Showdown Crowd

Mad Dog said:
My wife, Dad, and daughter all refuse to come to power Showdowns for the fear factor Nik.

It's a pretty sad state of affairs....:thumbsd:

And I will not go to a Crows game again after I went with friends who supported Cats. Crows fans were shocking

All teams have those supporters we all wish would crawl into a hole.

I have been watching both Port and Crows games all year. Except for the last 4 weeks the Crows have been playing some pretty exciting football! Port games on the other hand, except when the opposition has blown them out of the water, have been as boring as bat sh!!t. Port's skills have been pretty ordinary and it seems they bring teams down to their same level, hence the boring scrappy games.

If it wasn't for the fact that my husband supports Port and wanted to go to the game I probably wouldn't have gone! I like to see good footy being played, and I'm afraid most games featuring Port aren't that exciting!!

Also, there are heaps of other things at this time of year that people are spending their money on. i.e. Royal Show, recent increase in interest rates, shows like The Boy from Oz. There were also a number of amateur league finals games on Sunday (when they normally play Saturday), and 12.40pm games are a rush to get too with kids playing footy games Sunday mornings around 10 or 11am. I would have been interesting to see how many Port fans would have gone if it was a Crows home game!

There are heaps of Port fans that aren't season ticket holders (actually every Port support I know bar 1), so why didn't they buy tickets either, it goes both ways!!!

I think it was a combination of both. We're Cat 1 Members and there was so more space in the Members than I can remember this season. We usually line up when gates open, grab a front row seat and the first few rows will be filled within an hour. Yesterday there were actually spare seats in the front row for the entire game. That suggests to me that Cat 1 and Cat 3 Members didn't show.

And there were plenty of spare seats in the Northern stand, which suggests Crows fans didn't snap up all of the daily tickets.

As suggested above, it's hard to get to every game this time of the year. Me and the family will be missing from the Melbourne game (first home game I haven't been able to attend this year) because we've got our own Grand Final to play. If it was a minor round game, I'd be down at Footy Park, but I can't skip out on the big one.

Most of the "missings" were in the members. Whos supporters were missing? Anyones guess in that section. Seemed to be a lot less Crows supporters in the members than usual. Was hoping we'd run into the clown who was sitting above the Port bench at the final last year. Wasnt to be.

Outer was obviously Port supporters not showing up.

Mad Dog said:
My wife, Dad, and daughter all refuse to come to power Showdowns for the fear factor Nik.

It's a pretty sad state of affairs....:thumbsd:

Has anyone ever actually seen any violence at a Showdown before? The way some people here are acting you think all Port supporters come with crow bars and chains and start riots each time.

Ive sat everywhere except the new stand for a Showdown and the worst violence ive seen was two females pulling hair around Showdown 4. Oh yeah, that and me being spat on by a Crow supporter in Showdown 1. Must have been a Port supporter in disguise :rolleyes:

Macca19 said:
I think thats pathetic. But thats just me.

In my experience you are generally treated how you treat others. I have never had anyone say or do anything to me in a negative way at the football ever. And I've been to a hell of a lot of Crows games, including showdowns.

I know there will be occasions where innocents are targeted for no reason but I reckon you'd have to be very unlucky.

Mind you, sitting near others that are fighting or abusing each other can be pretty frightening, especially to a child, so I can understand people not wanting to expose family to that.

I witnessed some violence. I am not saying this to be anti crows or anything. Certain crows supporters were not happy with the result (1 min before final siren). They started abusing Power supporters, then got physical when other Power supporters started sticking up for each other. Just so you know, it was the idiots with the "our nest our rules" banner.

Funny, could have sworn it was our home game.

There was a near fight after a idiot Port supporters throwing their McDonalds at Crows supporters on the way back to the shopping centre carpark. And things started to get a little physical, just a few pushes and shoves. No punches thrown. And I saw two Crows fans being escorted out of the ground by security at half time. So every team has it's ferals. There were also a group of Crows fans baiting the Port Cheer Squad in the last few minutes of the game which got the attention of security.

My friend refuses to take her children to Showdowns, but would do the same if she was a Power fan. The atmosphere can get pretty scary in the Members because no matter whose home game it is, you're always surrounded by a mix of supporters no matter whose home game it is. It doesn't get violent, but there's a lot of abuse thrown and I can understand why some people would feel too uncomfortable bringing their family.

I know supporters of both teams have feral people - all clubs do. But at Port home games against Adelaide, it's all kinds of feral, disgusting kind of feral.

Foul language from parents & their children. I don't care about language but it's disgusting hearing all game, especially from children. What kind of parents would let their children openly use such colorful language?

I don't really appreciate getting abused because I am wearing an Adelaide guernsey, when I didn't say anything in the first place. I guess that one is to be expected though - but, a couple years ago, I wore a guernsey that had '2' on the back when Carey was playing, got food & drink bottles thrown at me and was spat on by a few people (when once again I had said nothing), all because apparently Carey is a ****er.

Who the hell wants to pay at least $30 to put up with that ****!

If there were Adelaide supporters that don't want to go - good on them, they shouldn't be 'forced' into going by some article from that little rat Rucci. Port Adelaide home games are not exactly what you would call enjoyable, win or loss.

I am by no means saying there are not feral Adelaide supporters - every team has ferals, and shock horror so do Adelaide.. There were some Adelaide supporters that were pretty embaressing baiting some Port supporters which was unneccesary.
But, if people aren't going to go to the match for a Port Adelaide home game, then who really cares, it's not an issue. If they can't sell out their own home game, that is plain and simple their problem.

**** said:
In my experience you are generally treated how you treat others. I have never had anyone say or do anything to me in a negative way at the football ever. And I've been to a hell of a lot of Crows games, including showdowns.

I know there will be occasions where innocents are targeted for no reason but I reckon you'd have to be very unlucky.

Mind you, sitting near others that are fighting or abusing each other can be pretty frightening, especially to a child, so I can understand people not wanting to expose family to that.

Sure. I agree it can be a very frightening experience. Two worst things ive seen have been a 60-70 year old Port supporter get wrestled to the ground and kicked in the face at a Port v Centrals match, and a Port supporter, who was with his 3-4 year old child, get king hit from behind just walking out the Adelaide Oval gates by a gang of Norwood skinheads, who were doing that every week in 2001 until they got caught by police. Seeing a bloke laying lifeless on the ground with his kid standing next to him crying is not good. Only last week the Sturt cheersquad has come under investigation for assualt on a South supporter.

What I cant stand is people making all Port supporters to sound like crazed maniac thugs, when the simple truth is, EVERY club has smartarses who mouth off and EVERY club has ********s that look for trouble. Crows supporters are definately NOT void of this group. So I choose to take all the 'Gee you should have seen what the Port supporters did today' point scoring talk with the respect that it deserves.

lozstar said:
I know supporters of both teams have feral people - all clubs do. But at Port home games against Adelaide, it's all kinds of feral, disgusting kind of feral.

Foul language from parents & their children. I don't care about language but it's disgusting hearing all game, especially from children. What kind of parents would let their children openly use such colorful language?

I don't really appreciate getting abused because I am wearing an Adelaide guernsey, when I didn't say anything in the first place. I guess that one is to be expected though - but, a couple years ago, I wore a guernsey that had '2' on the back when Carey was playing, got food & drink bottles thrown at me and was spat on by a few people (when once again I had said nothing).

Who the hell wants to pay at least $30 to put up with that ****!

If there were Adelaide supporters that don't want to go - good on them, they shouldn't be 'forced' into going by some article from that little rat Rucci. Port Adelaide in their own habitat is not somewhat enjoyable.

I am by no means saying there are not feral Adelaide supporters - every team has ferals, and shock horror so do Adelaide.. But, if people aren't going to go to the match for a Port Adelaide home game, then who really cares, it's not an issue. If they can't sell out their own home game, that is plain and simple their problem.

I know a neutral supporter who works at aami stadium who says crows supporters are far more abusive/feral. I've had my fair share of idiot crows supporters abuse me, but I refuse to put up with it and retaliate. Within the rules of course. That's not to say we don't have ferals, because we do. But crows supporters are responsible for as much feral and childish behaviour as Port supporters.

PAFC2004 said:
I know a neutral supporter who works at aami stadium who says crows supporters are far more abusive/feral. I've had my fair share of idiot crows supporters abuse me, but I refuse to put up with it and retaliate. Within the rules of course. That's not to say we don't have ferals, because we do. But crows supporters are responsible for as much feral and childish behaviour as Port supporters.
Like I said, both teams have their fair share of ferals. I haven't seen any Adelaide supporters say/do anything, I was just saying what I had seen personally etc. Even though I know there are instances where Crows supporters are trouble makers - but like I said was just saying it from my point of view that Port home game Showdown's are not somewhat comfortable to be at. I can completely understand why people wouldn't want to go. I guess some Port supporters would be the same when it is an Adelaide home game

lozstar said:
Like I said, both teams have their fair share of ferals. I haven't seen any Adelaide supporters say/do anything, I was just saying what I had seen personally etc. Even though I know there are instances where Crows supporters are trouble makers - but like I said was just saying it from my point of view that Port home game Showdown's are not somewhat comfortable to be at. I can completely understand why people wouldn't want to go. I guess some Port supporters would be the same when it is an Adelaide home game

I think such people are just making excuses. I know that I will have to endure abuse going to showdowns, but I deal with it. I just give it back. I'm not one to cause trouble for no reason.

PAFC2004 said:
I know a neutral supporter who works at aami stadium who says crows supporters are far more abusive/feral.

Funny you should say that. I have a friend who works in the police force and regularly patrols the games at AAMI. He says the opposite of you and that he prefers doing Crows games because he actually gets to watch the game rather than the crowd. He's a Port fan no less. But really, we could go on all day about which crowds are worse and it's all heresay, or one's word against another. What's the point?

PAFC2004 said:
I know that I will have to endure abuse going to showdowns, but I deal with it. I just give it back. I'm not one to cause trouble for no reason.

So you do abuse people at the football. You are a feral. Make no mistake about it. You are as guilty as anyone.

**** said:
So you do abuse people at the football. You are a feral. Make no mistake about it. You are as guilty as anyone.
Ever heard of banter? It happens at the SANFL every week.

I have been to every showdown and have never witnessed any real trouble, I also love my SANFL and I can tell you what happens at the showdown is quite timid compared to a few SANFL games I have been too this year.

Macca19 said:
Has anyone ever actually seen any violence at a Showdown before?

Me - I'm not fussed - people usually don't look at me twice - and plus I tend to go with my brother in law who makes me look like a midget....:D ....but my 67 year old dad had 2 beers knocked out of his hand 2 years ago because he dared to question whether a port power supporter should be ****ing in the bin against the far wall outside the Goalkickers Bar.

My (then) 7 year old daughter was spat on by a toothless female heroin addict look-alike from the front row of the undercover seating as we left after the Round 20 game last year. Unfortunately this hag was a great shot and the loogy landed in her hair....:thumbsd: :mad: Fair enough she was set upon by fellow port power supporters who let her know that was unacceptable - but impressions are lasting sometimes.

.....so hardly violence - but some people would prefer the sanity of their loungeroom than mingling with the swill.

What gets me is supporters of either team who are there with their kids and still act like complete tossers - abusing opposition players and supporters. What kind of example are they setting?

FWIW, I've seen this a number of times from all types of supporters: Port, Adelaide, St Kilda, Collingwood and others. A St Kilda supporter threatened me because I had the temerity to support an umpire's decision that was favourable to us on the basis that he 'was not talking to me'. FFS, that sort of banter goes on all the time at a game. When people get aggressive in the face of it, we have a problem.

Personally, I reckon the whole "hatred" thing is overstated. Sure there's the rabid minority - but that's the case at a lot of sporting contests.

I've been to most Showdowns (including Sunday's, unfortunately) ... and it's all been pretty lightweight stuff. Occasionally someone will say something that gives me the ****s and my blood boils for a few moments. But it's usually forgotten not long after the final siren.

I would admit it's often not an ideal weekend outing for the kids. Plenty of foul language being thrown around (from both clubs).

Personally never really seen much at the Showdowns I have been at a bit of verbals is the most really, which all pales into nothing compared to the Pies Prelim Final at the G of 2002. I have never been scared for my family's safety at an AFL game before or since but I was that day, absolutely disgusting behavoir that day and not just from the fans the Victorian police basically took the day off at the ground that day.:thumbsd:

Punchy Bassett said:
Personally never really seen much at the Showdowns I have been at a bit of verbals is the most really, which all pales into nothing compared to the Pies Prelim Final at the G of 2002. I have never been scared for my family's safety at an AFL game before or since but I was that day, absolutely disgusting behavoir that day and not just from the fans the Victorian police basically took the day off at the ground that day.:thumbsd:
I agree - this was the worst day of violence and disgusting behaviour I've ever witnessed at a football game...:thumbsd:

Mad Dog said:
I agree - this was the worst day of violence and disgusting behaviour I've ever witnessed at a football game...:thumbsd:

Never been to a showdown but can't imagine it's worse than the 2002 Preliminary Final. The ferals were certainly out that day, that's the worse I've experienced in eleven years of going to games here.
Still made the next week even sweeter, especially how they looked they were going to win at one stage in the last quarter to have it snatched away FANTASTIC !!:p :D

Mad Dog said:

Funny isnt it. Just about every single Port supporter ive spoken to who went to the 2003 Prelim against Collingwood has said the EXACT same thing. The most disgraceful behaviour witnessed at a footy game.

Yet its conveniently overlooked and was never talked about in the media. But South Australians are given a bad rep because of some magical cup of urine that Sir Eddie fabricated. :rolleyes: