The Skipper

• Thread starter Thread starter RandB

It seems to be a bit of a given that James McDonald will spend a significant amount of time in defence this year. Perhaps the perception being that the club will want his presence on the ground as captain without him taking away mid time from some of our up and comers given that he is undoubtedly in his last season.

TBH I'd be surprised if it panned out this way - not to say it won't but I think our defence needs to take shape just as much as our midfield. With Joel MacDonald added to the backline (a dedicated experienced defender) who will go close if not a regular starter it is all the more important to find regular spots for young defenders.

I'm not going to make a prediction here because alot can happen in a season but I don't automatically subscribe to the McDonald in defence theory at this point. It will be an interesting season for the skipper as he'll have to have some presence on the field in some capacity and I'm miffed if there is an obvious answer.

Your thoughts?

On current ability, I don't have Junior in my best 22. But obviously he is the captain and the club re-signed him, so he will be in the side. Which begs the question - what role will he play?

He can't play a whole game in the midfield anymore like he used to, plus he would be blocking up space for youngsters like Grimes, Trengove and Scully to learn the craft. As for defence, he isn't a natural defender so I can't see him becoming a permanent fixture in the back six either. And the same scenario will probably apply, in that the coaches will want to give a Bennell, Cheney or Strauss a crack in the backline.

I can see him playing a rotating spare parts role, spending maybe 1/3rd midfield, 1/3rd backline and 1/3rd bench. The main priority will be his leadership around our young players, rather than his actual ability.

My thoughts are JMac, in football terms only, isn't a given to be in our first 22. Obviously his leadership is valued highly and he still contributes, but I can't see him starring on-field.

A valuable, spare parts (ie midfielder/defence/bench) player this year I'd suggest.

On current ability, I don't have Junior in my best 22. But obviously he is the captain and the club re-signed him, so he will be in the side. Which begs the question - what role will he play?

He can't play a whole game in the midfield anymore like he used to, plus he would be blocking up space for youngsters like Grimes, Trengove and Scully to learn the craft. As for defence, he isn't a natural defender so I can't see him becoming a permanent fixture in the back six either. And the same scenario will probably apply, in that the coaches will want to give a Bennell, Cheney or Strauss a crack in the backline.
The case you present is pretty much how I see it mate. I'm glad I'm not the only one who sees it this way. I've seen many posters put McDonald in a predominantly defensive role and (not to say it won't happen) but I don't understand why. Our defence is not a drop in centre of convenience when you don't want to put a player somewhere else. A genuine conundrum for the coach IMO.

I can see him playing a rotating spare parts role, spending maybe 1/3rd midfield, 1/3rd backline and 1/3rd bench. The main priority will be his leadership around our young players, rather than his actual ability.
This is probably the closest to what I can foresee at this stage - more or less take it 1 week at a time, no particular strategy. Perhaps option 3 is reflective of this.

My thoughts are JMac, in football terms only, isn't a given to be in our first 22.
I think that is a fair call and it only serves to make the whole thing all that more interesting.

My thoughts are JMac, in football terms only, isn't a given to be in our first 22. Obviously his leadership is valued highly and he still contributes, but I can't see him starring on-field.

A valuable, spare parts (ie midfielder/defence/bench) player this year I'd suggest.
Go with JMc or Junior for James McDonald. JMac being Joel Macdonald these days.

I think Junior is best suited to being a midfielder off the bench. Between Bruce, Joel Macdonald, Rivers and Warnock we have enough experience in the backline. I still believe he is best 22 and won't hinder our young midfielders. I'd start with Moloney and Jones as our clearance midfielders and bring Junior off the bench to rotate with them. He had some injuries and some flat games last season - and will almost certainly have some this year, but his last month of the season he proved his worth. He had 28, 27, 25, 28 and 26 disposals in his last 5 games respectively and 5 or more tackles in those games. His attack on the ball and tackling stood head and shoulders above most of our players in a lot of games last year.

I wouldn't put him in defence at all to be honest, as I'm not really sure it would suit his game.

I would just have him rotating between midfield and the bench. I disagree with his presence hindering the development of the youngsters though, as he will be able to offer them advice during matches which will only serve to help them in the long-run. Further, he sets a great example in his approach to football, which is also another positive trait for the new kids to pick up on.

I would also agree that he's no longer a certain starter in our best 22, and perhaps the club should keep him on in a non-playing capacity at the conclusion of this seasion to make use of his leadership skills beyond 2010.

I think Junior is best suited to being a midfielder off the bench. Between Bruce, Joel Macdonald, Rivers and Warnock we have enough experience in the backline. I still believe he is best 22 and won't hinder our young midfielders.
I agree with your assessment of our backline. I suspect that the FD would see it that way too. Whether that has a profound effect on how JMc is used is another question I guess.

His attack on the ball and tackling stood head and shoulders above most of our players in a lot of games last year.
No doubt he hasn't lost that aspect of his game mb.

I disagree with his presence hindering the development of the youngsters though,
I might point out that I personally don't think that, it is more the impression I get from some posters on multiple sites who seem to list JMc in defence as part of their starting 22. Just an observation.

Yeah, fair enough, I have definitely seen people say things to that effect as well when discussing our best 22 for next season.

I think he'll spend more time In the midfield than people think. You can't just expect Scully and Trengove to run through the midfield all year and Grimes shows a heap of promise but Is yet to show he can stand up all year.

personally i think he should of been retired at the end of last season, i certainly think he had less to offer this year then say Russel Robertson, if Scully and Trengove step up faster then expected, wouldnt be surprised by a midseason retirement

I was just about to say I woldn't be surprised to see Macdonald succumb to an injury during the year if his form is poor. I don't think Bailey would send him to the magoos, and I wouldn't want our club captain to play there either. I think he still has a role to play in our young midfield and I can even see him playing around the forwardline. He still has the amazing ability to tackle and find the footy which could be handy with all this frontal pressure now in football. Half to three quarters of gametime would be enough to warrant a spot in the team if he is contributing, but as soon as he plays a few bad games in a row, I wouldn't be surprised if he was rested for a number of weeks. I would love to see him go out on a high still playing good footy though, and I reckon he should get through 15 more games this season and help send the young boys off in the right direction on and off the field.