Random thoughts not worthy of a thread (Part I)

I could write pages about what a shit Scullion is. Everything from cutting Aboriginal legal Services and follow up programs when blackfellas are released from jail to turning the Tiwi Islands into a military base without telling the locals. In the process wrecking one of the few successful indigenous industries (their forestry project) in the country. It appears that expanding the Tiwi port to facilitate timber and woodchip export from the island was actually a cover to build a humungous US base. Last i heard the woodchip industry there was cactus. And the Land Council were in hock to some foreign company building the port even tho the expansion has delayed things so much the industry is collapsing. The LC were relying on it to pay back the cost of the port.

When the CDP came in under Scullion Work for the Dole requirements for people in remote communities were set at 25 hrs a week, 52 weeks a year as opposed to 16 hrs a week, 26 weeks a year for people in regional centres or anywhere else in Australia. So you work every week (with what seems like no holidays at all) for wages that are less than half the award wage. Or move to towns (where there is no work anyway usually) so you can spend less time slaving but have less iopportunity but more exposure to socially destructive situations. Forcing indigenous people into remote towns which always leads to increases in violence, drug and alcohol abuse and social dislocation. And to the removal of children from families - something thats already reaching higher rates in places than during stolen generation times.

99 yr leases that directly undermine the 1976 land Rights act that was passed by Fraser, after being started by Whitlam. Is it hard to take seriously the idea that 40 years ago Australian governments treated indigenous people more fairly (and with bipartisanship) than they do today?

Blah blah its all been said before repeatedly by others.

Back in 1999 I was devastated when Waverley was closed and Docklands was going to be used in 2000.
Primarily due to the fact I was 9 at the time and during the year Channel 7 heavily promoted Docklands in the ad breaks during the footy telecasts.
So much so that it had me believing you could only attend football at Docklands if you have a Medallion Club Membership, which I think was worth $500 annually.
Fair to say the old lady told me no way am I going to games at Docklands.
I believed it for 2 years.

Wasnt until a kids clinic in the lead up to finals in 2001, that was held at Docklands that I attended and saw the ticket pricing board outside gate 7.
There was GA for kids at $2.20. I was fuming. Those motherf**kers at Medallion.

Funny how all these years later and nothing has changed re my attitude to Docklands and the stadium deal they screw us with. Flogs.

Back in 1999 I was devastated when Waverley was closed and Docklands was going to be used in 2000.
Primarily due to the fact I was 9 at the time..............

shaking.gif

One thing this site is good at is making a person feel bloody old!

Happens to all of us Toes. Im already older than half the North list :/
Haha. I use to tell myself that I wasn't old until I was older than everyone on North's list at the time.

Might have ended when Arch retired.

Now I'm older than Boomer by a few years. Big gap when he retires :(

Haha. I use to tell myself that I wasn't old until I was older than everyone on North's list at the time.

Might have ended when Arch retired.

Now I'm older than Boomer by a few years. Big gap when he retires :(
Yeh its a real good comparison tool for defining your 'peak years' so to say.
Wait till the day you're years older than the North coach!

old-man-crying.gif
I actually envy those who saw flags in the 90s with players their age. Would feel more special. Hence why I want this current group to achieve something.

Good Morning all.

Only a few weeks to go now; thank god.

Some flog in the dining facility washed the salad in the local tap water. Massive dose of gastro is not what was needed so close to the end.

However on a brighter note, does anyone know if the Club has a function room that can be hired for birthdays? The wife has decided that having my 50th while away was not a suitable celebration for officially turning old. I immediately thought of North when she suggested it, I could wear my uber-cool jacket and the brother in law could be the comedy act for the night and wear his Pies one.

Cheers

If you were 20 again what would you do different? Give us some advice to go on with my life

I'd play minor county cricket in England, as I could have but turned down, and be far less serious with my girlfriend and instead maximise the single partying days while I can. I also wouldn't stress nearly as much over uni course choices thinking I had to be locked into one field so early. There's plenty of time to narrow it down. I'd also probably put away some dough consistently to catch up to the mates who opted for a trade and owned their first homes by their early 20's while I pissed my spare change up against nightclub urinals.

I was 31 FFS.

I turned 30 that year. He's still not that old!

Awesome party. I still have fires in the pit we dug for the hungi.

1999 was a very intense year actually. Some full on things happened round here. It was the PMT. Best new years party at the end of the year tho.