List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 8

Taranto deal was good, but if we'd had a mid term view and taken Bowes and Pick 7 instead of Hopper we would be in a much better position. Not saying Bowes is great but solid and in the right age bracket. Would mean we would have Jye Clarke and last years pick 6, (Riley Sanders). All of a sudden our rebuild of the midfield is 2 years further progressed with Clarke and Sanders already in alongside Taranto, KMac2 and Sonsie. One more top 2 pick elite mid this year and we aren't far off our mids for the next 10 years.

Hopper was the deal that set us back thinking he would be the difference for one more flag. Geelong were happy to take the medium term view and paying off now.

No, we would have last year's pick 8 after Jed Walters and McKay compo pick, which was Daniel Curtin (massive go-home factor if I remember correctly).

Also, Jye Clarke has yet to show that he can even develop into a better player than Hopper considering that the Cats having midfield issues of their own and he isn't being played there consistently.

Why wouldnt he just say im a contracted player and very much happy and love the club and have no intention to play else where.

That would have shut up all speculation for the rest to the year , Now he will just keep getting ask same questions

Cause he doesn't have 2 days to think through the question to then provide a detailed and flawless response?

TIGER LOCKED IN

RHYAN Mansell has secured a new two-year deal to extend his time at Richmond.

The 23-year-old will remain at Punt Road until at least the end of 2026.

Mansell joined the Tigers via the pre-season supplemental selection period in 2021 after playing for Woodville-West Torrens in the SANFL.

The Tasmanian played 17 games last year and is now up to 41 AFL appearances, after adding nine games to his name to start 2024.

Mansell won't feature in Dreamtime at the 'G this Saturday night after entering concussion protocols in the loss to Brisbane last weekend. – Josh Gabelich

I’m not worried about Rioli he is contracted until 2027, unless the suns make an offer too good to refuse like 2 top 10 picks or something similar then there is not much chance of him leaving. If the suns do make an offer like that then it’s a win-win
they can afford to loose 2 top 10 picks too

id be all over that

TIGER LOCKED IN

Mansell joined the Tigers via the pre-season supplemental selection period in 2021 after playing for Woodville-West Torrens in the SANFL.

The Tasmanian played 17 games last year and is now up to 41 AFL appearances, after adding nine games to his name to start 2024.

Mansell won't feature in Dreamtime at the 'G this Saturday night after entering concussion protocols in the loss to Brisbane last weekend. – Josh Gabelich
genuinely think he should be delisted

See

TIGER LOCKED IN

What is the upside to re-signing him for 2 more years
Can’t see him our team later this year when we have some players let alone in 2 years

TIGER LOCKED IN

Very smart, trade him back to Tassie when they're in their windows.

See

What is the upside to re-signing him for 2 more years
Can’t see him our team later this year when we have some players let alone in 2 years

Personally, I think Mansell has the potential to be a very effective small fwd for us.

We might laugh at this player, but you cannot deny that someone like Gryan Miers went from a player that supporters laughed at (probably because of the way he kicked the ball), to becoming one of the deadliest kicks into the fwd 50 for a small fwd.

I'm not saying the Mansell can develop the accuracy of Miers with his kicking, but Miers went from a, let's be honest, sht player into one of the best players in his position, so I'm not willing to write Mansell off just yet, especially when he's shown that he is a good pressure and tackling player who does well in the air given his size.

People here are not rating Mansell but there is Logic to re signing him

We will have a young list of players and possibly losing Rioli & Baker

Tassie will also come into the equation when they enter and Mansell is the exact type of player they will be looking to bring in for experience and leadership and he will be 26 years old at that time with 100 games

They will not be attracting super stars and cant fill the list with just kids
Brendon Gale & Jack Riewoldt would also have a say

I think both the Club and the AFL game of footy and it's tactics are at the cross roads with the intro of so many new teams!
The AFL footy talent alone is being further diluted...
Long gone are the days of champions across every line...ala Carlton, RFC, Brisbane...or playing in sole positions like full back SOS...Hudson...Dunstall...
Traditional positions on the footy field are being usurped...no more ruck/rovers, rovers...just a plethora of Mids!
Throw in the machinations of the AFL and the days of recognizing early Flag favourites are gone...eg Footscray came from nowhere in 2016!
Make no mistake! AFL Equalization is as big a playing hurdle to overcome as diluted available talent...and good oppo teams!...
All things being equal..ie...with Club Admins...then Clubs either wait for their turn of GF success via the AFL Equalization Plan...a possible 20 year wait! Or the Club plans for success long term!
Time to tear the old AFL Footy Traditional Book of Tactics up and explore new ways...
We had a hint of that with the 2017 GF Team...small zippy forwards surrounding JR8...
I remember Coach Belichick with the NRL Team New England Patriots winning a Title with smaller in size but faster forwards!
Recruiting a certain type of player...fast...good kicks...endurance...player management...has to be the way of the future...
Smaller fast forwards with blinding pace...and kicking the ball short and into space is one idea...
Success is not about following/doing what the other 17 teams are doing..
But exploring other viable options...
Players that can cope with heat stress...not playing a dinosaur ruckman...picking players/sides to play certain grounds...

happy for Mansell, he currently deserves the extension.
also happy it's only a 2 year contract.
defiantly need to upgrade when possible

they can afford to loose 2 top 10 picks too

id be all over that
After reading the Cotch book it seems like Rioli is a huge part of our culture. He was also the one at the end of 2021 challenged Bolton and made the competition with him for upping his training standards. I would rather try and sell Short for a 2nd rounder than lose someone who has a huge impact on the younger players.

Our backline (and forward line to be fair) could really use a person like Houli as a leader to help foster the connection. I think a major part of the backing success was the bonding they did as a group on those camping trips Houli organised.

Can easily see us being bottom the next 2 years. Looking likely that 2 of and maybe all of Baker, Graham and Dan Rioli will leave this year. Happy to bottom out and hit the draft and hopefully get lucky being early pick in msd, rookie drafts also. Ed Richards is FA end of 2025 would love to get him. Going to need to poach a ruck as Naismith gone, Kozitsche and Ryan not looking likely long term, would love to steal Ned Moyle as Nanks replacement instead of stop gap ruckman.

We're gonna hopefully use decent picks to try land a KPF who can hold the position for the next 10-15 years. Our current crop of players don't really warrant decent salaries apart from Balta. Our war chest should be insane if the AFL does lower the minimum cap spend to 90-92%. Bank that and throw the biggest offer to Tom Green and any other FA who can fill a void. Our next 10-15 years are riding on Toce so fingers crossed he wasn't a lazy appointment like Meehan.

After reading the Cotch book it seems like Rioli is a huge part of our culture. He was also the one at the end of 2021 challenged Bolton and made the competition with him for upping his training standards. I would rather try and sell Short for a 2nd rounder than lose someone who has a huge impact on the younger players.

Our backline (and forward line to be fair) could really use a person like Houli as a leader to help foster the connection. I think a major part of the backing success was the bonding they did as a group on those camping trips Houli organised.

Dimma really rates Short. I remember about maybe 3-4 years ago I asked Dimma at a meet and greet who he thought our next captain would be and he nominated Short. Fair to say also that Shorts form was excellent under Dimma, much better than what he is producing now.

Not unlikely if we tell GC that Rioli is off the table Dimma is prepared to overpay for Short.

Current Draft Picks as of Round 10

2, 22, 30, 40, 41, 48, 58, 70, 73
The way we have picked up picks has been pretty impressive. 5 picks inside 30 in 2021, looks like 3 this year at a minimim,maybe a 4th and 5th by trading points, and then picks back for whoever leaves... normally it is 2 picks a year roughly, so it's like 3 to 4 years worth of picks this year. That's a textbook rebuild!! Kudo's to whoever managed that.

Downside being that the players we picked haven't really kicked on! Let's hope Toce smashes it this year, or maybe it's to do with drafts. 2018, every player in the top18 was great!!

Ned Moyle should be a target , will most likely be dropped or limited opportunities once Witts returns from injury whilst Nank is cooked.
Trade short for him dimma wants running defender we need a good ruck over 200cm

Realistically say a club came knocking... What do you kents reckon it would take to get Bolton out of Punt Rd?

U've all seen how dogshite our small forwards are, it would be the best trade since Judd for us even if we had to fork up a lot of picks.
You don't have any picks

Who said Ed Richards was no good when I said we should target him a few weeks ago? :think:

He's been the in form player of the comp since then.

I think both the Club and the AFL game of footy and it's tactics are at the cross roads with the intro of so many new teams!
The AFL footy talent alone is being further diluted...
Long gone are the days of champions across every line...ala Carlton, RFC, Brisbane...or playing in sole positions like full back SOS...Hudson...Dunstall...
Traditional positions on the footy field are being usurped...no more ruck/rovers, rovers...just a plethora of Mids!
Throw in the machinations of the AFL and the days of recognizing early Flag favourites are gone...eg Footscray came from nowhere in 2016!
Make no mistake! AFL Equalization is as big a playing hurdle to overcome as diluted available talent...and good oppo teams!...
All things being equal..ie...with Club Admins...then Clubs either wait for their turn of GF success via the AFL Equalization Plan...a possible 20 year wait! Or the Club plans for success long term!
Time to tear the old AFL Footy Traditional Book of Tactics up and explore new ways...
We had a hint of that with the 2017 GF Team...small zippy forwards surrounding JR8...
I remember Coach Belichick with the NRL Team New England Patriots winning a Title with smaller in size but faster forwards!
Recruiting a certain type of player...fast...good kicks...endurance...player management...has to be the way of the future...
Smaller fast forwards with blinding pace...and kicking the ball short and into space is one idea...
Success is not about following/doing what the other 17 teams are doing..
But exploring other viable options...
Players that can cope with heat stress...not playing a dinosaur ruckman...picking players/sides to play certain grounds...
The talent is def spread thinner , ffs take a look at the team coll field ea week and they’re a flag fav . Draft 3 guns and seriously it could take you a long way , it’s why GC could be very dangerous in coming years unless they’re picked off , thankfully swans and giants look to be losing a few to FA and WB too