Injury Injury update thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Apex36

Footy Classified just said Cloke had a test on the calf two hours before the game.

In post game thread I noticed that "the" calf he "did" had tape around it before the game.

Coincidence or negligence????? I'll leave that to the experts.

Footy Classified just said Cloke had a test on the calf two hours before the game.

In post game thread I noticed that "the" calf he "did" had tape around it before the game.

Stupid question, they took took Cloke into the game with a dodgy calf and he tore it within 5 mins, but that wasn't the club or it's doctors fault... they are without fault, they are faultless, and every mistake they make is simply outside their control... or it didn't matter.

Just like when Sinclair was being carefully managed through 3 quarters of VFL time then they let him onto the ground in the 4th... and now he is out injured again... again, not their fault. Sinclair probably body-slammed them all and ran onto the field anyway... Just ask Bucksboy...

Could be both, the club medico's can only do what they're trained to do. When doing a game day test, it relies on visible movement restrictions (medico's), and player honesty. Theres every chance that Cloke could perform movements, with significant pain but chose to not relay that information on to the medical team as hes a competitor and knew how important the game was.

This is a question only Cloke, doctors and the coaches can answer.

Said this the other day, if we're dealing with stress fractures in his vertebrae(s) we won't see him for the rest of the year.
They are saying he has a stress reaction at the moment which means that scans are showing "heat" in the bone. This is a precursor to a stress fracture if not rested. But yep, were looking at a month at least I reckon.

Stupid question, they took took Cloke into the game with a dodgy calf and he tore it within 5 mins, but that wasn't the club or it's doctors fault... they are without fault, they are faultless, and every mistake they make is simply outside their control... or it didn't matter.

Just like when Sinclair was being carefully managed through 3 quarters of VFL time then they let him onto the ground in the 4th... and now he is out injured again... again, not their fault. Sinclair probably body-slammed them all and ran onto the field anyway... Just ask Bucksboy...
Are you illuminati

Sigh...my dreams of at least contending in the finals is in tatters. bring on another interminably long break with the excruciatingly boring Spring Carnival and a long summer with a few whispers and rumours to sustain me and then hope 2016 brings the results others seem to think are preordained from on high.

Yeah, I'm looking forward to the experts AKA "the club can do no wrong" brigade sugar-coat this absolute debacle.

disshouldbegud

Genuine lol :D

Yeah, I'm looking forward to the experts AKA "the club can do no wrong" brigade sugar-coat this absolute debacle.

disshouldbegud
Yes - everything is better if you whinge, whine, bitch, sook and play the blame the game, certainly makes me feel better anyway :rolleyes:

Coincidence - obviously not if what the quality show footy classifieds is saying. Negligence - maybe, maybe they thought the risk was worth taking? It's not like Cloke has been dominating of late so I'm happy to see if others can stand up and play without Cloke in the forward line.

Some are happy being in that 'haters going to hate' camp, others move on and try and drawer positives from a bad situation. I can't confirm that the coaching staff took Cloke into the game with a dodgy calf so I won't get hung up on it and pick a fight. Shit happens. Should Cloke not wear some of this blame if he in fact had issues going into this game? He knows his body best?

Unless you really thought we were genuine premiership contenders this season, I'm not sure why people are getting so hung up on so many issues this year. It was always going to be a development year. We always had a soft draw coming into the season, which many on here whined about early saying thing like "we have beaten nobody of any significance' with pretty much the same haters complaining about us now losing games to genuine finalists.

When the losses are close it hurts, especially when you look at a few things like poor kicking in pressure situations or selection nightmares that possibly cost games. But you know what, there are still positives that come out of this season. We have good youngsters, some yet to play any significant role at an AFL level. Regardless what anyone says we have been competitive in all bar 2 or 3 games against quality oppositions that once again many haters came out and predicted we'd be smashed. Our drafting and trade targets over the last 12 months have been spot on. Varcoe and Crisp have made us a much better and physical team and you can add Greenwood to that list also. Adams has improved significantly.

And Yeah, I'm looking forward to the experts AKA "the club can do no right" brigade shit -coat this absolute debacle.

If nobody who required taping was allowed to play we couldn't field a team. Some of it is precautionary/protective, some of it is as a prompt/reminder to move a certain way or avoid a certain movement, much of it is habit/superstition/confidence.

Genuine question -- If Cloke had some soreness/niggly pain (bearing in mind he has never had a muscle tear before) and the doctors/phyios etc looked over it and it seemed okay, then they put him through a test and he declared himself ok to play, what more could be done?

Do we just pull him out anyway?

If it was someone with a history like Reid I can understand why you would, but with a fundamentally sound player like Cloke??

Hey NT I didn't make the comment to Bitch or Whine about the Club.

I noticed it during the warm up and the fact he lasted 5 minutes really meant "they" didn't make the right call.
Ill assume Cloke should take most of the blame because it was "probably" his call in the end.

Like you said he is old enough and been durable enough to make the right call.

In regards to the taping TRS maybe it is just me but I don't think I have seen "one" piece of tape around
a calf before that's why it stood out to me on the day.

Hey NT I didn't make the comment to Bitch or Whine about the Club.

I noticed it during the warm up and the fact he lasted 5 minutes really meant "they" didn't make the right call.
Ill assume Cloke should take most of the blame because it was "probably" his call in the end.

In regards to the taping TRS maybe it is just me but I don't think I have seen "one" piece of tape around
a calf before that's why it stood out to me on the day.
Sorry CFC2010 it wasn't directed at you and legitimate question to be asked. Was more reference to those looking to turn it into a CFC bashing we seem to hear so much about. I'm on edge, I'll tell you that. Just frustrates me to see so many positives of this season be swept aside to focus on the negative aspects, that may in fact be unsubstantiated.

It's a tough one for me. Like Kirby said "They" include Travis Cloke. I assume he probably doesn't know what affect a slight calf niggle may have had on his output throughout the game due to never really having significant soft tissue injuries before.

The club without the luxury of a scan 2 hours prior to playing him would have to go off Clokes word. Not sure what kind of fitness test he may have been put through and whether it was aggravated in the first few minutes of the game or carried in but disappointing all the same.

I get your frustration NT in regards to the CFC bashing.
I also agree with you that this season feels a lot different to last year, in a good way that is.

By and large I think the new doctor (from the Cats I think) has done a good job up to date.

I know I am irrelevant in the scheme of things but having Balmy tell me Cloke has done his "soleus"
and he is short to medium is a bit of wank sometimes....especially when he lasted 5 minutes of a match.

My take is they rolled the dice and this time luck wasn't on their side.

I'm not a fan of the smoke and mirrors game regarding injuries at Collingwood, but if this is the direction that Collingwood FC has taken I won't get hung up on it.

Seems no difference from the no communication "stop the boats" policy which seems to be having the same results.

If nobody who required taping was allowed to play we couldn't field a team. Some of it is precautionary/protective, some of it is as a prompt/reminder to move a certain way or avoid a certain movement, much of it is habit/superstition/confidence.

Pretty sure you're right. Pendles looked pretty lame for a few games, obviously carrying something.
Sometimes you can get through it and sometimes you can't. Clokeys been pretty durable but not to be on this occasion.

Not saying we can do without them , we do need them healthy and in form but TBH, they have dropped off from their standard in the past month and we still were able to compete. Maybe it is time to see what others can do.
With them being weeks out, do they go through the 'mandatory' round of VFL to assess they will be good to go?

In reality it comes down to probabilities. If he has some calf tightness but passes a fitness test, maybe hypothetically they could put a figure on it that instead of his usual 5% chance of a soft tissue injury during the game he's now at 10%. You then weigh up the risk/reward of playing in an important game.

If that assessment is accurate, you can make the right call and he can injure himself running to the forward line before the bounce. Or you could make the wrong call to sit him when he might have been fine and the team needs him. Those decisions are made before the game though, not with the benefit of hindsight.

Yes - everything is better if you whinge, whine, bitch, sook and play the blame the game, certainly makes me feel better anyway :rolleyes:

Coincidence - obviously not if what the quality show footy classifieds is saying. Negligence - maybe, maybe they thought the risk was worth taking? It's not like Cloke has been dominating of late so I'm happy to see if others can stand up and play without Cloke in the forward line.

Some are happy being in that 'haters going to hate' camp, others move on and try and drawer positives from a bad situation. I can't confirm that the coaching staff took Cloke into the game with a dodgy calf so I won't get hung up on it and pick a fight. Shit happens. Should Cloke not wear some of this blame if he in fact had issues going into this game? He knows his body best?

Unless you really thought we were genuine premiership contenders this season, I'm not sure why people are getting so hung up on so many issues this year. It was always going to be a development year. We always had a soft draw coming into the season, which many on here whined about early saying thing like "we have beaten nobody of any significance' with pretty much the same haters complaining about us now losing games to genuine finalists.

When the losses are close it hurts, especially when you look at a few things like poor kicking in pressure situations or selection nightmares that possibly cost games. But you know what, there are still positives that come out of this season. We have good youngsters, some yet to play any significant role at an AFL level. Regardless what anyone says we have been competitive in all bar 2 or 3 games against quality oppositions that once again many haters came out and predicted we'd be smashed. Our drafting and trade targets over the last 12 months have been spot on. Varcoe and Crisp have made us a much better and physical team and you can add Greenwood to that list also. Adams has improved significantly.

And Yeah, I'm looking forward to the experts AKA "the club can do no right" brigade shit -coat this absolute debacle.
LOL. Our society has become much like the media that feed us what they think we want.

People just love to read/post negative stuff. There is nothing like a good pumping to bring out all 'those' supporters to post when you rarely hear from them.

I recall Allan Border saying while he was Australian captain " The Australian Media like it better when we are losing, because they have more to write about ".

When we win, do you see those same negative posters posting about the game or how well someone played ? No. You'll see them critique a poor performer. Those chastising those 'club can no wrong' posters and the same ones that get sucked right into the media hyperbole of the negative. It's actually quite funny how hypocritical it is.

Footy is meant to be enjoyed. Some must get enjoyment from whinging and bitching I suppose.

It was his back in the warm up according to Bucks on AFL 360, he's had it for years and it's never radiated down to cause soft tissue problems before

So unless we have Kreskin the magnificent on our medical staff there was no way to know it would this time, he's just getting older unfortunately

Thanks for the rant that has stuff all to do with what I asked.

Cloke is our most important player by far and should be treated as such i,e, make him sit out one game if he is in any danger of aggravating the injury.
And no, you don't leave such decisions up to valuable players like him.
This isn't the first time in the last couple of years the Club came across looking rather amateur when dealing with this matters and no amount of passionate walls of texts will change that.

Young list.. long season

We're not there yet physically but when we do mature there is elite young talent on tap to make our charge