Game Day Hawks head to the Handbagger Hub - Unofficial Match Simulation - Monday 17th February 2025 @ 2pm AEDT

Day is such a jet! He is so explosive with a side step to die for and barring injury will be a dominant force this year both midfield and pushing forward. We may have won the flag last year if he didn’t get injured!

If he plays 22 games and we play finals everyone is sleeping on him for the Brownlow.

Kicks both feet and looks to be adding that forward craft this year!
Does the tough stuff and ozzes the class.

The positive was we didn't get flogged like we normally do down there.
In saying that the Cats should have been 8-10 goals up at half time.

Our forward line looked average early which is no surprise without Dear and Watson.

Day was great, Newk did his thing and Worps worked into it. McKenzie did some nice things. We need him to come on badly to add some class to our blue collar midfield.

All the youngsters had promising moments late in the game. No injuries, take it and on to the Bulldogs with hopefully 5 or 6 inclusions.

Day looks ready to be a top 10 player in the comp.

Battle looked like he was born to play hok ball.

Cam looks ready to be the top 10 pick we need him to be. Just looked composed and had that extra bit of confidence that time in the system gives you.

That midfield unit looks solid. Sucks to be the boys on the fringe like Huss (who looked good in the last).

Hardwick has serious forward craft, uses his body in marking contests so well.

Chol competed well, great pressure for a key forward. He's always going to miss a few contested grabs but he makes up for it with his second efforts.

Scrimmers had a delicious one handed pick up through traffic that started a goal chain.

And best of all, no injuries. Let's see what the wizard can conjure in Tassie.

Got there late and had to leave early, so only watched the middle of the game. They could have opened another stand there was definitely more people there then they planned on. Saw Scaife at half time taking pot shots at goal. Kicked a torp from 60m missed but easily made the distance was pretty impressive. Meek, day and chol were all good when I was watching. Mackenzie looked good 👍. Also bailey McDonald did a few good things in the midfield had to look up he's number but the #42 did well.

wow, a glimpse of McCabe and Ryan was enough, they are future great AFL players. So excited.
McCabe might be the 2025 Calsher Dear, he looked to be a great option up forward.
Didn't think any of the possibles looked anything other than depth players.
Didn't read absolutely anything into the result.

Did anyone else think we looked completely substandard that first half? Can't be blamed for being rusty, but we couldn't hit a target and no cohesion whatsoever. No resemblance at all to the side we saw second half last year. We looked much, much better in the third, but still, was probably hoping for us to look a bit more polished.

If Day improves his goal kicking he can be the best player in the comp.
Meek is awesome and Reeves an excellent back up.
Ward gets lost in games. Disappears for extended periods.
Reckon Weddle is better given a task in the backline, or running at the ball as a forward. Not sure he has the nous to play through the middle.
Morrison is a very consistent, dependable footballer.
Battle is quick.
CMacD could do a little more of the hard stuff.
Chol was good. But we can’t go into games with him as the only big man up forward. Especially if we continue to kick to the hot spot so often. Too predictable. Second half much better with Gunston off and more talls up there.

Solid, if unspectacular start.

Today was a really good hit out for the boys against quality opposition. Reckon there was a crowd of about 3k there to watch the proceedings. We started slowly but really worked into our gears before resting players and experimenting with different set ups, which is what a match practice is for.
  • Really liked the way Blake Hardwick threw his body around up forward today - had some really good moments and helped set up scoring opportunities.
  • Day was absolutely scintillating - with a full preseason under his belt for the first time in his career, he looks ready to dominate.
  • Mackenzie just oozes class - makes the difficult look easy and will only get better.
  • Newcombe and Worpel were both excellent in the middle and look primed for a big 2025.
  • Chol attacked the contests and scored his two goals - wasn’t easy with him with the lack of tall support in the first half, especially when Geelong played a spare back.
  • Battle complements the backline so well - reads the play and knows where to be, while his kicking off both feet is terrific.
  • Harry Morrison worked well on his wing and was often playing on Jeremy Cameron - H looked assured with the ball in hand and kicked a goal.
  • Gunners picking the ball off the ground at full speed showed that his back is cherry ripe and his directing of the forward line was definitely beneficial.
  • Loved seeing Frosty back out there - he attacked every contest with purpose and determination and was safe with the ball in hand. During the first quarter he was having a chat with Weddle about positioning and you can see how valuable he is to the team.
  • Nash’s kicking inside 50 was to dangerous areas and he tried to give the forwards the best opportunity to mark or create a contest.
Will be fascinating to see who we roll out next week against the Bulldogs. UTAS will suit the game plan better and we will get a real good look at the coaching groups thinking for round one.
So many positives to come out of the game, especially when you consider our last few trips to the Cattery have been thumpings. All looks to be on the right track for us this year.
Good analysis. Given your proximity to the club, what do you think the thinking was with playing just Gunston and Chol as the tall forwards in the first half? Just to see if it could work? My assumption was that they would give Ramsden/Scaife a few quarters each with the two of them to test options.

Seemed to me that this one played out like what you want to get from a practice game. Any complacency will be gone. We were sluggish in the beginning and paid the price on the scoreboard. However we lifted our tempo and got back into the contest without ever playing really desperate footy.

Among individual players, Meek, Worpel, Day, Newcombe, Nash and Mackenzie all performed well. Battle was impressive. Ryan, McCabe and Mraz all had moments and could see game time this year. I haven't written off Seamus or BMac.

In short, we will be better for the gallop.

Hopefully Ramsden has a better game against the Doggies. We really need him to take that next step, especially while Dear and Lewis are out.

On the plus side McCabe looked promising as a forward.
Maybe it’s just me but I don’t see anything to get excited about with Ramma, but dear god I hope I am wrong.

I got more excited seeing McCabe and Mraz take a couple of marks.

Ramma has a problem with his "pace" atm, might be speed of thinking and decision making, something that should improve with time.
The only real thing I took out of that match yesterday, is that if Day and Frost had not got injured, we would have been grand finalists last year. Win it? Don't know, but would have fancied our chances at the MCG v Brisbane.

Good workout, probably the right opposition and ground to blow out the cobwebs. MCG against a lesser side wouldn't have been as effective. The Cats had some good clearances but seemed to rely on Hawks turnovers to score. Easter Monday will be very different.

Still frustrating to see Hawthorn celebrate 100 years of bombing the ball into the Cat's backline but with the Ins to come, the eyes will lower and the options will open up. Bring it on.

Game Day Hawks head to the Handbagger Hub - Unofficial Match Simulation - Monday 17th February 2025 @ 2pm AEDT