List Mgmt. Mitch Clark Delisted 24/10/16

This is making Vardys loss look weirder by the second. Surely the club would of told him that kersten was going and clark was gone which meant he would have a full run at it. Far more opportunity then at west coast.

The new destinations that both kersten and vardy chose are pretty baffling tbh-not heaps of opportunity for them.

Well not really. Name one thing that Kersten actually does better than Caddy?

Not a lot Caddy is overall a significantly better player.

Kersten has a big ass which tricks the other team into putting a KPD on him. And a lot of other minor things like his superboot, which is only a minor advantage because Caddy is no slouch in the kicking penetration department, Kersten is faster on the lead.

But mainly it is that he attracts a KPD. Completely changes the setup makes the opposition less like to have two KPDs on Hawkins or whoever is playing as the deepest forward. Remember that game in round 1 where half of the board was praising his six disposal performance and half other board didn't get it. It's hard to see the benefit because it is what doesn't happen rather than what does.

This is making Vardys loss look weirder by the second. Surely the club would of told him that kersten was going and clark was gone which meant he would have a full run at it. Far more opportunity then at west coast.

Maybe the club have decided to ditch the players that don't look like they will develop. Lets be honest here, with all their injuries and issues getting rid of Vardy and Clark and some of the VFL guys is a pretty smart idea if they haven't developed or can't get on the park. Its a decent clean out thats for sure.

The new destinations that both kersten and vardy chose are pretty baffling tbh-not heaps of opportunity for them.

Fremantle were awful and Kersten was a forward in a top 4 team. Especially with Pavlich gone there will be opportunity at Freo for him. That said with the clean out we have had, he would have been a lock for us round one.

Can't understand why people are suggesting Dawes, he's the most injury prone forward in the comp. Not to mention the fact that he isn't that good...

Should look at Brett Eddy from South Adelaide. 74 goals in the SANFL this season and leading goal kicker for a few years consecutively.

The guy's a dead-eye dick with a big roost of the ball. Looks like Port might rookie him before us. He's definitely one to consider, though.

D&T Board:

"Used up and spat out.

Nice way to treat a person who is depressed.

I hope Geelong are proud of themselves."

Are we really being arseholes here? Strange comment.

At least black cost us less than some of these other gambles have,pick 92 is not much to lose if it doesn't work out. Hopefully we can rookie house this year also and hope he develops well.

And NM are paying 1/2 his SC hit in yr1 i believe....

Much better for all there...

GO Catters

I would have offered him a one year contract

admit we will have the strangest forward line with Clark and Hawkins
up to the coaches on how we play and use two power forwards

if we got the talent use them

anyway good luck to Clark

D&T Board:

"Used up and spat out.

Nice way to treat a person who is depressed.

I hope Geelong are proud of themselves."

Are we really being arseholes here? Strange comment.

Its harsh of them to say that. You can only keep players on for so long and give them an opportunity.

Do they say that Hawthorn were awful for how they dealt with Thompson?

Wouldn't think there would be any other players who will be delisted now unless we want to try to bring in a delisted free agent or two. Even if Ruggles does get elevated off the rookie list which seems likely, we'll still have four open spots on the list, plus 5 or 6 rookie list spots.

Agree with the comments relating to Vardy and Kersten going, then Clark. I assumed one would stay, most likely Vardy.

It suggests to me that they are happy to push Henderson or Taylor forward, or will be looking at a Dawes type (which I have heard they may have had a quick chat too - not sure how true though).

I hope neither of the above eventuate.

Maybe the club have decided to ditch the players that don't look like they will develop. Lets be honest here, with all their injuries and issues getting rid of Vardy and Clark and some of the VFL guys is a pretty smart idea if they haven't developed or can't get on the park. Its a decent clean out thats for sure.

Fremantle were awful and Kersten was a forward in a top 4 team. Especially with Pavlich gone there will be opportunity at Freo for him. That said with the clean out we have had, he would have been a lock for us round one.
Your argument is muted by the fact we drafted black.

I remember him being handy but I thought he was more big bodied and less mobile than Kersten?
Leaner, more mobile back in 13, 14
AB-192/82
SK-191/92
From Wiki
Pretty sure Black may have a few more kgs now, but quite a difference
In fact, he has been listed as 92kg
http://www.geelongcats.com.au/news/2016-10-20/aaron-black-now-a-cat
Kersten to me is the major disappointment of our departees.
Both the way he projected himself, and the way he was dealt with late 16.
Most of us thought he should have played when Menzel was out.
There were other games this year he stood out, and you thought "finally", yet a quieter game the week after and he's banished again to the VFL.
I'm not really saying Black is that much superior, he probably isn't, but we have him, and I hope he takes this opportunity like Kersten should at Freo.
I did say yesteday that AB was an upgrade on all our departed forwards, but I truthfully should have said he was equivalent in ability to SK.
Kersten will definitely have a bit to prove rd 1, and I expect him to turn it on. He is capable, we all know that. He is with his best mate, Hamling, and back home.
If Black does likewise for us , it is a clear win-win.

Too right. Like the H-Mac we were right as a club to make a gamble on players getting over their injuries and getting right for footy. Hindsight says different, but then again hindsight's always crystal clear isn't it?We've gambled again on Aaron Black. Will it pay off?

I bloody hope it pays off. Hope is the only thing us good ordinary punters can do in situations like this.
We gambled on Cowan, Menzel and McCarthy too. And Billie Smedts etc.

The one that still irritates me is Hartman. He showed something the second they injected him into the team.

Bobby was 100 percent right on clark unfortunately. Is owed a few apologies on this issue.
He's quite often right.