Autopsy Geelong lose to WC by 9 points at Optus

Great effort - 6 day break and playing in a Monsoon on Monday vs 8 day break - were always going to falter late - NicNak gave them 4 goals with brilliant ruck work i don't think anyone could have stopped. Concerned that we have a 4 day break plus a trip to Brisbane from Perth - might be really tough next week. However, our effort tonight was fantastic and Scott coached well. Also, i hate to say it but umps were bullshit tonight.

Good game, you played well in the first half and kicked well too. Costly errors didn't help you's and not having a specialist ruck didn't help.

While it’s dissapointing the eagles had a full list and we didn’t

on to next week

We were missing McGovern and Redden.

We were the Architects of out own demise tonight
All too often the little unforced errors a easily forgotten.
It was never more evident that... Small Things Matter

Rookie panic under pressure and skill errors is one thing...
A sloppy handball, a missed kick, a dropped mark, a fumble are forgivable.
Constant poor decisions especially without pressure is beyond frustrating.
Over-use of handball especially under pressure is bad strategy.
Missing clutch "gimme" goals is demoralizing.
Turnovers by Rushing play when precision is required is foolish.
Gifting games to players that fail to progress is wishful thinking.
Allowing key forwards uncontested marks. Easy goals from unnecessary free kicks is unforgivable.
But having the best midfielders without a half decent ruck-man is inexcusable.

Expecting great skills, fearless courage, super fitness and smart decision from this team... is a fantasy

Maybe. He was pretty amazing early last year but I think everyone will be hitting the limit soon enough

Whoever we replace Rohan with will not be like Rohan. He's effectively a third tall who can out-sprint basically anyone. I think the replacement for him will either be a Kreuger genuine 3rd marking tall playing a bit like the crows Tom Lynch or a smaller type like Jarvis who is aiming to be a bit of a woollies essentials version Jordan Degoey. Either way it's a big change to structure and how we try to shape entries so can't see him being dropped soon

So long as the Woolies Essential version stays out of trouble with the law!

My immediate thought was we had ran out of legs, which is understandable off a 5 day break in horrendous conditions the game before, makes you question why we didnt make a few changes going into the game though.
Ultimately, our superior coaching, teamwork and gameplan could only take us so far against a team with more good footballers than us, and superior average footspeed all over the ground, coupled with one of the very few occasions each season across the whole league when a dominant tap ruckman actually makes a significant difference.

Except when its us i.e QF Final against Grundy, and every match VS WCE where we haven't taken a recognised ruck.

Blicavs cost us in the last quarter he cannot handle pressure. Both he and Sav are good athletes but are lacking in footy skills. I also get so frustrated watching Tom Hawkins. He does some good things but he chucks a hissy fit and withdraws from the contest whenever his opponent plays him close or impedes his progress to the incoming ball. All you want from a big forward is a contest, either mark the ball or bring it to the ground. Sometimes he just doesn't bother to compete because the ball is not delivered lace out. The midfielders have busted their guts getting him an opportunity and he just turns his back on it. It happened a couple of times in the Game last night. So incredibly frustrating.

Few things: Was a pretty good effort backing up after the absolute slog on Monday. We knew what we were getting with Rohan, he has always been a low possession player so we cannot blame him, he is delivering what he always has.

Sav: Few costly mistakes but I think he competed pretty well for a kid against the best tap ruckman in our game right now.

Fog: I do not see it with him, I know he is probably being played out of position, but nothing he has done has made me think he will make it.

Blitz: Like someone said earlier, the more time he has the worse it is for us. Can get easily overwhelmed by options.

Danger: Seems a little off, I feel like he sometimes picks and chooses his contests, he will do a little three-quarter jog until he realises he can probably actually make a contest then goes all out. As we know he is not the most defensive minded player going around.

Chook: I feel some around here overrate him or I underrate him, have not made my mind up yet.

All up disappointed to lose, but gave a decent account.

Sav needs to be dropped for that performance. It’s not good enough. Possibly cost us the game.

But bloody hell we have some guys that consistently choke. Blicavs, Henry and Kolo..
Dangerfield needs to get his head out if his arse and pick up a player - when their ruck is flogging ours it’s just not good enough.
Agree with your comments. Henry was caught flat footed ball watching in the last quarter as his smaller opponent pretty much took an uncontested mark in the goal square. Blicavs imploded in the last quarter. Dangerfield's numbers have been down all year, he is rarely in our best players. Gone are the days he would dominate a game. We really missed Gary Ablett's clean ball handling last night.

Few things: Was a pretty good effort backing up after the absolute slog on Monday. We knew what we were getting with Rohan, he has always been a low possession player so we cannot blame him, he is delivering what he always has.

Sav: Few costly mistakes but I think he competed pretty well for a kid against the best tap ruckman in our game right now.

Fog: I do not see it with him, I know he is probably being played out of position, but nothing he has done has made me think he will make it.

Blitz: Like someone said earlier, the more time he has the worse it is for us. Can get easily overwhelmed by options.

Danger: Seems a little off, I feel like he sometimes picks and chooses his contests, he will do a little three-quarter jog until he realises he can probably actually make a contest then goes all out. As we know he is not the most defensive minded player going around.

Chook: I feel some around here overrate him or I underrate him, have not made my mind up yet.

All up disappointed to lose, but gave a decent account.
What's the deal with Fogarty. He was a first round draft pick and has had time to develop. He was like a fish out of water last night. Liked your comment about Blicavs. He ummed and ahhed and actually ran around in a circle before running out of time and turning it over. I was screaming at the TV to just get him off the ground.

Pretty stiff.
Played on one of the greatest athletes this game has ever seen and did well in the first half.

Of course, Blicavs costing us a couple of crucial goals late in the 4th quarter will go unnoticed as it's all on Ratugolea the 37 gamer.
Agree, Blicavs imploded in the last quarter. You don't want him anywhere near the ball when the pressure's on.

Good game, you played well in the first half and kicked well too. Costly errors didn't help you's and not having a specialist ruck didn't help.

We were missing McGovern and Redden.
and Venables and sort of Rioli (premiership player)
A few other injuries that may have played.
And played a man down after 10 minutes,

and Venables and sort of Rioli (premiership player)
A few other injuries that may have played.
And played a man down after 10 minutes,

Good thing you corrected this. I would have been devastated to know our sub-forum was labouring under an irrelevant misapprehension about something only pedantic supporters of the Eagles care about. Thank you for your service sir.

Great effort - 6 day break and playing in a Monsoon on Monday vs 8 day break - were always going to falter late - NicNak gave them 4 goals with brilliant ruck work i don't think anyone could have stopped. Concerned that we have a 4 day break plus a trip to Brisbane from Perth - might be really tough next week. However, our effort tonight was fantastic and Scott coached well. Also, i hate to say it but umps were bullshit tonight.
We are screwed then as our next games are off much shorter breaks.