Mega Thread The Mark Neeld Mega-Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr.X

Feel sorry for Mark Neeld right now. He is a wonderful person and coach, just picked the wrong club and players. :(

LOL... some of these obituaries are going over the top. He was a horrible coach by any measure. Took a bad team and made them a lot worse.

No doubt it was a tough gig... but he was an extremely bad appointment. Was out of his depth from day 1.

LOL... some of these obituaries are going over the top. He was a horrible coach by any measure. Took a bad team and made them a lot worse.

No doubt it was a tough gig... but he was an extremely bad appointment. Was out of his depth from day 1.

You can't blame him entirely for the players' ineptitude, work rate and injuries at critical times to players. He would still be a great assistant coach somewhere else.

Not the injuries, but the rest you can. The performance of the team is his responsibility. He can't have been expected to work miracles, but he actually made them considerably worse.

The work ethic and ineptitude was there before him, but it's got worse.

Who will be the scapegoat now when the players pick and choose when to go? Id line the whole playing list up when he cleans out his locker and make them look him in the eye on the way out.

McLardy, Schwab and Neeld all gone - and people are talking scapegoats.

Neeld seems like a nice enough bloke, hope he can re-establish himself at another club in a different role.

Nathan Jones.
He's the one making the other players look crap by playing well and giving his all.

No Melbourne fan I've met has laid complete blame (many even blame at all) on Neeld for the cr*p that has transpired over the past couple of years. He had/has a stunning attitude towards the game (and life in general), and was possibly, in some regard, the right guy, for the wrong club, at the wrong time. He also got very unlucky with key injuries, off field horrors etc etc. But Melbourne need some form of experience at the helm. They always did in retrospect. But more importantly, they also need to address many areas of the footy club, not just the senior coach. We're all aware of this. Peter Jackson is too. The playing group should be performing better than they are though.

The one positive is that (again) Melbourne are out of the blocks early, and with no competition in regards to finding a new coach. Come seasons end I'll be surprised if a few other clubs aren't looking for one as well. Also, we finally have a seemingly competent CEO leading the search. The club just has to work hard, make as informative and intelligent decisions as they can, and hope (as the Demon fans do) that things can improve soon. I don't see how it could get much worse, but I've been proven wrong on that front before.
Brisbane likely, who else?

Problem is, they are required to pay 95% of the salary cap. So they couldn't pay less coin. Although they probably could have taken those players you suggested and paid them more than they are worth.
how do you think it effects team harmony when nathan jones and frawley the best 2 demons and also very loyal are getting half the $$$ of inferior or at best equal rated players in dawes, davey and clark...im sure the could have spent there salary $$ more wisely. those responsible should all walk or be sacked.

I'm surprised Neeld lasted as long as he did.

Melbourne won 8 games in each of Bailey's last 2 seasons. People forget that. It's not great, but it's not horrible. People say Neeld took over a basket case? Well, that's simply not true. Neeld turned them into a basket case.

I still find it hilarious that Bailey was sacked after one horrible performance, with Garry Lyon leading the witch hunt.

Well, nice work as always Gaz. Lets see if you can keep your big hairy face out of it at the end of the year this time... although I'm not holding my breath.

how do you think it effects team harmony when nathan jones and frawley the best 2 demons and also very loyal are getting half the $$$ of inferior or at best equal rated players in dawes, davey and clark...im sure the could have spent there salary $$ more wisely. those responsible should all walk or be sacked.
Clark is clearly Melbourne's best player. Other than Jones, Dawes is about the only player who has shown any heart and ability for them the last month. If Davey is on big money lol. Frawley has been rubbish all season don't know how he has claim to Clark money.

I feel bad for Mark Neeld. I reckon he can coach the biggest problem is the melbourne players can't play

Great news, now players at the Melbourne football club might want to start playing for the senior team as apposed to actually wanting to drive all the way to Casey's home ground to get more of a team orientated feel. Long way to go to recovery but Craig will be a certain removal at the end of the year as well. Going to take a strong man to lift this club from the bottom.

Big question is. Who got the balls to take this gig on?

There's just really no one you could see wanting to - for a first time coach as neeld was, it's just about a death warrant on your career before it begins. for an experienced coach it could leave a little scar on your legacy at the very end.

the only man for this is an experienced head who is not too worried about how they look in years to come - paul roos strikes me as being too proud to be honest. and he has got it pretty good at foxtel.

i'm not really sure who would or could take this one.

hope he comes back to the pies as an assistant

would be hilarious if he goes back to assistant coaching (which he probably will) for a few years, gets given another crack and becomes a success. some of his methods were questionable though, i don't think he'll make a great coach, but the position melbourne were in isn't friendly for anyone.

No way, I didnt see this coming, I was just saying to a mate last week, that Jack Watts is a good show for the 2014 Brownlow/Coleman double when Melbourne scrape into the top 4 on the back Neelds drastic move to play him as a roving ruck quarter centre half-forwad back full forward in the left pocket.

Geez well you obviously know bugger all about footy! :rolleyes: