2nds Official Swans Academy Thread (Player News and Discussion)

As per Membling post re Super 24 Series, here is a link to the livestream page for Sportscast on YouTube:

Looks to kick off at 10am this morning.

Schedule:
Today
U13 girls 11:00am
U13 boys 12:50pm
U15 girls 2:05pm
U15 boys 3:30pm

Tomorrow
U14 girls 11:00am
U14 boys 12:50pm
U13 girls 2:20pm
U13 boys 3:50pm

Thursday
U15 girls 10:00am
U15 boys 11:45am
U14 girls 1:45pm
U14 boys 3:20pm

Team list:

Shout out to the academy page on instagram, good content

Attachments

• Screenshot_20251007_092249_Instagram.jpg
    Screenshot_20251007_092249_Instagram.jpg
    174.1 KB · Views: 9
  • Screenshot_20251007_092301_Instagram.jpg
    Screenshot_20251007_092301_Instagram.jpg
    162.4 KB · Views: 8
  • Screenshot_20251007_092312_Instagram.jpg
    Screenshot_20251007_092312_Instagram.jpg
    173.5 KB · Views: 9
  • Screenshot_20251007_092321_Instagram.jpg
    Screenshot_20251007_092321_Instagram.jpg
    180.6 KB · Views: 15
  • Screenshot_20251007_092331_Instagram.jpg
    Screenshot_20251007_092331_Instagram.jpg
    179 KB · Views: 13
  • Screenshot_20251007_092341_Instagram.jpg
    Screenshot_20251007_092341_Instagram.jpg
    171.6 KB · Views: 14

swans 8.1 49
giants 9.8 62

Goals
2 Millington, 2 Trapman, Micheletti, Yebury, Theobold, Sheridan

Micheletti - slight onballer who found himself in the right place and made the right decisions. not yet gone through his growth spurt so one to watch

Boatman - same as above. Rotated on ball and flanks

Dametto - carry out of defence was nice. quick lateral movement

Sheridan - played everywhere and swans BOG for mine. Got a heap of ball and used it very well

Rose - liked what I saw in the firat with some bullish play at the ball but drifted out in the second

Millington - played as KPF and got into the right places and got doen the line for some relieving marks. good one on one.

Ferrier - bit of a utility type and played across a few positions. One to see how he develops

Trapman - played as a KPF and managed to get a few crumbing goals but did not look natural as if just came to his growth. Was played around the ground and looked far better. Will watch

u14s

Hard to gauge player performance due to growth disparity

swans 11.6 73
giants 6.12 48

Goals
3 Hicks, 2 Curry, Norris, Kim, Flynn, Fitzpatrick, Cramer, Tune

16 Willis - got better as game wore on. Good run and carry playing style
20 Lever - mid/flank with nice defensive efforts
24 Fitzpatrick - played onball, good footy iq
70 Murphy - back that read play very well and cut off heaps of play
71 Kim - solid for age group, hit contest well.
72 Hicks - hot start and was likely BOG for mine
74 Eguiguren- rucked fair portion of game. Good skills, terrible hair cut
75 Curry - dominant player in first and got friendly fire and not seen since first qtr
76 Blanch - played defence and mopped up everything.

Swans 10.10 70
GWS 4.11 41

2 Micheletti, 2 Lampret 2 Trickey, Yerbury, Kemister, Theobald, Millington

1.Micheletti - small in statute, clean skills and great footy iq. Will need groth spurt to be viable
12. McMahon - very good off of HBF and good foot skills
15. Dametto - inside mid, nice bit of mongrel. Seems to thrive with contact
54. Sheridan - nice user of footy, first half relatively slow start but was overall good
59. Kemister - run and gun off of HBF
60. Keam - player who has good traits. Looked to be playing at half speed. was better in u16s this year
63. Ferrier- attacks ball well and uses well. booming kick
89. Trickey - looks to have good forward craft. Marks at peak. Chases hard

Swans 6.6. 42
Giants 13.9. 87

Goals
2 88, 2 Eguiguren, isaac, Kim

16 Willis - strong tackler and very good user of the ball
22 Halliday - good lateral movement and disposal
24 Fitzpatrick - in/out mid. Got ball and used it well.
74 Eguiguren - Rucked for large part of game and was competitive. able to rest forward
88 ?? - good atletic profile. can read play and throw across def, ruck and fwd.

Thoughts:

Still a heap of development both in skills and physically so likely completely wrong on these thoughts.

Reckon the 2029 cohort will produce more draftable talent than the 2028 cohort.

Athletic profile of both 28/29 class looks better than the last few.

There are some small blokes in both teams that have exceptioanl skills but will need a growth spurt to be viable, Micheletti comes to mind.

Swans 10.10 70
GWS 4.11 41

2 Micheletti, 2 Lampret 2 Trickey, Yerbury, Kemister, Theobald, Millington

1.Micheletti - small in statute, clean skills and great footy iq. Will need groth spurt to be viable
12. McMahon - very good off of HBF and good foot skills
15. Dametto - inside mid, nice bit of mongrel. Seems to thrive with contact
54. Sheridan - nice user of footy, first half relatively slow start but was overall good
59. Kemister - run and gun off of HBF
60. Keam - player who has good traits. Looked to be playing at half speed. was better in u16s this year
63. Ferrier- attacks ball well and uses well. booming kick
89. Trickey - looks to have good forward craft. Marks at peak. Chases hard
Do you know if the bulk of GWS players from their country catchments or actually from Western Sydney?

So they clearly are not making headway with their junior development in Sydney with the heavy lifting in their academy done by clubs in traditional AFL heart land. Kinda makes a mockery of their raison d'etre.

Definitely need to put a bit more out west proper as being hugely bouyed by Riverina/Murray kids.

swans 8.1 49
giants 9.8 62

Goals

Micheletti - slight onballer who found himself in the right place and made the right decisions. not yet gone through his growth spurt so one to watch

Sheridan - played everywhere and swans BOG for mine. Got a heap of ball and used it very well

Rose - liked what I saw in the firat with some bullish play at the ball but drifted out in the second

Millington - played as KPF and got into the right places and got doen the line for some relieving marks. good one on one.

Ferrier - bit of a utility type and played across a few positions. One to see how he develops

Trapman - played as a KPF and managed to get a few crumbing goals but did not look natural as if just came to his growth. Was played around the ground and looked far better. Will watch
As you said Trapman looked better when playing around the ground
swans 8.1 49
giants 9.8 62

Goals

I think if I’m not mistaken Sheridan and Trapman both want to Melbourne the week before and played in the national flying boomerangs vs world team,

Sheridan(World team)-strong in the mids racking up 16 disposals, consistent performance for 4 quarters. I think he could play even better.

Trapman(Boomerangs)-played in the backs and rucked.got 15 disposals and got a goal in my opinion looked better coming off the half back line, did a good job in the hit outs although under size for a ruck at the moment

As you said Trapman looked better when playing around the ground

I think if I’m not mistaken Sheridan and Trapman both want to Melbourne the week before and played in the national flying boomerangs vs world team,

Sheridan(World team)-strong in the mids racking up 16 disposals, consistent performance for 4 quarters. I think he could play even better.

Trapman(Boomerangs)-played in the backs and rucked.got 15 disposals and got a goal in my opinion looked better coming off the half back line, did a good job in the hit outs although under size for a ruck at the moment

Yup, both played in those games.

Trapman isn't a KPP IMO. Does his best work when allowed to roam

I heard (3rd hand) Aiden McCarntney is 99% to join north as FS….

If it was a contenting VIC club I would get it, but north……

I guess it’s only fair after Blakey

I heard (3rd hand) Aiden McCarntney is 99% to join north as FS….

If it was a contenting VIC club I would get it, but north……

I guess it’s only fair after Blakey
Probably for the best, we'd get another trade ban.

Though I thought Aiden had been odds on for North for a while

2nds Official Swans Academy Thread (Player News and Discussion)