Non South Aussies, do you prefer the Crows or Power?

Adelaide or Port?

• Adelaide Crows

Votes: 65 67.0%
  • Port Adelaide Power

Votes: 32 33.0%

Was the inaugural Port list composed of the SANFL team list, more or less?
Some of it, then we got former Magpies back from other clubs, Wanganeen, Brown, Hodges.
Certainly more Magpies in the squad than from any other club.

I reckon Adelaides inaugural squad were 1/4 Magpies players too so we'd already been raided.

Missus goes for the Crows.

So Port
Stood next to a Crows supporter Saturday night and at the final siren he said he had to go home to his Port supporting Missus.
I said where you from?
Largs Bay, he says.
How you getting home?
Train he says.

Geepers mate, might be safer to crash at my joint.
We both laughed.

This may come as a surprise to some but I prefer the crows :) .
Living in Adelaide for a period of time and tolerating the Power supporters, it is Crows for me every day.

Power have little club syndrome and David Koch.
Also they have no identity, they want to be both Liverpool and Collingwood but are a sad imitation of both.

Moved to SA a couple of years ago, I much prefer the AFC in its current form.

I don't buy into the prison bar argument much as a Pies man so it is not because of that, it's just the personalities at Port that grate on me.
Bit of a perpetual victim complex, known downhill skiers and play the fake tough guy attitude a little to much.
Also feel like there's an identity crisis with what they used to be and what they actually are.

Probably more in vogue to hate on Port of late so maybe it's that 🤷‍♂️

I prefer the crows, they've had more players in their history that I've seen that I genuinely loved as players (McLeod, Ricciutio, Modra, Betts etc) and Insee them as the south Aussie version of the Eagles, plus I I love their home jumpers.

I do respect Port more however because of their history, in fact I respect Port more than any club in the whole comp (yes even you Vics) based on their history.

I detest w***ers who claim they aren't allowed to honour their past and claim it as the equal of any of the stuff Vic clubs did over a century ago (when Port would usually beat them anyway)....insecure Vic shit talk.

After having spent more and more time around Adelaide over the last few years from multiple long visits there, I have a real appreciation SA footy and genuinely hope for either one of their AFL clubs to win a flag soon and I'll be cheering hard for either one as long as it's not against my Eagles.

Easy choice for me. My wife is a mad Adelaide Crows supporter and my stepson worked for the crows as the data analyst (GPS in the back of the jumpers) and played in their reserves (development squad)

I'm both a North Melbourne and Adelaide crows member.

Port for me. Like a poster above I don’t buy in to the whole “who owns black and white stripes/bars” argument. If it were up to me I’d let Port wear their black and white jumpers for all games except for away games against Collingwood.

Port have a long and rich history - again I don’t really buy in to this separation of Port AFL v Port SANFL. Relative to Port I find Adelaide to be a manufactured entity (note this is a relative statement not an absolute one).

I also have preference towards some of Port’s current and historical players more so than Adelaide players. Treadrea is one of my favourite non-Collingwood players - he is criminally underrated in my book. The ‘04 flag was a great story of resilience - there was a massive risk that they were going to go through that period without a flag.

I found it hard to warm to the Adelaide premiership team. Not sure why that is - possibly because of Malcolm Blight (never warmed to him), possibly I found it hard to find many of those players likeable - D Jarman and McLeod aside.

Regards

S. Pete

I prefer the crows, they've had more players in their history that I've seen that I genuinely loved as players (McLeod, Ricciutio, Modra, Betts etc) and Insee them as the south Aussie version of the Eagles, plus I I love their home jumpers.

I do respect Port more however because of their history, in fact I respect Port more than any club in the whole comp (yes even you Vics) based on their history.

I detest w***ers who claim they aren't allowed to honour their past and claim it as the equal of any of the stuff Vic clubs did over a century ago (when Port would usually beat them anyway)....insecure Vic shit talk.

After having spent more and more time around Adelaide over the last few years from multiple long visits there, I have a real appreciation SA footy and genuinely hope for either one of their AFL clubs to win a flag soon and I'll be cheering hard for either one as long as it's not against my Eagles.

So what you're saying is "Duh, I hate Victorians"

Crows for me, my old man's side of the family were passionate Sturt supporters many moons ago and I know its AFL not SANFL but Port Adelaide the name is a big nope from me.

Port. Great club, great history. The SANFL should have supported their iniitial bid to join instead of creating a mock up state team. The AFL also hurt them by insisting they should abandon the history of the jumper and nickname. Would have a few more flags and could have become the biggest club in the country, instead of that WA franchise (and i have no doubt victorian jealousy over the eagles prominence led them to support collingwood wholeheartedly in retaking that mantle, absolutely screwing over any chance of equity amongst other vic clubs). Imagine how big an annual 'magpies' clash could be if so.

I loved Port in the SANFL, our Magpie cousins. The Port people meet are like Collingwood people, loyal and from a variety of interesting backgrounds.

Sure the Port AFL club was a new inception but its the same people and club culture, so emotionally they are the same creature from the same DNA. It's mean spirited to keep grating on about that, the idea of Port Adelaide is bigger than a piece of paper or an ABN.

I hope they get to wear their prison bars a bit mire. We are the black and white club in this league and we pay for most of it, so it was a flex by Eddie to make them wear blue or teal.

Ken is a dogged loyal man, they are a tough, sometimes brilliant club. We're similar enough that it's very easy for me to like Port.

Adelaide? Very middle class indeed. There isn't one SA club they derive from but somehow they are like Norwood. I knew Crows who drank red wine before games (GTFO with that nonsense) and told lies about Trav Cloke. It's not just "roid-in-frunna-meee", there is such a shoulder chip with the Crows. I put it down to footy culture, plenty of wonderful things about SA, the skills seem to be very high standard and its been a feature of most Crows side.

We've allowed more of the Crow-throw in handballing, its orettier even if its wrong. The Crow side hasn't been so understanding in my view, so it's harder to like them.

Guess you feel the same way about the Eagles and Dockers? Cos we didn't have any pre AFL history?

I mean the whole snobbishness around history was always silly to me. Every club was formed at some point. Being around for longer doesn't somehow make your club more real.
Very true but i still think in regards to Adelaide that Port are the more real and authentic footy club.

The Crows and the Eagles etc kind of are plastic/corporate franchises in terms of their origins, but that's fine every team has to start from somewhere and the competition had to go national eventually.

Unfortunately Carlton have spent the last thirty years trying to adjust to that fact!:laughv1:

Hard to like either. South Australians were the enemy when I grew up.

That being said if really pushed I'd probably say the Crows, very very marginally. I think I prefer their ex-players in the media and Kane does an excellent job of getting everyone to hate him and therefore his football team.

Equal disdain for both.

Only joking.
I'm all for any nonVic side winning the flag every year, without prejudice.

i don't mind Port unless they are playing us or a team i like more
Crows are my equivalent of what the Pies are to most opposition supporters can't stand them however they are a good side

Both clubs have rich histories, as does footy in SA. You don’t have the passion and rivalry that exists here without that.

The “plastic club” or “franchise” labels that get thrown at both clubs just comes from people who don’t actually know and understand the history, and haven’t really experienced footy in SA firsthand.

Both clubs have rich histories, as does footy in SA. You don’t have the passion and rivalry that exists here without that.

The “plastic club” or “franchise” labels that get thrown at both clubs just comes from people who don’t actually know and understand the history, and haven’t really experienced footy in SA firsthand.
GWS and Gold Coast are plastic nepo baby paid actor supported clubs Crows and Power have genuine passionate fanbases

Non South Aussies, do you prefer the Crows or Power?