The Unofficial List Management thread... :-)

With the rookie list changes for 2018, why would we upgrade any of our current rookies?

When the re-signings happened of Glass, Cousins and Hanrahan, the club specified that they would be on the rookie list for 2018, so no upgrade is coming. CBF finding the link now.

But upgrading those kids would be a pointless exercise anyway.

Riding off a 20 year old is pretty dumb. He's in the same position Breust was at the same age

Not really - by season's start next year at the same age Breust had already played 17 games and kicked 30.15. Stewart will have played 7 games for a return of 5.2. Not remotely comparable. Well, not in a way that flatters Stewart.

I love Kade's courage and tackling pressure however he lacks pace and is caught in possession in the VFL which is a slower pace than the AFL.
I reckon Hartung gets one more season.

Not really - by season's start next year at the same age Breust had already played 17 games and kicked 30.15. Stewart will have played 7 games for a return of 5.2. Not remotely comparable. Well, not in a way that flatters Stewart.
Luke Breust hadn't even debut after two season's on the list, so yea they are comparable.

When Breust debuted he had an amazing season then followed it up. Then in his third season tied the AFL record for the most goals without a miss. So If we compare Stewart to Breust, Stewart should be having a massive few seasons.

Wasn't it Hartung that wanted to explore his opportunities less than the Hawks not wanting him and shopping him around?
Not sure, I know that Clarko said that he is annoyed with aspects of Billy's game.

AFL site has a post-trade predicted side for 2018 up. Somehow Miles gets a game ahead of shoenmakers, Langford, Hartung, Duryea and Glass. Not to mention Lovell, Cousins and O'rourke who will be right up there if injury free.

Glass looks like a ripper, get 50 games into him and watch him go. He might eventually be the best player in that first group. Cousins is also intelligent, just needs to harden his body. Lovell is the one I'm really hoping comes good. If he gets his shit together, I can see him and Mitchell going into beastmode.

If we stay relatively healthy, I reckon we can challenge in 2018. Adding Rioli and Frawley alone would strengthen us.

you guys are friggin' mental if you think getting rid of Stewart is a good idea.
From the games I saw of Kade Stewart at Box Hill, he beat his opponent. He marked better than I thought he could. We all know his disposal on the left is refined and he tackles better than a dingo on an baby.
He must stay

But Miles... needs to be Wanganeen... to survive 2018.

Are you certain about this?

I know that the AFL began to allow rookie upgrades to count as draft picks, but I thought the total of upgrades and picks needed to be 3, regardless of trades.

If you could find a link to this, I would appreciate it.

Rookies will now be depth players. Draft pickups will be project players. Reason: Rookie players can now play AFL from day 1 but can be let go after 1 year. Draft players can also play from day 1 but cannot be let go until 2 years. So you get your project players in the National draft and your depth players in the rookie draft.

Glass looks like a ripper, get 50 games into him and watch him go. He might eventually be the best player in that first group. Cousins is also intelligent, just needs to harden his body. Lovell is the one I'm really hoping comes good. If he gets his shit together, I can see him and Mitchell going into beastmode.

If we stay relatively healthy, I reckon we can challenge in 2018. Adding Rioli and Frawley alone would strengthen us.

You're severely overrating our list mate

You're severely overrating everyone else's list honestly.

Richmond won a premiership with Broad, Castagna, Butler, Townsend...

You're severely overrating everyone else's list honestly.

Richmond won a premiership with Broad, Castagna, Butler, Townsend...
Absolutely.

From the games I saw of Kade Stewart at Box Hill, he beat his opponent. He marked better than I thought he could. We all know his disposal on the left is refined and he tackles better than a dingo on an baby.
He must stay
He’s a very good VFL player.

I don't think he's had his training wheels let off yet.
I'd love to see him play with the only instruction to see ball get ball. Feel like he's too responsibilities conscious, worrying about his defensive role or whether it's 'his' turn to go and hunt the sherrin with other more senior players in the vicinity.
Think he could be a Terry Wallace/Scott West type if allowed to just fly in and burrow for the ball.
I reckon he'd find more of it and be more effective than Shiela as a true onballer.

I don't think he's had his training wheels let off yet.
I'd love to see him play with the only instruction to see ball get ball. Feel like he's too responsibilities conscious, worrying about his defensive role or whether it's 'his' turn to go and hunt the sherrin with other more senior players in the vicinity.
Think he could be a Terry Wallace/Scott West type if allowed to just fly in and burrow for the ball.
I reckon he'd find more of it and be more effective than Shiela as a true onballer.
I reckon we'll drop him and then he'll find success with another club.

The Unofficial List Management thread... :-)