The 90s thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Plugger35

Probably when his mum's not around. Her talking to the Herald Sun is why they keep it retired.

Found a pic taken from Rialto looking down at Docklands (Marvel) construction in 1995. It’s the only thing being built; the rest is old buildings or dirt.

Can we please have a look at it?

I'm not familiar with the docklands are pre Colonial Stadium going in. Were the old buildings worth keeping? Perth went through decades of knocking down buildings from the 1800s and first half of the 1900s to put up bland small skyscrapers, bland blocks of flats, bland townhouses etc. before anyone realised that is what gave the city character.

The car park is built on the earth. The rest of the Stadium is raised above the car park so they didn’t dig under the ground. Today it does look like that it is dug into the earth.

The Docklands sight (eg the Ferris wheel) and the extension of Collins St were a mix of run down buildings/warehouses rail lands etc and were a real eye sore.

The area has certainly improved over the past 25 years but it’s been a bit of an uphill battle. Sometimes I have been there in the middle of the year and it’s a ghost town.

Fwiw I love the ground

Found a pic taken from Rialto looking down at Docklands (Marvel) construction in 1995. It’s the only thing being built; the rest is old buildings or dirt.

and highly polluted dirt at that

heavy metals and radiation, from the CSIRO who dumped it, that had to be cleaned up and now sits in drums in SA

The other thing I miss about the 90s: back then Hollywood knew how to make an action blockbuster that delivered and made squillions at the box office. Think Independence Day, Titanic, Armageddon. While these movies are not exactly masterpieces of cinema, they have all the hallmarks of an action blockbuster that left you feeling satisfied as you walked out of the cinema; they are big, loud, dumb, spectacular films that were ludicrously expensive to make and unashamedly patriotic. What does Hollywood come out with now? Superhero rehashes. It's all Marvel and DC characters, year after year after year. And Transformers - LOL. These days there's not much on offer for adults who want to go and watch a big, exciting popcorn movie and can't bring themselves to warm to the superhero franchises.

...except when we play you and you take up 96.5% of the seats being the Home team

The club's welcoming you into their home where food and drink abound.

The Goo Goo Dolls are up there with the likes of Nirvana, Soundgarden, Stone Temple Pilots and Tool as one of the great US bands of the 90s imo.

My God this is a shitful take mate.

I'm not saying that the Goo Goo Dolls were a great hard rock US 90s band like those other 4 bands, I'm just saying they were a great soft rock US 90s band

They were all great US 90s bands in their own genres, I dare anyone to name a better soft rock US 90s band than the Goo Goo Dolls, I can't think of any.

I'm not saying that the Goo Goo Dolls were a great hard rock US 90s band like those other 4 bands, I'm just saying they were a great soft rock US 90s band

They were all great US 90s bands in their own genres, I dare anyone to name a better soft rock US 90s band than the Goo Goo Dolls, I can't think of any.

Yeah nah. Like, there were other schools of distinctly American rock music in the 90s that I reckon sit at the Nirvana level of quality and influence.

For example, REM with the college rock sound, Pixies and The Breeders for the earlier real alternative hard sound, Nine Inch Nails for the more experimental metal/electronic sound, Beck for experimental tripped out type sounds.

The dude from the Goo Goo Dolls doesn't sit at the same table of rock goddery as the likes of Kim Deal, Trent Reznor, Michael Stipe, Beck, folks of that calibre.

No, no he doesn't.

are Pearl Jam considered as soft rock? (I don't know what soft rock is officially defined as)

Yeah nah. Like, there were other schools of distinctly American rock music in the 90s that I reckon sit at the Nirvana level of quality and influence.

For example, REM with the college rock sound, Pixies and The Breeders for the earlier real alternative hard sound, Nine Inch Nails for the more experimental metal/electronic sound, Beck for experimental tripped out type sounds.

The dude from the Goo Goo Dolls doesn't sit at the same table of rock goddery as the likes of Kim Deal, Trent Reznor, Michael Stipe, Beck, folks of that calibre.

No, no he doesn't.

I was a big fan of the 90s US alt rock scene too with REM, Pixies, The Breeders, Beck, Mercury Rev and Smashing Pumpkins.

You're still missing the point though, I'm not saying that the Goo Goo Dolls are fit it to sit at the table of the great US 90s hard rock/alt rock bands.

They are the kings of the US 90s soft rock table though, I was a hard rock/alt rock 90s music fan and generally detested soft rock but I still liked the Goo Goo Dolls which says a lot about how good they were. They were able to defy their shit soft rock genre and appeal to hard rock/alt rock 90s music fans.

are Pearl Jam considered as soft rock? (I don't know what soft rock is officially defined as)

I'm not a huge Pearl Jam fan but they are definitely not soft rock, they are hard rock/alt rock.

My favourite Pearl Jam song and one of my favourite 90s songs is hard rock, blistering track.

I would have stopped buying REM albums after Monster with hindsight.

Monster had a a couple of good singles with What's The Frequency Kenneth and Bang and Blame but it was mostly a try hard attempt at grunge.

New Adventures in Hi-Fi which they released after Monster in 1996 is one of my favourite REM albums and one of my favourite 90s albums.

That was their last album with Bill Berry and they got back to that classic REM sound, not too heavy, not too light, just right.

The first single feat Patti Smith is a masterpiece.

Their next album Up released in 1998 was mostly garbage, I didn't buy that album it was so bad.

They returned to form with Reveal in 2001 though, that's another underrated REM album.

It had a great first single too.

I lost interest in REM after Reveal, their last few albums were pretty forgettable, I still miss them though, incredible band.

Out of Time was a huge REM album in 1991 where they went mainstream, Losing My Religion was a great single but Shiny Happy People was god awful.

My favourite song off that album which should have been a single is this song.

This is now the 90s REM thread.

If you like Powderfinger and Birds of Tokyo, you like Soft Rock. Creed is probably your 90s go to.
Or Powderfinger.

Speaking of Powder and band names I found this thread yesterday and it inspired me to listen to this:

This was another good song off Monster on Letterman back in 1995, doesn't get more 90s than this.

Letterman was the no.1 Late Show host in the 90s, he missed out on the Johnny Carson Tonight Show gig to Jay Leno but Letterman was the man.

Ask any comedian from that era and they will all say Letterman was better, Conan also missed out on the Tonight Show gig to Leno and he came good.