The Bar - Beer, Wine & Spirits Discussion Thread

When it comes to beer the biggest bugbear I have is the stupid pricing structure that has 6 packs costing upwards of $20

Hate shelling out that much when I can get a carton for $50 or thereabouts

I had a mate who worked in a bottlo when we were younger. He'd put every 6 pack through for a carton, wait to sell 4 and pocket the cash. Cheeky bugga.
I bet you couldnt pull that off these days.

Boss buys Corona every single Friday afternoon for after work drinks. I am not going to knock back a free beer ever, but seriously variety is the spice of life. On a hot day, when you are going to smash down a 6 pack or more - Corona is a decent choice. Just not every single bloody Friday!

Yeah yeah I get it. Coronas are drunk by either pussies or pretentious ******s

For the record I don't put limes (or lemons) in mine and I got in the habit of drinking them on Broome because they were refreshing in the heat. I could also drink them in quantity without getting gassy, feeling full or waking up with a hangover. At some point they became pretty reasonably priced as well which helped

I'm pretty much a beer only drinker and arent particularly fussy what I drink - I have my preferences but won't knock anything back if it's offered

Don't drink wine and if I stray onto spirits it's often a precursor to trouble. Last time I drank vodka I woke up in a shower fully clothed with no memory of how I got there. Had a night on Captain Morgan's and ended up with a broken ankle. Last bender I was put onto Old Fashioneds and Syd can confirm that didn't end all that well

So it's safer to stick to beer for me - even if it's one for pussies

Scotch snob you sound like

I did get given a bottle of Chivas Regal as a gift a little while back, not the standard one but a slightly more upmarket one. That was pretty nice especially since I don't usually like scotch

Had it with dry so that probably counts against me

You think you ended up badly that night?
I woke up in Perth FFS!

Had to drive to Fremantle the next morning and shit myself when I passed an RBT site around midday :eek:

HUGE night, good times.

(At least I didn't fall 'up' the stairs at Varnish that trip...)

Alright, question. What's a decent cheap beer I'll be able to buy on a meager uni student budget?

A few years back One of my nerd mates and a few of his other mates did some research at uni on beers to see which one was the best value for money in terms of pure volume, alcohol %, and I forget what all else. They even did a bunch of blinded taste tests. Apparently TUN won.

Boss buys Corona every single Friday afternoon for after work drinks. I am not going to knock back a free beer ever, but seriously variety is the spice of life. On a hot day, when you are going to smash down a 6 pack or more - Corona is a decent choice. Just not every single bloody Friday!
Mate I used to have the same problem until they banned alcohol from my workplace

Long time reader, very rare poster but this convo is something I know about! Working in the industry nearly 15 years here in Melbourne, I must admit I had a laugh at bzparkes post, very true!

Touching on Balvenie, if you can get your hands on the 14 year, it's quite unique as it's finished in old Ron Zacapa (rum) barrels so it has a tinge of sweetness on the back palate.

Suntory whiskeys are great. Rightly pointed out that they are very difficult to get a hold of. If you see Hibiki I'd give that a shot, Yamasaki is also nice but I little overpriced. Someone also said they like J & B? Try drinking suntory with soda, it's a cheap whiskey from Japan that is real easy to down and has a nice taste (drank loads in Japan).

As for beer, I love Melbourne Bitter (being from here), but also White Rabbit Dark Ale. For those that are put off by drinking dark beers, try this as it's a small stepping stone into bigger beers, fairly easy to drink. There's also a company called Young Henry's which is from Sydney, they do cracking beers and are in the Melb market, not sure if they have hit WA yet. Their Real Ale is on an English style ale and is delicious.

If you like Gin, please look for West Winds and 4 Pillars, two Vic brands that are bloody delicious with either soda, tonic or just by itself. Try garnish with a bit of capsicum (west winds) or grapefruit (4 Pillars). 4 Pillars also do special releases like Shiraz Gin and Negroni Spiced Gin, treat yourself!

For those that read, thanks! I just want to say that people will drink what they drink, you like what you like, while some bartenders look down upon some choices, F*** them, it's your money! (I drink Melbourne and JD and coke so yeah, whatever)

I did get given a bottle of Chivas Regal as a gift a little while back, not the standard one but a slightly more upmarket one. That was pretty nice especially since I don't usually like scotch

Had it with dry so that probably counts against me

I think the dry is just the first step into drinking whiskeys, especially the blended ones. Then you drop the dry, for no apparent reason, and there is a whole other taste. The problem is a bottle lasts a week, instead of a month, once I dropped the dry. :)
It's like a blue cheese, the taste develops.

Anyone tried that whiskey distillery in East Perth? Whippersnapper i think? Have been meaning to try for a while.

Long time reader, very rare poster but this convo is something I know about! Working in the industry nearly 15 years here in Melbourne, I must admit I had a laugh at bzparkes post, very true!

Touching on Balvenie, if you can get your hands on the 14 year, it's quite unique as it's finished in old Ron Zacapa (rum) barrels so it has a tinge of sweetness on the back palate.

Suntory whiskeys are great. Rightly pointed out that they are very difficult to get a hold of. If you see Hibiki I'd give that a shot, Yamasaki is also nice but I little overpriced. Someone also said they like J & B? Try drinking suntory with soda, it's a cheap whiskey from Japan that is real easy to down and has a nice taste (drank loads in Japan).

As for beer, I love Melbourne Bitter (being from here), but also White Rabbit Dark Ale. For those that are put off by drinking dark beers, try this as it's a small stepping stone into bigger beers, fairly easy to drink. There's also a company called Young Henry's which is from Sydney, they do cracking beers and are in the Melb market, not sure if they have hit WA yet. Their Real Ale is on an English style ale and is delicious.

If you like Gin, please look for West Winds and 4 Pillars, two Vic brands that are bloody delicious with either soda, tonic or just by itself. Try garnish with a bit of capsicum (west winds) or grapefruit (4 Pillars). 4 Pillars also do special releases like Shiraz Gin and Negroni Spiced Gin, treat yourself!

For those that read, thanks! I just want to say that people will drink what they drink, you like what you like, while some bartenders look down upon some choices, F*** them, it's your money! (I drink Melbourne and JD and coke so yeah, whatever)
4 pillars bloody shiraz is amazing, can't wait for the next release.

The last part of your post is spot on too.

I think the dry is just the first step into drinking whiskeys, especially the blended ones. Then you drop the dry, for no apparent reason, and there is a whole other taste. The problem is a bottle lasts a week, instead of a month, once I dropped the dry. :)
It's like a blue cheese, the taste develops.

Anyone tried that whiskey distillery in East Perth? Whippersnapper i think? Have been meaning to try for a while.
Bottle lasts a week? My word you have amazing self control :p

Been drinking for a long time, probably pissed a weekender down south away but it's mostly been good fun.
My preferences-
Beer- love a good ale, recently spent 3 months working in Vic and tried a truckload of different brews, only a handful were any good but how will I find the perfect beer if I don't try them all.
I settled on Furphy ale from Geelong for my stock brew which was cheap and available most places.
Still have the occasional Swan Draught because it reminds me of the good ol days when it was the only beer you could get on tap and it still tastes ok.
Wine- Generally stick to Margaret River wine these days. Anything from Brown Hill is good.
Rum- Mount Gay, the best cheap rum you can buy. If I'm feeling flush I'll have a shot of Ron Matsaluem or one of the other Rons with one cube.
Not much of a scotch drinker.
Came late to Gin but a Bombay saphire with tonic is a refreshing drink at the end of a hot day.

Indeed. Could drink it all day and night.

Bombay Sapphire & tonic
Hoegaarden
Olmeca tequila, lime and tonic

Are my top 3.

Don't mind the occasional Guiness. Boondy by the Boston Brewing Co from Denmark WA, it's a rye pale ale and is fantastic. A Moscow Mule with Belvedere vodka is fantastic.

Bombay Sapphire & tonic
Hoegaarden

Are my top 3.

Don't mind the occasional Guiness. Boondy by the Boston Brewing Co from Denmark WA, it's a rye pale ale and is fantastic. A Moscow Mule with Belvedere vodka is fantastic.
Cool.

Thanks for the tip.

Why are we shouting?

Bombay Sapphire & tonic
Hoegaarden

Are my top 3.

I do love Guinness

When it comes to beer the biggest bugbear I have is the stupid pricing structure that has 6 packs costing upwards of $20

Hate shelling out that much when I can get a carton for $50 or thereabouts

I was just in Sweden and at first i thought it was ridiculous, but you can't buy cartons or 6-packs there, you can't have specials on booze and you can only buy then from one government run chain. It all seems pretty draconian.

But, what it does mean is that they can't gouge you for buying less. You can buy a mixed carton of whatever you want and it won't cost you more than a carton costs here. It's a pretty great system.

Been drinking for a long time, probably pissed a weekender down south away but it's mostly been good fun.

Rum- Mount Gay, the best cheap rum you can buy. If I'm feeling flush I'll have a shot of Ron Matsaluem or one of the other Rons with one cube.

The Zacapa 23 is very good, a couple of others I've tried & liked are the Diplomatico Reserva & El Dorado, expensive though. Anyone who has been put put off Rum by Bundy give some of these a try, totally different.

If you ever want to try a very peaty whisky, Octomore that stuff blows your head off.

Quite a few of the spirit bars will make up flights (3 or 4 smaller samples) so you can try a few different styles & see what you like.

Alright, question. What's a decent cheap beer I'll be able to buy on a meager uni student budget?
Dude, some of the cheapest German beers out there are awesome. For some reason, some of Germany's best lagers are dirt cheap over here. Bitburger, Weiderman, Oetinger etc are great drops, but only if you like a lager. Weiderman are often 30 bucks a carton (330ml cans). Oetinger a 440ml cans. I love my craft beer with a bit more flavour, but if you're on a budget and just want something good to get you on the horse, then cheap German stuff is the way to go.

yeah mate, was one of my faves up until now but after 2 off cans I'm done. I've heard of other peeps in the industry getting the odd dud can as well. sux :( is so good when at it's best.

Talk to the reps and get the cans swapped. Nail are very good with that and would undoubtedly like to inspect the batch and other stock at the retailer.

yeah the manager is emailing them about it. I love their beers, but that's a few people locally who have had dud VPAs and one was a brewer!

Had Modus Operandi Cascadian Black Howl over the long weekend. Black IPAs soft creamy roast and not too sweet and far too drinkable for 8.1%.

Eagle bay is my normal go to BIPA when available, otherwise Cuthulu by Kaiju

The Bar - Beer, Wine & Spirits Discussion Thread