Recommitted Mitch Wallis [re-signed]

There's a bit of a curse going around at the dogs at the moment where the leading goal kicker of the previous year falls out or injured the following year. Started with Stringer (traded) & Picken (injured), then Gowers (delisted), Loyd (retired), now Wallis & Bruce. I think Wallis is going to be traded or retire as the way things go but would like to see him given another year and see if he get back into form.

Reckon he'd play on a pretty low contract? Would be good for a team with a lot of young mids that need help developing *cough cough*
He'd cost you nothing as a FA and is a very good mentor off-field. Would practically be a development coach.
The last Bulldogs VC (Roughy) we sent you turned out alright.

If he's a good bloke and clubman, why isn't he getting a game?

Can play mid or forward.

Would be happy for him to come to Richmond, we really need another couple of mids.

Is his time up as an inside bull?

Or is he simply a victim of the Dogs abundance of inside ball winners?

If he can play quality footy inside, he would be a great cheap option for us.
He can still win the ball, he's just not that quick on the spread. You need a genuinely quick midfielder in any centre square rotation if he's in there.
As a pure inside mid we have Libba then Dunkley, while our other mids are capable. He invented himself as a smart small forward (a la Gia) last year and he is strangely an excellent stand & grab contested mark. He's an accurate but not a penetrating kick.

TBH I think any club that picks him up gets him for his development work with young players as much as his on field stuff. He's a FA and not likely to be on big coin.
Any team that is losing a FA and doesn't want any FA compo impacted would get him for a very late token pick and we'd get him to wherever he wants to go (like a Jordan Roughead/Sam Mitchell/Luke Hodge style trade).

He can still win the ball, he's just not that quick on the spread. You need a genuinely quick midfielder in any centre square rotation if he's in there.
As a pure inside mid we have Libba then Dunkley, while our other mids are capable. He invented himself as a smart small forward (a la Gia) last year and he is strangely an excellent stand & grab contested mark. He's an accurate but not a penetrating kick.

TBH I think any club that picks him up gets him for his development work with young players as much as his on field stuff. He's a FA and not likely to be on big coin.
Any team that is losing a FA and doesn't want any FA compo impacted would get him for a very late token pick and we'd get him to wherever he wants to go (like a Jordan Roughead/Sam Mitchell/Luke Hodge style trade).
Cheers for the reply mate.

He can play though. Have the WB shafted him a bit?
Not really he’s just not best 22. He’s not going to crack the midfield for obvious reasons and we have moved to a 3 tall forward structure. He’s too slow to carry forward with 3 talls as well. If we structure differently there could be a role in the future.

Are his inside mid days behind him? I understand you guys are stacked, but for a club needing an inside bull, could he play that role still to a reasonably high level?