Autopsy Roast & Toast v Suns & Changes for ANZAC Eve

Top 5 v Gold Coast

I've been very critical of three players in particular (McIntosh, Short, Rioli) with more than a little justification, but I thought all three were excellent tonight.

McIntosh had a few fumbles here and there, but he made it extremely tough for any GC players in his vicinity and I thought his disposal was pretty good all night. His best game for the year and probably a couple of years.

Short went back to the way he played against Carlton. Head over the ball and doing the little things that he should be doing every week and while there was a clanger here or there, they were the exception rather than the rule last night. I'd like to see him pushing forward more often to be a genuine danger within 60 metres of goal.

Rioli played his best game but the club. His pressure was phenomenal and he showed how he can create something our of nothing with his evasive footwork out of congestion. He did over possess a couple of times, but I thought that he looked as much a midfielder as I've ever seen him look tonight.

If Mansell comes in next week I reckon it will be Green who makes way. It's bad luck and he had some good moments but I can't see him keeping his spot over Campbell or Rioli on last night's game.
Have to admit my perception of Mcintosh, Rioli and Short was the same as yours and like you I think they all contributed last night. I hope Green is not dropped because his defensive work last night was not as spectacular as Rioli’s it was critical in keeping the GC midfield relatively quiet. Unfortunately his disposal let him down. I still don’t see why Mcintosh gets a game. He is not better than the likes of Sonsie or McAulif and he doesn’t have a future.

I’d play Ryan again
The positive about having Kosi and Ryan is the draftees would’ve had a good look at em at training and match Simms.
If you get dropped for Kosi or Ryan, you need to go and have a good look at yourself.

Just wanted to say Seth Campbell is pushing towards A grade status.

And when Tassie come after him, if he has to go, we want a very very early first rounder as a minimum.
kids definitely made huge progression this year, his development is leading the pack in what's to come.
His extension contract is going to show a reward for his hard work

Damien barret will be discussing why Noah balta shouldn’t have played last night on the Sunday footy show

Did i just hear right - did Tony Jones on the CH9 footy show say he refuses to give Balta votes because he shouldn't have played?

Excuse me?
he is a fat old karen woman masquerading as a fat middle aged bloke

Hard to know who should come out as after with a five day break; there’ll be some sore bodies.

Ryan was not good, but don’t underestimate how it helped Nank, who I thought became more and more prominent as the night went on.

Wouldn’t be surprised if they stick with Ryan with Gawn being so pivotal. I don’t think playing Blight will have the same impact on wearing down Gawn; and it’s a big ask for Sims (who only rucks in the forward 50 at VFL level) as a first gamer.

Mansell comes back; think that they’ll ‘manage’ Trainor and move Green to the sub if no other required changes.

It was hilarious. Lynch got into Andrew and Collins head from the start.
It really set the tone for the rest of the match as well
Lynch put the target on himself and not only did it rev up all the other players it took the heat off the likes of Faull who just could play his role without the extra attention

Lynch’s leadership has been massive this year

Loved the win, Q3 was particularly enjoyable when we took our chances.
  • Lalor is going to be a star - he is unselfish, doing simple things (like long handballs back to the QB) that most young #1 draft picks refuse to do because it's not a highlight. Might do a Dusty and never play a game in the VFL.
  • Faull has promise - like most people, I was shocked by that kick at goal that hit the top of the post. If that wasn't a fluke, we've got a very dangerous player who can mark on the edge of 50 and kick goals.
  • Banks, Campbell, Tresize - all good games from younger players
  • Vlaustin, Broad, Balta - wow, just wow. They are all premiership heroes and they showed Mac Andrew what it means to be bigger and tougher than their opponent.
  • Lynch - love the mongrel. Laughed my head off at some of his antics last night.

Go Tigers!

Damien Barret 'By playing Balta, I will not be taking Richmond seriously on any stance it takes in the near future'. (paraphrased)

Yeah ok Damo. When we next play the Alannah and Madeline Foundation game vs Stk and Foodbank Charity game vs Collingwood, it's good to know you won't be taking the causes seriously.

Interesting to see how we are going about our rebuild. We have so much more young players to play in our senior side, but who comes out?

Would love to see McAuliffe get a go, think he has so much upside and he is a quick big bodied mid.

Mansell will come back, you'd think he replaces one of our kids. Green most likely you'd think.

Ryan is a concern, but we just have no one else to help Nank atm. Nank is going to need help against Gawn next week. Can't fast track Sims quick enough right now. He will be a perfect 2nd ruck replacement.

Still have the likes of Blight, Smillie, Fawcett, Armstrong & Hotton when both recover from injury.

We have so much youth waiting atm, club is definitely trying to develop them in the VFL now it seems.

I turned on to watch it. Barrett trying to be the moral compass on the panel. What a muppett.
Barrett - “I’m not going to listen to anything else that club says” (talking about playing Balta.)

Guess what flog - no one listens to you now and haven’t for the past 10 years.

Not even a journalist- he doesn’t get any goss, inside info or conduct interviews because no one in the industry trusts or likes him. Just another hanger on flog with zero credibility. Don’t know how he’s got a job.

Damien Barret 'By playing Balta, I will not be taking Richmond seriously on any moral stance it takes in the near future'. (paraphrased)

Yeah ok Damo. When we next play the Alannah and Madeline Foundation game vs Stk and Foodbank Charity game vs Collingwood, it's good to know you won't be taking the causes seriously.

Quality bloke.
Think it was actually smart by the club playing him this week as well

The media would of had a dip even if we waited until next week but now the bandaid is off and it won’t be the big story coming into ANZAC eve

Hard to know who should come out as after with a five day break; there’ll be some sore bodies.

Ryan was not good, but don’t underestimate how it helped Nank, who I thought became more and more prominent as the night went on.

Wouldn’t be surprised if they stick with Ryan with Gawn being so pivotal. I don’t think playing Blight will have the same impact on wearing down Gawn; and it’s a big ask for Sims (who only rucks in the forward 50 at VFL level) as a first gamer.

Mansell comes back; think that they’ll ‘manage’ Trainor and move Green to the sub if no other required changes.
what makes gawn so good is his around the ground aerial dominance. who better to curb that than a defender masquerading as a ruckman?
blight is physically big enough to hold him out and one of the fittest at the club, so can go with him aerobically. just saying.

Autopsy Roast & Toast v Suns & Changes for ANZAC Eve