Autopsy Geelong defeated by Tigers by 31 points.

How does he know that for sure. Are our supporters that fickle? I am not advocating a hard rebuild per se as we agree that is difficult, and no guarantee of success.
Maybe a few less old campaigners being brought in, Some tougher selection decisions a la Hinkley. Braver game plan etc

How does Brian Cook know what's good for the club financially? Is this a serious post? Didn't he take over when we were 8mil in debt and helped turn us into the club we are today?

How does he know that for sure. Are our supporters that fickle? I am not advocating a hard rebuild per se as we agree that is difficult, and no guarantee of success.
Maybe a few less old campaigners being brought in, Some tougher selection decisions a la Hinkley. Braver game plan etc

Well, considering we were a financial basket case when he got to the club on the back of two relatively mediocre seasons in the wilderness in the late 90s, I'd say he would have a better idea than most.

Night football adds absolutely nothing that you don’t already get from a day Grand Final.

The most intense atmosphere and quarter of football I’ve ever seen was the last quarter in 2009. The most electric atmosphere was all of 1989.

Add fireworks, some cringeworthy C-grade “talent” at half time, and apparently it’s a spectacular. Authentic frontier gibberish.
quoted for brilliance

GO Catters

2 days later and all i can say this is the worse grand final loss since the 90s.

this is way worse then 2008. In 2008 we had already won a flag and it was seen as hiccup with the club clearly having more grand finals in its future.

this current team is done. This was our shot. hawkins is 33. Ablett and taylor are gone. Selwood is 33. Dangerfield is 31 and clearly on the decline. Even the likes of duncan, stanley and blicavs are now hitting 30 and will start to decline. And virtually none of the kids are coming through and the ones that are look like B graders not A graders you can build a team around.

the other thing that hurts is effing richmond now have a 3 flag era further devaluing the 2007-11 cats team Achievements.

this hurts big time. Think im going to need to take a day off work.
2008 we lost the unlosable GF - we were so far ahead of everyone else that year and to lose that was the most bitter of disappointments.

Here we lost to a team that has won 2 of the last 3 GF, and now 3 of the last 4.

Staggering you are carrying on about this. Well its you so its not staggering actually.
The points about players age stand. This is not worse than 08.

Go Catters

They did it because there was a real threat that conditions in brisbane would of been unplayable during the day in late october.

if the game was played saturday afternoon it would of been a disaster as it absolutely pelted dowm. There were literally giant lakes of water on the ground at 4 pm.

for now treat it as a one off due to covid As there are very good reasons why this time it had to be at night. Complain if they want to swap it when the game is in melbourne

the bigger complaints should be for the shorter game. Not the night game.
so. you are basing the night as success because it rained at 4pm and there were puddles on the ground? The AFL knew this a month ago and scheduled accordingly to miss the afternoon showers? I think not. Of course, it's not possible for it rain that hard later in the day. ???

GO Catters

I just can't believe how similar this loss was compared to the prelim last year. Kind of disappointing that we lost by so much in the end, but I guess we just struggled to contain Richmond's run. Not that it changes much now, but say if Port Adelaide beat Richmond, do any of you think we would have won the Grand Final?

There is just something about Richmond where we struggle to play 4 quarters against them, but any other side I feel we could have beaten. Then again you got to play who you come up against and hopefully we can change that next year.

2008 we lost the unlosable GF - we were so far ahead of everyone else that year and to lose that was the most bitter of disappointments.

Here we lost to a team that has won 2 of the last 3 GF, and now 3 of the last 4.

Staggering you are carrying on about this. Well its you so its not staggering actually.

Go Catters
It's a long time ago, but if you remember 2008 correctly Hawthorn were as good as the Cat's in their finals leading to the GF, perhaps slightly better. So realistically, the GF was 50:50, Hodge and Co. intimidated/roughed up the small forwards, Cats were awful in front of goal, but many of the recorded behinds were cleverly rushed through by the Hawks.

Go Catters

And we finished fourth on the ladder. In 08 we lost one game and finished four games clear on top with a percentage 30% better than the next best team.

Dead set laughable how this loss can be described as worse than 08.

Everyone that is shi*ty about this GF, are wondering why one of the best Midfielders who desperately wanted a chance to play in a GF, only appeared in the middle in the last qtr. Why 2 x multiple elected all australians (squad, team, a coleman medalist) are wasted doing ruck work. Regardless of Martins ability, why a better option wasn't chosen to smother him, Kolo probably deserved to be dropped for previous game performances, & was he on Martin in the 2nd half? Why the forward's after weeks of rushing set shot's weren't told to take the full 30 secs. Why the half forwards/wing weren't told to chip it around until someone could lead, instead of the panick station bomb it on everyones head affording 3 x richmond defenders to arrive and spoil. The list is lengthy.

Hasn't Cook come out and said it wouldn't be financially viable for the club to do a hard rebuild and be out of contention for 4-5 years?
Don't know if he did, but couple years ago I said something along those lines. Too many commitments, especially the stadium, or before Armstrong, etc...can't afford drop in memberships. So topping up with vets that have name recognition. As was said in 'The Game', "Action is seen to be taken, confidence is restored", or something like that.
In US sports, owners often pick up big names for no other reason than to get bums on seats. Others have, allegedly, not gone full out to resign stars to keep the team in contention, but not champion. Too expensive. Depends on the owner.
What I'm saying, there are other angles and factors at play here than just winning a premiership. Admin, not football department, have half an eye on balancing success with the bottom line.
I hope that's not too muddled an explanation.

And we finished fourth on the ladder. In 08 we lost one game and finished four games clear on top with a percentage 30% better than the next best team.

Dead set laughable how this loss can be described as worse than 08.
considering the source of the suggestion its not surprising.

Go Catters

I just can't believe how similar this loss was compared to the prelim last year. Kind of disappointing that we lost by so much in the end, but I guess we just struggled to contain Richmond's run. Not that it changes much now, but say if Port Adelaide beat Richmond, do any of you think we would have won the Grand Final?

There is just something about Richmond where we struggle to play 4 quarters against them, but any other side I feel we could have beaten. Then again you got to play who you come up against and hopefully we can change that next year.
If we lost to Richmond in a PF instead of a GF then the conversation would be identical to last year, the only reason we didn't is because Brisbane took them on at their own game and beat them in the QF.

Collingwood didn't offer a yelp and we cut Brisbane down to their lack of finals composure and having that extra week off didn't help them one bit.

I still don't concede we were the second best team in the comp and we are kidding ourselves if we believe we are. If you have a look at Richmonds finals results you will see we fared the worst, we lost by the same margin as St Kilda but they couldn't kick straight (had more scoring shots than us). Ultimately even with shortened quarters we were belted - just like round 17.

PLe
Jesus if anybody knows how hard it is to raise money/or keep money coming into the Geelong footy club it's Cook he's had to rattle the tin around more than the Salvos.The man's a Saint.
Please it was the man at Bendigo Bank that came up with the way out. And by the way we still have a debt. Like then it is called the "Stands'. And as for not going back to a rebuild why should that affect the finances. We will still be Members, at east that is what many on this Board keep saying, because it is about the club.
And I seem to remember that we didn't ream in heaps of $s or members after our success 07-11. They couldn't even keep the Cat Shop open for the Annual Meeting in 2007 when we were so excited and would have bought anything available.

View attachment 995585
View attachment 995586View attachment 995588
The Dangerfield free to Cotchin might have been a bit iffy, but really irks me that the commentators are so lazy that they see the last bit and not why Hendo was out of position. It was there on screen FFS! And anyone in the post match who says it was a free is just lazy.
Dude, there are heaps more, can you get better footage of Martin's third quarter goal? The goal ump remains hunched with a strange look, well after the ball was was past him, did it hit the post. Martin's last goal, was Stanley lying that he touched the ball, or did he? Danger got pulled down by grimes in the 3rd, only footage I can see is from a distance, BT just saying 'Danger looses his footing', or something like that. In the 3rd qtr, I ended up counting at least 6 times Richmond purposefully dropped the ball when about to be tackled.
I guess what I'm asking is, is it worth it to watch the foxtel replay? 7's coverage was weak as.

As an aside what did everybody think of a night GF?

I'm hoping it was the first and last - did not feel right at all.

The night GF is just too long to wait, especially without any curtain raiser matches or A-List entertainment. Whilst the day GF balances the pre-game festivities really well, having the game at night just stretched everything thin and it was exhausting waiting for the match to start. It rated really well though, 65.8% share for Seven means that it will be called a huge 'success' and there'll be no going back. Which is a shame, because having our centrepiece match under the afternoon sun with a red ball is a unique and special part of our game, and it sets us apart from every other competition who have a night finale

I wouldn't mind a twilight GF, a 3:20pm start would mean it's early enough to still enjoy the traditional pre-game festivities (perhaps a slightly later lunch), but late enough that the sun will be setting towards the end of the match and any post-game entertainment will be under lights. By the end of September with the longer days a red ball could still be used too

I guess what I'm asking is, is it worth it to watch the foxtel replay? 7's coverage was weak as.

Any replay on Fox (unfortunately there'll be plenty of them) is identical to the coverage shown on Seven. Fox don't produce any finals themselves, they simulcast them live (same with the three-four H&A game Seven produce per week), or in the case of the Grand Final, are contractually denied the right to show it live

Reliably informed that #35 was severely impacted by asthma and was struggling in the humid conditions. Was seen on camera a couple of times (I'm told) using an inhaler and anyone who suffers from chronic asthma would know that in the right conditions it can be pretty debilitating. Other people have also commented that when the camera was on him at times he looked pale and was clearly not 100%.

Just to be clear, not suggesting this is the reason we lost, but it might explain why he was kept forward and didn't go into the midfield for extended periods as some would have liked. I thought before the game that for Geelong to win, we needed more impact from Danger than Richmond got from Dusty ...... it takes an even team performance as we all know, but clearly Dusty was the difference and Dangerfield (unfortunately for Geelong) had very little impact. Certainly not enough impact to sway the result our way.

Also, just my 2 cents on a few players.

Gaz - we've all been spoilt but his time was up and as much as we love him, there's no way you can carry a 35 year old in the forward line when he offers little from a defensive perspective. Great if he has the ball - but a liability when he doesn't. Harsh perhaps - but I think it's fact

Harry - Been a ripper player and has given his all. But we can't carry him and Hendo in 2021 down back so one has to go. I think Hendo has a year left in him. Harry looked like a bloke who has just got himself to the line and squeezed every last bit out of himself.

Tuohy - Arguably best 22 but as many have said ... where does he play?. Personally I think he needs to set himself to permanently play as a defensive / bailout forward ... or my preference is that we set him as a defensive run with mid in the same way GWS use De Boer. Not sure where else he fits?

Selwood - I love him and love what he's done but this is our biggest riddle to solve in my opinion. Can't be allowed to dictate terms - the cliff is approaching rapidly and he cannot play full time midfield for a full (extended) season in 2021. Not sure where else he plays? Maybe HF and rotating for periods in the middle - but that appears to be the role they have in mind for Higgins. Maybe he replaces Dalhaus? Father time waits for no one.

Agree with pretty much everything here Jumping Jack, just some further thoughts:

Gaz - we've all been spoilt but his time was up and as much as we love him, there's no way you can carry a 35 year old in the forward line when he offers little from a defensive perspective. Great if he has the ball - but a liability when he doesn't. Harsh perhaps - but I think it's fact

It's hard for any of us to admit, but as you said, it's true. The time was right for Gaz to retire, and it's a good thing he's bowed out on his own terms and while he was still part of our best 26, rather than spluttering through being dropped and recalled and eventually retiring (which is probably what would've happened next season)

Harry - Been a ripper player and has given his all. But we can't carry him and Hendo in 2021 down back so one has to go. I think Hendo has a year left in him. Harry looked like a bloke who has just got himself to the line and squeezed every last bit out of himself.

Harry was pretty good on Lynch for the first three quarters, but he's lost any leap he had to spoil and intercept mark like he was able to in the 2009-2014 era

Tuohy - Arguably best 22 but as many have said ... where does he play?. Personally I think he needs to set himself to permanently play as a defensive / bailout forward ... or my preference is that we set him as a defensive run with mid in the same way GWS use De Boer. Not sure where else he fits?

It's been suggested that we should move on Tuohy, but I don't think so. He's fairly quick and is a great kick. He wasn't too bad playing higher up the ground this year but I would be happy to see him play as more of a sweeper off half back next year, and when needed playing more of a defensive role on dangerous opposition forwards

Selwood - I love him and love what he's done but this is our biggest riddle to solve in my opinion. Can't be allowed to dictate terms - the cliff is approaching rapidly and he cannot play full time midfield for a full (extended) season in 2021. Not sure where else he plays? Maybe HF and rotating for periods in the middle - but that appears to be the role they have in mind for Higgins. Maybe he replaces Dalhaus? Father time waits for no one.

I wouldn't take Dahlhaus out for him (who I think is a solid ball user, works up the ground and can bob up with a goal). I don't think Joel can slide into another position to round out his career, it has to be in the midfield. Whether that means he plays more on the wing and outside the contest (which would be less physically demanding) with less game time (say starting on the bench and rotating through in bursts) remains to be seen

Any replay on Fox (unfortunately there'll be plenty of them) is identical to the coverage shown on Seven. Fox don't produce any finals themselves, they simulcast them live (same with the three-four H&A game Seven produce per week), or in the case of the Grand Final, are contractually denied the right to show it live
Thanks for the info, appreciated. I don't remember seeing that footage (yr attachment), in such detail on Ch7.
So, it is impossible that fox replays use more of the available Ch7 footage, than Ch7 elected to show in the live broadcast?

Thanks for the info, appreciated. I don't remember seeing that footage (yr attachment), in such detail on Ch7.
So, it is impossible that fox replays use more of the available Ch7 footage, than Ch7 elected to show in the live broadcast?

Unfortunately that's correct, whatever was shown on Seven on Saturday night is all that will be shown on replays of the match (unless there's a documentary or something made of the match)