Murphy vs Cooney vs Deledio

I reckon Murphy is better than Deledio already - but at Melbourne we'd possibly benefit from Deledio more as the onyl thing we're really after midfield wise is a pacy receiver but we may have got one in Petterd already....

I think Brock's a great little player for the Dees, but is one or two talent classes below Murph and Cooney. A McLean V Deledio might be a closer poll. I think Deleidio would beat McLean in straight line run over 100m, but McLean has better skills, and footy smarts. Deledio can look good when he runs off after a wide receive, but gets flustered in pressure situations. :)

McLean is better than Cooney.

Murph is a little ripper, much like Brock he's a real footballer and whilst his skills dont' measure up that favourable against Brock's, he's still got those footy smarts and can get his own ball. Also like Brock, he's adjusted to senior football really easily.

This is very painful to admit, but I can't 100% certainly say that McLean is better than Murphy consdiering Brock has had an extra two years in the system - as much as it hurts, Murhpy is actually capable of being better than Brock, at least, in theory.

The only question will be, can Murphy physically impose himself on a game like Brock can? And the answer is no.

Nah you cant say that Murphy is better. McLean has a heaps better kick and leadership qualities which are invaluable.

:p He can also grab plenty of the ball with half the oppositions side hanging off him.

Who would bother tagging Murphy or Gibbs :D

Actually the coach of the 2006 premiers saw fit to tag Murphy this year. Stenglein got the job & Murphy picked up a lazy 26 possessions. Thanks for asking.

Is this thread about McLean? I'm detecting a little insecurity. :)
I'd never even heard of him until I got onto BF. RJ is just talking him up for a spoof right? I mean, if I haven't heard of him b4 here, and there hasn't been any highlights shown of him up here, then he can't be any good, let alone as fantastic as this pro Melbourne crowd make out...correct?

I'm not sure if you watched any football matches in 2006, but Murph was tagged every game after his first. :)

You're not a tad worried that Murphy is a Haselby mini me, my feathered fiend ?:)

I expect our little Nathan Jones to give your small boy a run for his money in coming years.

As for the poll ? Presently, Murphy>Cooney>Deledio, but it wouldn't surprise me if the positions reversed as I believe that Deledio has the biggest upside.

It's way too early to tell, Murph has only had one year in the system, Deledio only two. Murphy easily had the best first year of the two. In his first 12 games, Murphy had 20+ disposals on 6 occasions, comparitively it took Deledio 30 games until he notched up his 6th 20 disposal game, and Cooney 27 games.

On what each has shown so far,
Murphy (although only 12 games, they were extremely impressive) > Cooney > Deledio.

Deledio has heaps of potential and upside, but just because he is a number one draft pick, does not mean he will live up to that potential.

Besides, Walker will be better than 3 of them, plus Mclean.

I'd never even heard of him until I got onto BF. RJ is just talking him up for a spoof right? I mean, if I haven't heard of him b4 here, and there hasn't been any highlights shown of him up here, then he can't be any good, let alone as fantastic as this pro Melbourne crowd make out...correct?

Unfortunately for you you're incorrect - McLean is teh best yuoung midfielder in teh comp thesedays - you queensland hicks don't really deserve to see him to be honest.

It's way too early to tell, Murph has only had one year in the system, Deledio only two. Murphy easily had the best first year of the two. In his first 12 games, Murphy had 20+ disposals on 6 occasions, comparitively it took Deledio 30 games until he notched up his 6th 20 disposal game, and Cooney 27 games.

On what each has shown so far,
Murphy (although only 12 games, they were extremely impressive) > Cooney > Deledio.

Deledio has heaps of potential and upside, but just because he is a number one draft pick, does not mean he will live up to that potential.

Besides, Walker will be better than 3 of them, plus Mclean.
Walker is a dead set hack compared to these players.

Seriously.

Walker is a dead set hack compared to these players.

Seriously.

Watch for Walker this year. Looks like Kouta back in the late 90's. Massive. Will become a champion in coming years.
Even opposition supporters will love watching him play.
Genuine top 25 player in the league by seasons end.
Will be great for all to watch!

Watch for Walker this year. Looks like Kouta back in the late 90's. Massive. Will become a champion in coming years.
Even opposition supporters will love watching him play.
Genuine top 25 player in the league by seasons end.
Will be great for all to watch!

You can say that about anyone and hype them up all you want, watch:

Richmond's highest KPP draft pick since Brad Ottens in the young Jay Schulz has put on the final bulk necessary to hold down FF/CHF. In all training practice matches he is dominating and if you were looking at this team for the first time you are likely to say that Jay Schulz is the stand out star player of the team. Most accurate kick, strongest mark, and no doubt he has everything it takes to make it and next year will take the competition by storm.

:p

..Richmond's highest KPP draft pick since Brad Ottens in the young Jay Schulz ...

Schulz is a Ray Hall like ordinary. The Tiges had ample opportunity to draft a quallity KP forward - Franklin a few years back, and this year had Sellar. Terry's drafting disasters are costing the Tiges big time. I note many BF Tiges fans are already getting sick of Terry's draft-bungle spins. :)

Franklin's more a forward pocket than a KPP but I do see your point - and tehre are serious mental concerns over Sellar, his cross dressing and his racist taunts but I agree that Riewoldt was a terrible choice.

With all due respect, but how would you possibly know? Explain why you think Riewoldt is a "terrible" pick without saying "hmm, well maybe everybody just THINKS he's good because of his name but they have never seen him play!"

Tambling was not a draft mistake, he was always going to take more time to come along. Give him next year at least.

And Parrot, that's a new low for stupidity. Schulz level with Ray Hall?

Ray Hall - Draft history: 1998 National AFL Draft 6th round selection (Richmond) No. 79 overall.

Jay Schulz - Draft history: 2002 National AFL Draft 1st round selection (Richmond) No. 12 overall

Hall was never going to be a superstar.

Schulz has been with us for just 4 seasons with many injuries lately and has a hell of a lot of potential. As a KPP I don't see why you would write him off, there's no reason why he won't be the next Fevola or of that calibre.

With all due respect, but how would you possibly know? Explain why you think Riewoldt is a "terrible" pick without saying "hmm, well maybe everybody just THINKS he's good because of his name but they have never seen him play!"

Tambling was not a draft mistake, he was always going to take more time to come along. Give him next year at least.

Ray Hall - Draft history: 1998 National AFL Draft 6th round selection (Richmond) No. 79 overall.

Jay Schulz - Draft history: 2002 National AFL Draft 1st round selection (Richmond) No. 12 overall

Schulz has been with us for just 4 seasons with many injuries lately and has a hell of a lot of potential. As a KPP I don't see why you would write him off, there's no reason why he won't be the next Fevola or of that calibre.

Fair enough, you're right I haven't seen heaps of Riewoldt, I'm just going by almost every mock draft I've seen and all the pre-draft info available.

So now you are saying that he could never become a superstar because he was taken so far down in the draft?

:D

So now you are saying that he could never become a superstar because he was taken so far down in the draft?

:D

I'm saying he was always unlikely to become great, I think it's good enough we managed 99 games and become a regular senior player despite being rated so poorly when he was younger.

The point is, nobody ever expected Hall to be super-successful.
Lots of people are expecting Jay Schulz to be a great player.

..Lots of people are expecting Jay Schulz to be a great player.

You are joiking? Jay is solid ordinary at best. have you actually seen this guy play in the forward line? Has no attributes that would worry any opposition, and usually gets assigned the opposition 3rd or 4th KP defender. The Tiges needed to draft Franklin or Sellar, but didn't :)