Mega Thread The Mark Neeld Mega-Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr.X

I think a lot of people rate him, and even this season there were moments that I could see what he was trying to do gameplan wise - but he made some horrible mistakes early on that really ruined any chance he had of getting the players to buy-in.
Might just be he's a better development coach than a head coach. Think Matthew Knights fits that mould too.

Moloney tweet seems to be gone...I imagine the Lions heirachy would not be happy that he did that.

Instagram. Not twitter.

Not Brent's finest moment. Neeld has been pretty respectful publicly to Brent. Russell Robertson on the other hand ran his mouth off like a tosser.

Moloney tweet seems to be gone...I imagine the Lions heirachy would not be happy that he did that.
00000431-image.jpg

Brent Moloney has just proven what I've suspected and said all along. The guy is a cancerous ego, and was a huge part of the cultural problem at Melbourne. I don't believe anyone was quite as cancerous as Moloney, but there very well may still be inexcusable ego's within the playing group. I suspect there is. I don't care who the player is, if they have this kind of pathetic and spoiled attitude, they need to go. Need.

I understand he may not actually have the intellect to even acknowledge or recognize his ego, heck he may be a clinical narcissist. But still, f*ck off Brent Moloney. F*ck...off.

Brent Moloney has just proven what I've suspected and said all along. The guy is a cancerous ego, and was a huge part of the cultural problem at Melbourne.

Yeah, the culture has gone from strength to strength since he left. :eek:

One could reasonably posit that he is a product of the culture rather than a cause - I can't fault his contribution at Brisbane so far.

Really, really dumb post from him today but let's not get hysterical. Of the shit inflicted upon Mark Neeld today, Brent's ill-conceived instagram post probably ranks around 37th.

Your post does contrast quite starkly with the back-slapping that went on on the Melbourne board the other day when Russell Robertson took a few cheap shots at Moloney and even moreso at Stefan Martin.

Personally I think it's pretty crass when players/officials take shots like that... Akermanis and Sherman did it after they left us and it was trash behaviour and Moloney and Robertson are no different in that regard. If we are going to condemn that behaviour we should be consistent.

Doesn't Brent Moloney look like a f**khead, what a flog.

Think it just highlights footballers really need to start and think before they post anything, perhaps have wait 10 minutes and think about it before hitting the button.

Little like Beams earlier this year.

One could reasonably posit that he is a product of the culture rather than a cause.

Really, really dumb post from him today but let's not get hysterical. Of the shit inflicted upon Mark Neeld today, Brent's ill-conceived instagram post probably ranks around 37th.

Your post does contrast quite starkly with the back-slapping that went on on the Melbourne board the other day when Russell Robertson took a few cheap shots at Moloney and even moreso at Stefan Martin.
His impact is still being felt. I truly believe that. I understand you feel the need to jump to his defense as he's on your list. Make no doubt about it though...the guy has a terribly misplaced ego. This tweet highlights just to what extreme, but it was well known he had one well before this. Speak to some of the more honest Melbourne players if/when you get a chance.

I understand you feel the need to attack him because you feel the need to project this morning's unpleasantness onto a third party...

See I can play internet psychologist too.

As I said in the previous post... dumb and ill-conceived post by Brent but I can't fault his contribution at Brisbane since we picked him up, thus I can't completely buy in to your "he's a cancer" argument.

Who here hasn't said something stupid and impulsive in the heat of the moment before and slapped themselves on the forehead for it later? He's obviously not the sharpest bloke going around... his public urination incident a few years ago (not dissimilar from Mitch Clark) points to that. Someone at the club will have a word with him - hopefully he learns from it.

He may have Ego problems, but if he is able to do the damage that you are inferring here then there are a lot of more internal problems at Melbourne than I thought, and that's saying something.

One could reasonably posit that he is a product of the culture rather than a cause - I can't fault his contribution at Brisbane so far.

Personally I think it's pretty crass when players/officials take shots like that... Akermanis and Sherman did it after they left us and it was trash behaviour and Moloney and Robertson are no different in that regard. If we are going to condemn that behaviour we should be consistent.
I have no doubt he is fitting right in up there mate...

Think it just highlights footballers really need to start and think before they post anything, perhaps have wait 10 minutes and think about it before hitting the button.

Little like Beams earlier this year.

Understand what you are saying but,

We are talking about Moloney here, don't think its right to sling mud on others who have nothing to do with the current issue at hand.

Understand what you are saying but,

We are talking about Moloney here, don't think its right to sling mud on others who have nothing to do with the current issue at hand.

I am not slinging Mud, I am just giving another example of how players can jump the gun on Twitter a little, Lets not forget Moloney wasn't getting a game at Melbourne and most probably left there pretty bitter, he drove the boots in and looks like a fool for doing it.

Beams was the other example, he is a team mate and would have been pretty fired up when he watched the incident, wasn't a well placed tweet by him.

I think Social media must be a real worry for clubs. Thankfully it wasn't around 10 years ago when Aka was at the height of his powers.

I understand you feel the need to attack him because you feel the need to project this morning's unpleasantness onto a third party...

See I can play internet psychologist too.

As I said in the previous post... dumb and ill-conceived post by Brent but I can't fault his contribution at Brisbane since we picked him up, thus I can't completely buy in to your "he's a cancer" argument.

Who here hasn't said something stupid and impulsive in the heat of the moment before and slapped themselves on the forehead for it later?

I disliked Moloney when he was on our playing list. I believe I've spoken to more people in the know, and are privy to more information than you. I believe I'm coming from a much more objective place. An emotional place, no doubt...but a far more objective and knowledgeable one.

I am fairly sure if he wasn't on your list, you wouldn't have written your post. I don't know if you'll admit to this (maybe you will), and it can't be proven, but I'm pretty sure of this. I don't know what he's like at Brisbane...I think he's a potentially dangerous presence, but who knows what he'll do there. He may be too new within the Brisbane system to be allowed proper influence over the youngsters. Also there are leaders there (such as Black and Brown) who can potentially combat his ego if it were to ever arise. You have to understand, we didn't have/don't have those players. We're growing them. It's pretty well known what he did at Melbourne, and his stupidity and ego were on show for all to see today.

As the old saying goes, we'll most likely have to agree to disagree.

Who here hasn't said something stupid and impulsive in the heat of the moment before and slapped themselves on the forehead for it later?

Spoken with all the experience of 55,000+ posts

I am fairly sure if he wasn't on your list, you wouldn't have written your post.

And you probably wouldn't be posting about this either if you weren't a Melbourne supporter... what's your point? People post about stuff that is relevant to them.

If you are trying to say I am blinded by bias, then you have to turn the mirror on yourself too.

I believe I'm coming from a much more objective place

Yeah, all the thinly-censored swear words and analogies with a terminal disease clearly demonstrate that.

Not sure what we are even disagreeing about to be honest. I said it was really dumb/crass by Moloney. But yeah, if you want me to agree with you that he is a "cancer" just because you claim to have spoken to a few Melbourne players, it's probably isn't going to happen.

To summarise... hope Brent learns from his mistake and I hope he returns from injury soon, because we bloody miss him.

Moloney's not a 'dangerous presence' - especially not with guys like Brown and Black up there.

He's not a 'cancer' more then any other bogan footy player would be when they really, really hate the coach - and have been wronged by the coach.

He showed a complete lack of class and respect today, it speaks volumes of him as a person and of the leadership gulf at Melbourne that he was considered a bloke to look up to - despite the fact that he's a good player.

I am not slinging Mud, I am just giving another example of how players can jump the gun on Twitter a little, Lets not forget Moloney wasn't getting a game at Melbourne and most probably left there pretty bitter, he drove the boots in and looks like a fool for doing it.

Beams was the other example, he is a team mate and would have been pretty fired up when he watched the incident, wasn't a well placed tweet by him.

I think Social media must be a real worry for clubs. Thankfully it wasn't around 10 years ago when Aka was at the height of his powers.

No I do agree with you

So Brent Moloney destroyed Melbourne?!?!?!

And the impact of him being at the club is still being felt?

How?

Did he divide the playing group? Did he turn everyone against poor innocent defence less Mark Neeld?

So Brent Moloney destroyed Melbourne?!?!?!

And the impact of him being at the club is still being felt?

How?

Did he divide the playing group? Did he turn everyone against poor innocent defence less Mark Neeld?

Actually, he did do that.

It's why I trade him out of my Footy Fanatic games ASAP (when I dust it off for a bit of old school fun that is).

And you probably wouldn't be posting about this either if you weren't a Melbourne supporter... what's your point? People post about stuff that is relevant to them.

If you are trying to say I am blinded biased, then you have to turn the mirror on yourself too.

Yeah, all the thinly-censored swear words and analogies with a terminal disease clearly demonstrate that.

I think I have more of a right to attack him, than you do to defend him. I think I know more about him than you do. I think I know more about his character and playing history than you do. I'm almost positive (unless you've somehow been to more Melbourne games than I have, or been around the club more than me) that I've seen more of him than you. My club has been impacted by him more than yours has.

You didn't address the majority of what I wrote. You only chose the points which suited you to respond to. I have my bias's and faults...I agree. But I think you're far less informative and objective than you think you are. I definitely think in this case, you've put your foot in your mouth in regards to a topic you don't know enough about.

Actually, he did do that.

It's why I trade him out of my Footy Fanatic games ASAP (when I dust it off for a bit of old school fun that is).

He wields that much power? That its felt even after he is gone?

So no one else at the club could disagree with the almighty Brent Moloney? I know the club is weak but that seems too far fetched, even for Melbourne,