I think I hit a turning point tonight. Don't reckon I'll keep following much beyond this. Hope y'all have a good summer. Stay safe and stay well.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Honestly I agree they are average. Dustin Martin won them that game hands down.
Narkle out of contract would seem most at risk & may depend on what happens with others. Can't see either of the other 2 being traded, especially while under contract
Clark needs a big summer in the gym, or will he be another Mackie & just not able to put on any muscle
Read in the Herald-Sun a trade scenario where Freo give us pick 10 for Clark and a 2nd round draft pick. As good as Clark could be, I would almost grab that with both hands as it would give us 4 first round draft picks plus a chance to snare Jeremy Cameron. Hell, we could still bundle up a couple of first round draft picks to trade to GWS for Cameron, and still have a couple left over to use ourselves.PLAYERCARDSTART5Jeremy Cameron
- Ht
- 196cm
- Wt
- 94kg
- Pos.
- Fwd
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 3star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- G
- 5star
- D
- 3star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 2star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 3star
- G
- 5star
- D
- 2star
- K
- 2star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- G
- 5star
PLAYERCARDEND
Read in the Herald-Sun a trade scenario where Freo give us pick 10 for Clark and a 2nd round draft pick. As good as Clark could be, I would almost grab that with both hands as it would give us 4 first round draft picks plus a chance to snare Jeremy Cameron. Hell, we could still bundle up a couple of first round draft picks to trade to GWS for Cameron, and still have a couple left over to use ourselves.PLAYERCARDSTART5Jeremy Cameron
- Ht
- 196cm
- Wt
- 94kg
- Pos.
- Fwd
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 3star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- G
- 5star
- D
- 3star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 2star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 3star
- G
- 5star
- D
- 2star
- K
- 2star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- G
- 5star
PLAYERCARDEND
Please hear me out. not trying to be a smart ass here.
In a game of footy, everyone misses something, cant blame your players for that.
its the overall game that you have to focus on.
You guys were red hot and made us look bad in the majority of the fist half. I had a feeling that you wouldn't be able to sustain it for four qtrs.
Why? I just did. call it belief? Being only 15 points down I thought we were a chance and I guess so did our team.
Great teams have that belief, its not just about kicking the ball around and playing keepings off.
Its speed, skill, belief, system , champions and role players, and you need a good mix of them
its everything rolled into one.
But if I had to put it into one reason (because everyone loves one reason explanations right?) it was our speed that beat you in the end, our small running players are hard to stop when they get going.
Yes Dusty did help too but it was a team effort.
You'll be right up there next year, good luck.
You realised you guys were challenged (no good?) after half time. Where would the challenge come from?
To do that you'd have to be confident that who we use these round 1 picks on are going to be better than what we project Clark to become. Otherwise why bother?Read in the Herald-Sun a trade scenario where Freo give us pick 10 for Clark and a 2nd round draft pick. As good as Clark could be, I would almost grab that with both hands as it would give us 4 first round draft picks plus a chance to snare Jeremy Cameron. Hell, we could still bundle up a couple of first round draft picks to trade to GWS for Cameron, and still have a couple left over to use ourselves.PLAYERCARDSTART5Jeremy Cameron
- Ht
- 196cm
- Wt
- 94kg
- Pos.
- Fwd
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 3star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- G
- 5star
- D
- 3star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 2star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 3star
- G
- 5star
- D
- 2star
- K
- 2star
- HB
- 3star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- G
- 5star
PLAYERCARDEND
Hate to say it, but we're just going to be one of those sides, and there's plenty of them, who are near enough but not quite good enough.
It is what it is, personally I'd be going the youth route and loading up via the draft, but I can't exactly begrudge the club for loading up and going again after a GF berth and one of the premier forwards of the comp nominating us as his desired destination.
Hope for next year is still there, hopefully (Covid permitting) things are a little more 'normal' and we can go again. Get Cameron and I reckon we're comfortably the second best side in the comp, unfortunately it's all to no avail if we can't beat the mob from Punt Rd.
Thanks for the year all
People slamming Dangerfield are clueless. It was blindingly obvious what was going to happen at the start of the third quarter yet he was in there for 1-2 centre bounces then back to full forward. Where the ball wasn't. All quarter. So how do you expect him to get the ball when he's been sent as far away from it as possible?
As for Richmond being untouchable football gods, bullshit. They are pretty good, but nowhere near the level of the Lions, Cats or Hawks dynasties. Nowhere near. You people just don't want to face the awkward truth that Geelong had an absolutely golden opportunity to win a flag and threw it away. 1-2 more goals from that period of domination and the whole game would have been different at half time. But the killer instinct just isn't there with this group and Richmond know it.
That was more a failure of Geelong than a triumph of Richmond. I doubt we will get another chance that good for quite a while, especially if we keep recruiting aged cast offs.
Agree, Guthrie has been a revelation. And your comment about Dangerfield is fair. If you are going to be a spokesperson for the club you'd better not just talk the talk.Stewart was bloody great for us, along with Guthrie, Harry is cooked and gave nothing in the 2nd half, stupid turnovers instead of going forward killed us, Danger should hang his head in shame, made it all about him and cocked it up!!!
They gave up... Not good enough - heads dropped - effort died off - you could tell they were broken.
That was a heartbreaking loss. I have never felt so deflated, anxious and full of gloom while holding a 15 point lead at halftime. I’m clearly not alone with my intuition, which leads me to recognise that there’s a precursor - that exists perhaps consciously or subconsciously - to this sense of impending doom.
For me it’s simple - our fatal flaw being our defence. For over five years it’s been too tall. I don’t understand the merit in it. We could downsize our backline very easily. Simply two of Taylor/Kolo/Henderson/Henry had to be dropped. And they could rotate depending on the opposition. And Blicavs should move solely as a defender as he is superb in one-on-ones. And Clark should have been elevated at the start of the finals to give us the much needed run and carry.
The issue with it being too tall is while we are controlling a game it works fine. We can move the ball around and it doesn’t get shown up. But what’s the upside of it? I’m not sure there is any. What’s the downside? Well, losing preliminary finals and grand finals. Port did it to us, also. While this game mirrored the 2019 preliminary final it also mirrored our first final against Port. We dominated the first half of play, didn’t take our chances and then... crumbled under pressure. What all these games had in common were once halftime came, these teams could reset, reevaluate and come out with a hunger. And this hunger fuels their relentless pressure. Then... we crumble. We cannot move the ball fast enough. Thus, we invite more pressure and all of these factors compound our dilemma.
I’m not saying our tall defence is 100% to blame for the loss but it’s such a glaring issue that if it doesn’t change, I simply don’t see us beating Richmond. There’s also an irony of when we have one or two tall defenders down we play some of our best and most attractive football.
Moving on from that... another issue was Tuohy’s role. He roamed but didn’t impact. He’s not clever enough with his movement or skills to play that loose role. He has to be in defence or playing as a tagging forward.
Dangerfield had to play in the midfield in the third. Everyone knew Richmond were coming hard, so their fire had to be snuffed at the contest. Could’ve made it an arm wrestle but instead let them flow and link up. I again don’t understand why Dangerfield gets stationed in one spot for such long durations. In fact I see quick and frequent interchanges between attack and midfield time as a real benefit strategically and to our needs at crucial times of the game.
And then there’s Dusty. Kolodjashnij isn’t the answer. He lacks agility and lateral movement. I would’ve liked to have seen Henry tasked with a pure lockdown role on him. Henry is good in one on ones and absolutely terrible when the ball is free; akin to Blicavs. Again, which touts back to me qualms over our defensive structure. We must select the players we need to shutdown. Choose our best 1v1 players and then build some creative defenders around them.
And finally, Rohan. I believe that’s his last game with us. I see Cameron stepping into his role and Higgins taking over Ablett’s. For those bemoaning Higgins because of age, we could’ve done with a dose of his class and composure around the contest. Also, perhaps another retiree could be Tuohy who may be struggling to go around again and Isaac Smith(if we get him), I believe would be much better suited in his loose role. Higher football IQ, breaks the lines and also has a thumping kick.PLAYERCARDSTART7Isaac Smith
- Ht
- 188cm
- Wt
- 83kg
- Pos.
- M/F
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 5star
- K
- 5star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- CL
- 4star
- D
- 4star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 3star
- CL
- 4star
- D
- 5star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 5star
- T
- 4star
- CL
- 3star
PLAYERCARDEND
We will be around the mark again. We will have a much more potent forward line next year with Cameron coming over and Dangerfield learning the craft during the pre-season. But if we don’t fix our fatal flaw and build to beat Richmond, rather than building to be a top four side, we are in for much more pain.
I had a bad feeling towards end of the 2nd quarter
I thought we had it but this isn't the end.
3 1sts, Cameron and a solid list. We aren't dropping off.
Bring it on.
I think I hit a turning point tonight. Don't reckon I'll keep following much beyond this. Hope y'all have a good summer. Stay safe and stay well.
Fully aware of the injury, also aware he was ineffectual in every final.
If the club comes out in the next handful of days and says he's off for surgery for an undisclosed injury he's carried all year I will temper the criticism but going from a guy who was showing small glimpses in seasons 2 and 3 of gradual improvement to a guy who was average for most of the season is deserving of critique.
People on here get on Blicavs, Kolo, Bews, Duncan, Danger, Guthrie, Menegola, Rohan for being crap in finals and not handling the pressure. He was worst on the ground last year's PF, had a dirty finals series this season, and showed little signs of being able to take up the slack that Danger and Joel are soon to leave. But those guys above at least perform to a high level at some point during the season.
I don't get all gooey over his pressure and tackling ability, pressure, and tackling is for guys who don't have the football.
When he strings 3, 4, 5 games in a row 20-30 touches and shows his class. THEN and only then will I start to praise him.
Do we realistically keep 3 firsts (and are they really firsts?) and get Cameron?
Keeping Dangerfield in the goal square while our mids get torn to shreds for a whole quarter wasn't a great move... And our movement from back 50 was terrible - we went back to bomb it down the line and hope.. Richmond set up 10X better than us - found space when needed and played for each other. Its ok to be wrong mate - you have been doing it for 8 years already lol... I told you to slow down and wait to see if we actually won before you trumpeted your own horn.
My meaning is we have collateral in regards to Cameron. No farm selling needed.
I think we were second best. But it doesn't matter. We made it. It was exciting.
The start of the second half I haven't felt that nervous watching us for many years.
Was good to feel that again.
when Castagna kicked it from 50m, less than 50% all season he was I think, after the kolo terrible turnover.
Yes the man who stopped DeGoey and Cameron somehow needs attention way more. WTF.Ineffectual in every final???? Parfitt was our best in the Prelim Final just last week. To dismiss his injury is just churlish.
Better stick with defending Kolo...he needs your attention way more than Parfitt.
We spent most of this century beating that mob. It’s just their time at the moment.