The Bar - Beer, Wine & Spirits Discussion Thread

Yes, my father in law likes those peaty whiskeys, so I usually buy him Lagavulin or Laphroaig for his birthday. Have got him Oban and Cragganmore in the past.
Lagavulin was my preference of those 3. One I bought him, can't remember which, felt like I was being kicked in the head by the donkey that carted it up from those smuggler's coves!
Glenlivet have looked at. Will look into this Balvenie. If I splash out enough, I will invite you around. ;)
Suntory, I have not even looked at.
Your post inspired me so i went and bought a bottle of arborlour 12yo just now. Personally i prefer the younger whiskies as i prefer grain flavour over barrel but i do enjoy both.

Definitely check out the Japanese stuff though, it's unreal.

People who judge are the worst.
Of course we are but after spending so many years behind a bar and listening to people spout nonsense about beverages like it's fact when they're actually completely wrong, you can't help but judge. Mind you, listening to your know it all bartender who thinks he's king shit but is in reality just the shit part, you learn to be a lot more forgiving to your guests.

I remember years ago working up on Hamilton island this bird was with a guy and explaining all the booze behind the bar then proceeds to order a Negroni. She takes one sip, screws her face up and asks what's bitter about it. Couldn't believe it. The guy who made it says "Let's see, the gin, campari, vermouth and the spoon i stirred it with."

Ok he didn't say that to her face, just us when retelling the story. Pretty funny.

One fifty lashes, bearded lady or bulleit are pretty much what I normally drink. What does it make me?

I drink vodka neat ATM, but in reality whatever takes me away from reality I will consume.
Absolutely spot on post. :thumbsu:

bzparkes Auchentoshan isn't bad either, for the price it's quite good. Dalwhinnie is a smooth one which the mother in law likes drinking and gets me to sample from time to time. ;) Speyside is another I have tried and don't mind. Forgot, the next one i am buying is Smokehead, simply because of the bottle design and name. The unusualness attracted me. :)

Absolutely spot on post. :thumbsu:

bzparkes Auchentoshan isn't bad either, for the price it's quite good. Dalwhinnie is a smooth one which the mother in law likes drinking and gets me to sample from time to time. ;) Speyside is another I have tried and don't mind. Forgot, the next one i am buying is Smokehead, simply because of the bottle design and name. The unusualness attracted me. :)
Yeah Auchentoshan is good although lowland scotches are pretty light due to being triple distilled. I've always had a love-affair with the full bodied ones personally as that's what got me into it.

Peated whiskies are quite popular now so some of the highland and Speysidr distilleries are peating their whiskies even though traditionally they are not.

It's a nice idea, but at $12 bucks each that's $48. I can get a carton of Hoegaarden for $50.
Welcome to the world of craft brew.

giphy.gif

Now sampling some ginger beers, Crabbies, Matsos, stones ginger Joe and Brookvale Union

Friend texted me about these today, hadn't tried any of their brews before. Popped to the bottle shop after the game and decided to get a variety.

View attachment 377621

They're pretty great. WA dominates the craft beer market and always has, even Pirate Life was started by a couple of sandgropers.

Had all four this arvo whilst cooking dinner watching Freo. I'm happy with both results.

Now sampling some ginger beers, Crabbies, Matsos, stones ginger Joe and Brookvale Union
Lick Pier and Zen Zero are unprecedented, given them a go?

It's delicious but stupidly expensive, like 40 bucks for a 4 pack. Unless there's some insane tax levy on beer above 8% I have no idea how they justify that. It's the same price as buying a Pint of it at Print Hall.
A lot of doubles go for $20 a king brown. This is one of my faves. Piratelife's 4-packs are the most competitive of IIPAs I've come across, ironically.
beer_bottle_deathfromabove_1024x1024.jpg

It's delicious but stupidly expensive, like 40 bucks for a 4 pack. Unless there's some insane tax levy on beer above 8% I have no idea how they justify that. It's the same price as buying a Pint of it at Print Hall.
Unfortunately tax dictates everything in the alcohol industry. Boutique producers have to charge through the nose just to break even.

I can't help but fell James Packer is to blame for this. Or maybe I'm just drunk amd don't like lizard looking fat heads.

Stick with scotch either neat or with a dash of water. Don't be one of those 3 cube guys, just proves you're clueless about how to drink it. If you want ice that's fine but either pack the glass so the ice melts slower or use one big cube.

Here are my thoughts on your drink choice and how I judge you;

Beer drinkers.
  • The guy who only drinks craft beer; Don't get me wrong i enjoy craft beer but I'm pretty open to anything, craft or not. May as well get some sleeve tattoos and change your surname to Masten if you insist on only craft.
  • Corona drinkers; Anyone who drinks a beer that needs a ******* lime in it to give it any flavour needs their head checked. There's a time and place for them and that time and place is with your pussy, non-beer loving mates. That or the past as you want to forget you ever had a thing for them. Sorry Keys.
  • Pale ale drinkers; Their favourite must be fruit salad with edible flowers sonthey go for the beer that smells and tastes closest to it. That or they're a slave to fashion.
  • VB/Carlton draught/Toohey's/etc...; Dad drank it and I have no opinions of my own so I decided to drinknthe same thing, probably from the age of 14. Oh and Winnie blues.
  • Import drinkers; So sophisticated and classy, these people don't realise they're drinking their beer's country's equivalent of Fosters.
  • Melbourne bitter; "I'm a lumberjack and I'm ok..." I used to buy this shit out of a shopping trolley at bottle-os in Launceston back in my teen years for $1, now it's one of the more expensive beers on tap adored by flanelette loving hipsters in trendy pubs all across Melbourne.
Wine drinkers
  • NZ sav blanc; these same people probably drank crouchen riesling back in the day and jumped on the chardonnay bandwagon yet now claim they hate it. Anyone who drinks something that smells of cats piss and passionfruit needs to make better life choices.
  • Big barossa reds; Boring businessmen with no mind of their own looking to impress others guys who have no idea about wine either. Of course there's some amazing wines from there but when the only wine you know is penfolds grange and insist it's the best, well you're probably the kind of guy that name drops people you met 5 years ago like you know them to try to clinch a business deal.
  • Merlot drinkers; Ever seen a unicorn? Neither have I.
Scotch drinkers
  • Glennfiddich; You just spent 5 minutes staring at my collection of single malts, asking me questions yet settled on Glennfiddich 12yo? You're either clueless or cheap.
  • Johnnie walker blue; "What's your most expensive scotch?" This person doesn't understand that the most expensive is not necessarily the best but they are a tosser who just wants to show whoever they are with that they have money to burn. Expect this person to order with 3 cubes, take one sip then ask for a splash of coke.
  • Anything peaty; had Laphroaig once on a work tab and now has to tell his mates/colleagues how much of a whisky expert he is.
Cocktail drinkers
  • Creamy drinks; Personally i rarely see these people anymore but it's almost always some fat lady in her thirties, some old duck who only drinks brandy alexanders or some tool who keeps raving how awesome they are because he can't taste the alcohol. Of course you can't mate, i put one shot of chocolate liqueur in there and charged you $16...
  • Negroni drinkers; Either hipsters, pretentious gits or bartenders. I know this for a fact because I am the latter 2 of those 3 options.
  • Vodka martini drinkers, shaken; Fresh off their James Bond marathon these people think they are the height of sophistication where really they're just morons. Never order this drink in a decent bar because everyone working there will judge you. Oh and the drink's real name is Kangaroo cocktail.
  • Fruit tingle drinkers; Just show me your ID love...
Mixed spirits
  • Bundy drinkers; All those great rums out there and you choose to drink the one that tastes like a sweaty miner's arse? Probably explains why those fly in, fly out workers like it so much.
  • Scotch & coke; Fine if you drink the cheapest scotch but when you start asking for Johnnie black or better then that just tells me you've got more money than sense.
  • Tequila sunrise; A favourite of the RSL denizens this drink tells me you have all the sophisication of a homeless guy in Frankston.
  • Vodka cranberry drinkers; Typical WCE Bigfooty board poster.

I've worked bar a bit and try to have half- decent taste and couldn't agree more with almost all of these.

As a student you can only be picky when you can afford to. What drives me crazy is when people hate on something like Export, oh that's piss etc..... And then order a Heineken or a Stella. Stella's like 4 pound a six-pack in the UK. It's all perspective.

The other is as you said, the person who only drinks quadruple hopped IPAs, as if hops are the only thing that makes a good beer and refuse to drink anything else. If you can't enjoy an average tinny when offered or a shitty mid strength at the football, do you really like beer?

It's a bit like anything in life, if you love something great, but don't shit on someone else's taste because more than likely you'll end up looking like the idiot; someone will always know more or have better taste.

The Bar - Beer, Wine & Spirits Discussion Thread