Murphy V Deledio

paulmac21

Rookie
Oct 5, 2004
RICHMOND
This may have been covered before but I was wondering who of these two players would be the No1 pick in the same draft? Allowing for the fact that we now know that Lids is an absolute gun!

From the little I know about Murphy, Deledio is/was taller, better overhead. quicker and more developed physically. He was probably more consistent in TAC from all reports too.

duckboy said:
From the little I know about Murphy, Deledio is/was taller, better overhead. quicker and more developed physically. He was probably more consistent in TAC from all reports too.

Murphy seems to have got more of the pill at junior level.

Marc Murphy
2004 TAC Cup Stats: 13 games, 21 goals, average 18.1 PPG
2005 TAC Cup Stats: 11 games, 7 goals, average 28.5 PPG
2005 U18 Championships Stats: 3 games, 1 goal, average 21.3 PPG

Brett Deledio
TAC Stats:
2003: 7 games, 7 goals, 18.3 PPG
2004: 11 games, 21 goals, 23.9 PPG

Brett will walk all over Murphy....................if Murphy gets a game.

The spin doctors have done the job for Murphy for this draft. He must be the weakest No 1 draft pick ever. Injuries to other mid fielders for this years Carnival left him in the spotlight, but how Richie Douglas didn't get the accolades for his great carnival and the rest of the season I don't know.

Dougo won the coaches because he was the player that dominated the games that the Cannons won.

Dougo won the B&F at the Cannons with the highest votes yet polled at that sensational club.

Dougo killed them in the carnival yet no-one wrote him up about it.

Murphy hardly got a few kicks and did well but yet he was written up as the star. ??????????????????

Murphy is a great kid, but no where near the standard that everyone 'in the know' talks about.

He is the son of a 'gun' so he went high on the list. When will the recruiters learn that because dad was a footballer.....it has nothing to do with his son's talent or drive............just ask Murph's mum...its not all because of John.

If Dougo's dad had played footy he would have been number one.

No one mentions the mother......who may well be the daughter of a footy great...or the sister of a footy great.............they only mention the spotlight seeking former footballer dad.

Time will tell and good luck to him but...........

Delidio is the real deal mate, he just beats the opposition to the ball and then he kicks it to his team mates..........every time.

Murphy is a furphy and Carlton have been sucked in.

chewy-on-your-boot said:
Brett will walk all over Murphy....................if Murphy gets a game.

The spin doctors have done the job for Murphy for this draft. He must be the weakest No 1 draft pick ever. Injuries to other mid fielders for this years Carnival left him in the spotlight, but how Richie Douglas didn't get the accolades for his great carnival and the rest of the season I don't know.

Murphy is a great kid, but no where near the standard that everyone 'in the know' talks about.

He is the son of a 'gun' so he went high on the list. When will the recruiters learn that because dad was a footballer.....it has nothing to do with his son's talent or drive............ask his wife.

If Dougo's dad had played footy he would have been number one.

No one mentions the mother......who may well be the daughter of a footy great...or the sister of a footy great.............just the spotlight seeking former footballer dad.

Time will tell and good luck to him but...........

Delidio is the real deal mate, he just beats the opposition to the ball and then he kicks it to his team mates..........every time.

Murphy is a furphy and Carlton have been sucked in.

Bollocks.

I've seen plenty of Oakleigh. Murphy is a brillant footballer. The best to have played their since Luke Power.

White Czar said:
Murphy seems to have got more of the pill at junior level.

Marc Murphy
2004 TAC Cup Stats: 13 games, 21 goals, average 18.1 PPG
2005 TAC Cup Stats: 11 games, 7 goals, average 28.5 PPG
2005 U18 Championships Stats: 3 games, 1 goal, average 21.3 PPG

Brett Deledio
TAC Stats:
2003: 7 games, 7 goals, 18.3 PPG
2004: 11 games, 21 goals, 23.9 PPG

Hey Czar,

with the greatest respect for a fellow Tiger put up Richie Douglas's stats...........

I think they eclipse Murphy.

By the way I'm glad a quality player like Dougo is not at Carlton.

He's way too classy for that rabble.

He would be great at Tigerland.

Richard Douglas
Statistics:
2004 TAC Cup: 11 games, 3 goals, average 14.2 PPG, 6 times in best
2005 TAC Cup: 18 games, 15 goals, average 27 PPG, 15 times in best
2005 U18 Championships: 3 games, 1 goal, average 13.3 PPG

Fair shot Czar.

But do the stats tell the whole story?

What about tackles and one percenters?

Did Murph or Dougo play a team game or were they out to get drafted?

chewy-on-your-boot said:
Fair shot Czar.

But do the stats tell the whole story?

What about tackles and one percenters?

Did Murph or Dougo play a team game or were they out to get drafted?

I've got no idea boss. I don't know why your talking about Richard Douglas in a "Murphy V Deledio" thread. The little I know about Douglas is that he is sposed to be a class act. What I've seen of Murphey and the hype, its a good guess he will be class, the clear no.1 pick in a even draft with too many standouts. I'd love either of those to boys at Tigerland, it was not to be.

Deledio I wouldnt swap for the world. Best thing to happen for Richmond in my lifetime.

Murphy V Deledio