correct.

Hawkins kicks bad = Chris Scott’s fault

Should I continue or have I hit the nail on the head
Scott selects a defensive heavy team. Scott doesn't have a plan B for the forwardline AFTER THE RICHMOND MATCH SHOWED WE NEED ONE, thats Scotts fault, no attacking players or skilled ball users off HBF meaning Henderson and Taylor slow chip ball play out of defense, thats Scotts fault, putting Atkins, Dahlhaus and Duncan in the midfield after we score a goal in the 4th and go 7 points down is, you guessed it, Scotts fault.

Watching Port force Hawkins wide to take marks so he has to have shots from the boundary not once, not twice, but thrice? Wonder wh... THATS SCOTTS FAULT.

I mean, Hawkins shanked 3 of 6 gettable goals, but you people blaming Hawkins make it sound like he was missing all 6 shots at goal from 35m out in front. No credit to Port for setting up so he had to take shots in shit positions.

Metres gained is one of the more laughable stats going around, you can gain 500m and hit two targets all night long.

Thats true. You can also gain 20 touches and turn the ball over 5 times resulting in 4 goals. Stats themselves don't mean much. That we both agree on it sounds.

Sav Is going.
narkle is going
constable is going
cocky is going.

why?
cos we play dour players with limited talent instead like atkins, simpson, fogarty, dalhaus instead. Then complain that we cant kick goals

Sav can't kick goals either. He is a freaking horrid kick, and would have sprayed them hawkins style last night. He sure as fk isn't the answer to anything until he can learn to kick properly. And not make stupid fk ups all the time, like the 2 turnovers that resulted in goals against west coast.

After a long night of no sleep really it’s becoming very clear that this issue needs to be resolved , I really don’t know what the club can do anymore

changes need to be made next year , some very big changes

enough is ******* enough

You know they won't do shit. Scott thinks if we keep doing the same thing over and over it will magically work one year. Bloke is delusional. The club lets him get away with it because we make the finals. Doesn't matter how many times we get our pants pulled down in them though.

We are nothing but a finals laughing stock. Teams would prey they get to play us in finals. It's an embarrassment.

So obviously Selwood had a bung finger, unlikely but could he miss next week due to it? I know dislocations can be put back in and be taped up but from all reports it wouldn't go back in easily which could be a problem.

He also sat nearly the last 10 minutes of the match because of it - it's not like it was game over when he went to the bench, so no doubt they'd love to have had him on the ground, but the fact he was on the bench instead has to be a cause for concern

Thought we were playing the best footy in the comp a month ago. Then we came up against Richmond and they were too good and we were ordinary. Then a week later we almost lost to Sydney. So we brought that form into a match against the top of the ladder on their home turf. They were quite good and we were ok. Again, couldn’t really go up a gear when needed. Don’t think we were as far off as some are saying but good teams don’t let a Motop kick 3 goals, and if he didn’t, we win. And the Coleman medallist can’t kick a goal. Expecting to beat WC ( assuming it’s them) next week, but then it’s Richmond and we’d have to improve to knock them off!
We peaked about 7-8 weeks ago. As I said Those games flattered us though. Saints off 4 day break and rested Ryder and Jones and port after a GF win against tigers were flat against us. There was minimal pressure in those games and we looked wonderful. Last year we peaked in May. We are H & A specialists unfortunately.

The form of Henderson was discussed in this great article, where he was quoted as saying that he treats every game as his last and is there to have fun and enjoy the moment. Mindset has everything to do with it.
Yes his presser a couple of weeks ago was good. Seems at peace at whatever happens.

Sad thing is even if we somehow manage to win the next one we won’t win the prem

so ****ing predictable by now

and then all next pre season we will hear how the club had a heart to heart and really want to redeem themselves et al

just so ****ing sick of it all

We seriously have to start making some big calls about this list.

Cameron Guthrie's trade value is at a premium after an AA season. He's not a player thats going to carry us over the line in a big final so let's see what we can get for him. North or Gold Coast may just be stupid enough to give us something decent.

He also sat nearly the last 10 minutes of the match because of it - it's not like it was game over when he went to the bench, so no doubt they'd love to have had him on the ground, but the fact he was on the bench instead has to be a cause for concern
I honestly think a big part of being on the bench was the fact that he was absolutely cooked, a finger isn't holding a player back in a final.

Autopsy Geelong defeated by Port by 16 points.