Suns Priority Pick (with poll)

What priority pick will the Gold Coast Suns receive?

• Pick 1

Votes: 151 44.0%
  • Pick 11 (Mid first round)

Votes: 47 13.7%
  • Pick 18 (End of first round)

Votes: 68 19.8%
  • Other

Votes: 10 2.9%
  • None

Votes: 67 19.5%

It should be at 11 shouldn’t disadvantage other s**t clubs
They need to soften all there caps for 3 years not draft pics so they can have more/better coaches and can lure some fringe players from successful clubs to help create a football club with culture, work ethic and discipline

Oh boo hoo, being shunted down one position in the draft is hardly going to cripple other clubs in the draft. (Melbourne made the Prelim Final last year, so it's not like they desperately need pick 2/Noah Anderson anyway)

Look at the bigger picture here, a strong and successful Gold Coast Suns will be better for the 17 other clubs.

Lol State League battlers won't help them.

Matt Rowell and Noah Anderson will be an excellent foundation to relaunch their club.

They need all the elite talent they can, bad luck for other clubs in the draft, most of whom have had priority picks/draft assistance over the years.
That was said last year with Lukosious and Rankine and to a lesser degree, King. Now we are hearing those players want to return home. They also tried giving them access to mature players but that has been skewed by the mid season draft as not many players are now available. This situation suits clubs like Collingwood, Carlton, Richmond and possible Essendon as these high draft picks are parked there and then obtained later when the players want to leave.
It's time to accept that either the Gold Coast is not a location for an AFL club or something radical needs to be done. Maybe the AFL funds an incentive scheme to get experience players to the club and compensates the clubs that lose these players with decent draft picks.
At the moment if you keep doing the same thing you will keep getting the same result...ie. Players will continue to leave and pick a club of their choosing at a lucrative salary.

They need to start again. Shoot me down, but I personally think they should get multiple priority picks this year. They should also be targetting experienced players from succesful cultures. Trade out the deadwood- start again.

This decison is being announced today. Wonder what time we get the fabulous news the Suns will be given picks 1 and 2 ??

Give them pick one and again next year if necessary, until they become a side that isn't so uncooperative that playing them twice gives a side a huge advantage in the finals race.

At it stands, good luck to the Lions for receiving a nice little boost by beating GC by 140 points plus over 2 matches.

Same applies to any club that makes the draw an even worse travesty of fairness.

omfg the fold coast should not be in the competition, pack them up and move them to tassie ASAP, it's an absolute joke. The only debate we should be having is on how to best dismantle this failed experiment of a club

Didn’t the saints win 7 wooden spoons in the first 8 years of the VFL? I wonder if the forefathers of the game suggested relocating the club to say Brunswick per say? Whilst the suns are bad a fun fact for you is the suns and the saints average a wooden spoon ever 4.5 years... so I say let’s relocate that basket case of a Victorian side to Tasmania as they have 122 years to get it right and have only won what 1 premiership?

Matt Rowell and Noah Anderson will be an excellent foundation to relaunch their club.

They need all the elite talent they can, bad luck for other clubs in the draft, most of whom have had priority picks/draft assistance over the years.

Hence why I said trade for a established fringe/depth players. They're already on the right track if they go for B. Ellis as one of their marquee players. They need a key back, then grab O. McDonald off us as he's now surplus in that position. Then they can trade us one of those state league concessions. There'd be heaps of players at other clubs who want more game time and would add experience/leadership/etc that GC definitely need to survive.

Rumour has it, they will get Brad Crouch as well, which will be a pretty big coup..

So much for The Suns being a Basket case that needs to be shunted off to Tassie according to many around here.

They'll get pick 1, no two ways about it.

Considering we've got pick 2 currently it's slightly annoying that it has to be this year but I can live with it, the AFL needs the Suns to be competitive it's bad for the comp having teams anchored to the bottom of the ladder.

A fan taking a view on what is good for the game, even though his team is most affected?

Bravo, sir!

:clapping:

A fan taking a view on what is good for the game, even though his team is most affected?

Bravo, sir!

:clapping:

The draft really is a lottery anyway. We heap all these expectations on high school kids, but look at a guy like Fyfe taken at pick what 21? Melbourne had 4 picks before him, Scully is the only one still in the AFL and he's been wrecked by injury. The other 3 were complete busts.

I don't see much of a difference between picks 2 and 3 and the Suns can use all the help they can get. The draft IS a lottery like I said but the more chances you have the more chances you have to get it right.

I like watching footy, not just Melbourne games and it is bad for the game having one sided contests or uncompetitive sides. I don't know how much a priority pick will help them but whatever.

What a joke.

Melbourne and its supporters woukd have every right to be furious if they are given pick 1.

How many more careers are going to be screwedby this basket case. Sending them even more kids aint going fix jack.

Watching Lynch dominate just highlights it. He wasted 7 years up there, had he been drafted to one of the other 17 clubs, we might already be talking about him as an all time fwd.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Haha,

The one year in two decades where this wont actually really directly effect you.

I bet your tune would of been different last year if they got Walsh for free.

What a joke.

Melbourne and its supporters woukd have every right to be furious if they are given pick 1.

How many more careers are going to be screwedby this basket case. Sending them even more kids aint going fix jack.

Watching Lynch dominate just highlights it. He wasted 7 years up there, had he been drafted to one of the other 17 clubs, we might already be talking about him as an all time fwd.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Zero sympathy for a Melbourne. They have made close to 60 years of off field blunders, if we arr talking basket case clubs, the Dees have been at it a lot longer than The Suns.

Haha,

The one year in two decades where this wont actually really directly effect you.

I bet your tune would of been different last year if they got Walsh for free.

Would have said the same thing even if we didn't do the pick swap with Adelaide

I am one of those big picture/see the greater good type of footy fan, not one who has a selfish club first attitude.

Bullshit.

North has never received a priority pick. We just expect fair value for picks when we need them.

Yet whats likely to happen?

GC get gifted picked 1, push North and other mid tables sides selections down.

Select 2 young Victorian midfielders.

Victorian midfielders request trade in 4 years, go to larger Victorian club at the top of ladder.

Mid table sides stay mid table after gifted player strengthens current top sides.

Rinse and repeat.

It completely compromises the draft system.

Why can't GC strengthen their side with late picks and shrewd recruiting like everyone else has to?

Bulls**t.

North has never received a priority pick. We just expect fair value for picks when we need them.

Yet whats likely to happen?

GC get gifted picked 1, push North and other mid tables sides selections down.

Select 2 young Victorian midfielders.

Victorian midfielders request trade in 4 years, go to larger Victorian club at the top of ladder.

Mid table sides stay mid table after gifted player strengthens current top sides.

Rinse and repeat.

It completely compromises the draft system.

Why can't GC strengthen their side with late picks and shrewd recruiting like everyone else has to?

To be fair it's a bit unreasonable to deny the suns a priority pick because North Melbourne are shit at recruiting players

I’m not really a big fan of priority picks as there are many ways to improve a club, but if there was ever a need for picks 1+2 it’s this year for GCS.

Getting mates like that together can really establish a team and I hear Rowell is as loyal as they come.
I also think they should’ve drafted both King’s last year.
GC are a unique side, I believe their situation doesn’t always equate to taking the next best perceived player. You recruit in a way you believe a team will gel best.

I really like the way Richmond in particular have gone about their drafting with a focus on indigenous players from WA.
It’s just clever and ironically they have got a few ex GC players at their club. The team works well together.

if granted, end of first round. any priority/compensation/freebies/ whatever you want to call them should be at end of rounds.

and let's be serious here - in 3 or 4 years time, their two highest picks each year will want out of the joint.

You can't see past the Doritos on your keyboard mate. Forget about where my club is involved in the draft for a minute even though you probably can't.

Straight draft picks won't make any difference at all.
Guess how many top 20 picks they've had in the last 3 years? 8!!

Where's the ****ing movement up the ladder? Where's the ****ing progress and the big picture?

Absolute joke.

You can't see past the Doritos on your keyboard mate. Forget about where my club is involved in the draft for a minute even though you probably can't.

Straight draft picks won't make any difference at all.
Guess how many top 20 picks they've had in the last 3 years? 8!!

Where's the ******* movement up the ladder? Where's the ******* progress and the big picture?

Absolute joke.
The fact that you're going berserk is glaring evidence it IS because your club's involved.

Draft picks will make a difference, it's all just a matter of landing them. Now that Clayton's out of the picture, they'll have a much better chance at that, and securing both Rowell and Anderson will set them up in a big way.

After the charity your club received for Scully and Frawley, I wouldn't be complaining too much if I were you.

To be fair it's a bit unreasonable to deny the suns a priority pick because North Melbourne are s**t at recruiting players

So you completely missed the point?

Especially from a club who’s been sucking that same GC mango for over a decade.

So you completely missed the point?

Especially from a club who’s been sucking that same GC mango for over a decade.

Suns need the priority pick. North had the chance to get the concessions that gold coast are getting but decided to continue being a lower tier Victorian club.

A strong Gold Coast team will do much more for the game than a strong north Melbourne so you're just going to have to deal with the financial realities of the competition.

Suns need the priority pick. North had the chance to get the concessions that gold coast are getting but decided to continue being a lower tier Victorian club.

A strong Gold Coast team will do much more for the game than a strong north Melbourne so you're just going to have to deal with the financial realities of the competition.

What in the hell has that got to do with recruiting and compromising the draft through priority picks?