2nds Lions Reserves 2011

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr Ripper

Went down ....Inability to get clean centre breaks and some poor handball options and execution costly.

So just like the real team....

from twitter

JessWebster21 NT News Footy
#NEAFL @brisbanelions Cornelius 6 goals in the ressies in 10-point loss to @NTThunderFC

Folau kicked 4 goals for GWS.

Played in Brissie rip?

Fair effort against an undefeated side or...?

Yep and yep. NT had plenty of changes to their line up from what I was told, so it might be a bit difficult to get a gauge on how relatively strong they were. Our effort was great; it was skills and execution where the let down came. Leaving Harvey on Ewing too long didn't help either, I guess.

So Clarke coach's very much in the same fashion as Voss.

Yawn. :rolleyes:

How often do you watch a game where you think a coach was tactically perfect? Do you think there is a perfect tactical matchup for all 22 players every week that will deliver victory?

So Clarke coach's very much in the same fashion as Voss.

Give it a rest mate. You have made your thoughts on Voss very clear. Stop shoving down our throats.:thumbsd:

Couple of his trademark long, raking goals, but overall pretty quiet, Quigs. Sherwood is a pretty tight oval, so there wasn't much space for him to get out in the open and strut his stuff.

Sherwood is a pretty tight oval- understatement of the year! It is a postage stamp!

Competitive performance against a good side. Raines, Collier and Hawksley very slick across the backline, and Cornelius excellent in front of goal.

We were absolutely smashed in the ruck- McCulloch was simply terrible.
Polec also still seems to be a little bit off the pace. Harwood good until injured.

The game was marred by a most unsavoury head high attack on a Lions player just before 3/4, almost predictable given the lack of action by the officials over near head highs in the preceding action.

I stand corrected.

Sorry mate, wasn't having a go... thought you might have heard something different than the others for a second. Glad you haven't :)

For starters, I reckon Raines will come in for Rockliff.

None of the younger mids really had any lasting impact on the game IMO. Harwood needs a full game; Beams struggled to get into it to the degree he'd like and Polec, although damaging on the handful of occasions he found space, didn't see that much of it overall.

Competitive performance against a good side. Raines, Collier and Hawksley very slick across the backline, and Cornelius excellent in front of goal.

We were absolutely smashed in the ruck- McCulloch was simply terrible.
Polec also still seems to be a little bit off the pace. Harwood good until injured.

The game was marred by a most unsavoury head high attack on a Lions player just before 3/4, almost predictable given the lack of action by the officials over near head highs in the preceding action.

the news from the ressies on polec is starting to worry me...Polec was a real pace setter in the SANFL...but away from home at the lions he is struggling in the QAFL???? mmm when will people start the Polec v Heppell threads?

Hare and the Tortoise?
Rich and Hill?

Try not to lose too much sleep, I am certainly not.

I am no longer worried about him playing in the AFL or not...it is the lack of form he is showing in the QAFL that worries me...he was a start last year in the SANFL

It is actually the NEAFL now and the stature and quality of the league has grown significantly. Polec has played the past two weeks against probably the two best teams in the comp. Unlike in the SANFL, Polec is not surrounded by 21 other big bodies that can feed the ball out to him. You have to understand the reserves are a collection of the young developing players that are on our list and top up players from the local comp. Obviously the standard of the competition is not the equal of the SANFL but the context is significantly different. This can make it quite hard for players like Polec to adapt.

yeah good points, But I would add that Polec was very good at finding his own ball in the SANFL, and whilst being heavily tagged by Joch Carr types. I hope the young fella gets up to speed soon...was hoping he could squeeze in 15 afl games this year