Autopsy Roast and toast vs Geelong and changes for West Coast

Best

I've been on the Ross IN train for a while as a midfielder, people scoffed at me. Anyone care to take it back? Thought he was pretty good at the weekend.

Baker should just remain a midfielder. But who replaces him?

For me it's Stack.

What our best side (probably) looks like...

Grimes, Tarrant, Broad
Vlastuin, Balta, D. Rioli
McIntosh, Cotchin, Pickett
Lambert, Riewoldt, Edwards
Martin, Lynch, Bolton
Nankervis, Prestia, Ross
Stack, Baker, Graham, Short

emg/ Soldo, Gibcus, Ralphsmith, one of M. Rioli/Castagna
It's funny how playing an inside mid as an inside mid lifts their output. No idea why we tried him on the wing. Literally the most opposing midfield positions.

Bit of an ill informed take there. Higgins has been injured/KO'd twice this year and still managed 19 goals in 8 1/2 games. Ditto Butler who had a bad ankle injury a few weeks back.

Butler was instrumental for us in '17 then started playing like a millionaire so there were reasons. St Kilda pretty much let him do the same thing and he proved to be a great get for them. Higgins is the one we've missed. His head stuff aside would definitely have him back, great little natural footballer.

Butler had one very good year at Saints and back to Butler of old since then, running around like a headless chook making mistakes galore… he has been pretty hopeless for 18-months at Saints. He’s no loss. Higgins is too selfish, runs forward of the ball and doesn’t defend, so despite kicking goals has just been banished to Saints VFL team. Forwards who don’t defend and who constantly run forward of the contest don’t belong in modern footy. So no great loss there and we got a some nice draft capital for him.

Our list management decisions have been pretty flawless IMO. Moving on fringe players with some draft value (Ellis, Chol, CCJ, Butler, Higgins) is what boosted up our draft hand, enabling us to take 5 x picks in the top-30 and another 3 x picks in top-30 this year. That’s unbelievable for a triple flag team to take 8 x players top-30 over just 2 x drafts.

Then helping fringe players get opportunity elsewhere like Townsend and Markov, clearing out salary cap in the meantime.

Then the well spaced retirements of our champs to free up heaps of cap space : Houli, Astbury, Caddy, Edwards (likely this year), Cotch and Jack (next year).

And finally the salary cap easing as Dusty, Prestia and Lynch end their big money deals in 2024-25, enabling us to afford Bolton, Baker, Balta, Short, Rioli etc….

Whether our top-30 picks are good enough to get us back to the top sooner rather than later who knows, but we’ve given ourselves a chance via brilliant list management.

Just a question with no ill intent, but are we playing Edwards just to get him to 300 games at this point?

Looked clean at times and showed a bit of his class, but still isn't doing it enough I don't think to warrant a walk up start.

He’s better than Clarke, MRJ, Aarts, Castagna Stack or Cumberland at this stage. So whilst wins remain our priority he should play… don’t mind if it’s sub on occasions depending on team balance.

If we fall out of finals contention and wins aren’t a priority then still happy to show him the respect of playing out the season. Behind Dusty IMO he has been our best finals (all finals) player across our flag era. He was the catalyst for turning the Brisbane QF around in 2019. He was close to NS in 2017 and in the votes in 2020 (27 with 9 clearances).

We are no worse off playing him than anyone else right now, and in fact he’s a better option than anyone who’d replace him.

I think we learnt a lot about what our structure should be for the rest of the year:
Bolton and Dusty play predominantly forward with Lynch. Riewoldt to work on the flank, take a backman out of the 50 and create space.
Baker and Ross as full time mids in rotation with Prestia, Cotch, Graham.

Bolton is the livewire small forward we are desperate for. If we move the ball quickly with the Riolis our forward line will be so dangerous with the big 3 operating in space.

If Ross can continue as a mid it gives us so much more flexibility.

I’m unsure about the two rucks. It probably comes down to how the other team shapes up.

Clarke was awful and should have been dropped which goes back to the coaches not seeing this. Tarrant is a no future player with Sheds so why play them as they're accumulating losses for s which young kids at least would be benefiting experience. KDH has always been a moron and nothing has changed and will change unless he's supported with quality assistances.

First sentence: “Clarke was awful and should be dropped.

Next sentence: “why play Tarrant and Sheds when young kids at least would benefit from experience”

I hope you’re trolling because if not I wish you only good fortune with whatever ails you old chap.

Jack Ross needs to bulk up if he’s gonna be an inside mid

The Geelong player shrugged him off like he was nothing and lead to their match winner

Yes, it was a shame that he went to his knees and was out of the contest at that last game deciding clearance. If he kept his feet he could have tackled or blocked. He played well though and he’s not to blame.

But I do think at that last vital centre bounce it should have been only experienced players in there whether it be Dusty, Bolton, Baker, Short or Graham with Nank.

Finally someone else noticed

He was poor, but was very stiff to have what would have been likely a match winning goal after his speccy denied by the scumps. He also laid the tackle that should have been HTB but gave Clarke his goal. So if he is paid the mark and paid HTB, he ends with 2 goals in a close win and he’s had a pretty good game. But I agree, it was his worst game for the year.

With respect to the Clarke goal, did anyone see the unbelievably obvious high around the neck free against De Koning that Lynch should have received? Just amazing anyone could have missed it.

I'm actually surprised they didn't give a high free against Lynch on TDK in that incident.

Reverse angle shows that Lynch's arm/hand slips high as well.

Except we are dropping a tall in Gibcus and not replacing him with a tall defender. Fraught with Danger imo if Tarrant or Grimes were to go down in game.

I don't think it matters as much if Broad plays on an oppo tall like Darling.

Think we saw vs Geelong that if Tarrant takes 1 KPF (Hawkins last week, Kennedy this week) and Broad takes the other (Cameron last week and potentially Darling this week), Gibcus doesn't have a clear position or role to play, and was largely unsighted for the game.

Everyone seems to have cashed in the four points against the Suns at Metricon the week after as well?????
That is even more of a danger game than WC. We should be far too strong for them but we couldn't even beat Adelaide at home.

I'll be nervous until we're in front at the final siren.

ok i didn't realise docs were so heavily involved, i thought being sore and missing the next game was acceptable cheers.
Been a few earlier in the season that have come under severe cramp but no clubs have tried it for a number of weeks so got a feeling it wouldn’t fly now

hammy/calf tightness has one that has been milked a bit for mine

a week off is just disguised as injury but its really player rotation/management.

In Stack Cumberland Mansell
Out Gibcus Prestia Clark

Real pity about RCD and Dows form as one of them should ideally be coming in to replace prestia
Feel like Pickett should go into the centre with Ross and Short
Rioli to the wing with Mansell and Baker in the backline
Really feel like we need to bring in a Miller or Biggie for Soldo
How do we drop Gibcus with no Balta?
Definitely places up for grabs and our seconds players out there staking a claim.
Can't say I have felt this buoyant about a year before while we are sitting ninth

Yeah I wonder how we would of gone if we had Weitering, Pittonet, Marchbank, McGovern, Cerra, Williams, Martin and Cuningham against you guys last week?
Did they all get KOd during the first quarter last week? :$

**** off campaigner. Martin played a full game just about and was horrendous for 99% of it. Also.....Cunningham? :straining:

Autopsy Roast and toast vs Geelong and changes for West Coast