May 8, 2003
Hamish Paradise
Islanders, Nuggets
Or lack of.
Over the last decade or so we have mastered the art of turning promising players into camels.
Look back at the likes of Black, Bastinac, Wood, and even more recently Ahern. To name but a few. There are heaps more.
Guys come in, show a bit, and then either plateau or fall off a cliff. You could even argue McDonald has done it. Thomas?
Looking at current team it is happening again.
Taylor - better player first year than now
Scott - better player first game than now
Curtis - having a stinker of a second season
Powell - natural ball winning mid first season, can't find it now
Perez - better player in first game than now
McKay- shown plenty but now looks awful (may have checked out)
Phillips - been real unlucky and not writing him off at all, but right now is just going
Ford - showed potential and now nowhere seemingly
Edwards - much hyped and looks like never seen a footy before
Lazzarro - showed a bit early and gone backwards
CCJ - showed potential at Tiges (also we way overpaid), showing nothing at North

I didn't list Mahony because I don't reckon he ever looked much chop TBH. Same with Spicer

Larkey, LDU and Zurhaar notable exceptions.

Our trading and drafting has been pretty average, and our development worse. No wonder we're awful.

Trading and drafting are part of it also compared to other clubs we just don’t haven’t had enough quality on field leaders/mentors to help with nurturing/protecting new recruits.

It’s all culture. They start off fighting tooth and nail to play, but slowly regress to “near enough is good enough.” They have the ability and when they apply themselves, ala pre and post coach sacking, first games of the year etc, they can win games of footy.

But deeply ingrained in this group is a coasting mentality. This is what clarko and his crew will be trying to fix.

We draft the wrong type of players and try to make them something they’re not.

1.Mahony
2.Lazzaro
3.Taylor
4.Turner
5.Young
6.Bonar
7.CCJ

^^^= not AFL footballers

1.phillips
2.Powell
3.Perez

^^^= slow to spread

1. Goater
2.Bergman
3.Sheezel
4.Wardlaw
5.Curtis

^^^= all look like modern day AFL footballers and will flourish with exposure.