TheDon35

Sep 18, 2007
cricket
Gumby, Daniher, Williams, Neagle, Watson all in rehab group but all looked to be moving around ok.

- Dempsey looks to have improved his kicking dramatically. Was hitting targets over distance faltlessly and at speed. Looks like he's sorted out the sometimes awkward drop he's had.

- Jetta looks ripped and extremely quick. Skills were imaculate

- Houli and Reimers both are very fit and skills were sensational.

- Pears and myers both moving around really well. Excellent foot disposal and movement across the ground. Pears looks alot like Maguire of St Kilda in terms of size but looks quicker.

- Hooker looks like he's about 7 years away from it. Looked slow and awkward, skills were ordinary and I wouldn't expect to see him for a few years

- Daniher has a terrible kicking action. Drops the ball from far to high up and looses control on many occasions

- Hislop's looking extremely fit and seemed to have a bit more penetration on his kick's. Was very clean with his first grabs

- Ryder to me looks like the one who will become a star of the comp this year. Really working hard. Looks like he's put on about 4 kg. skills were at another level and marking is very clean.

- Lee doesn't look up to it. One kick hits, the next misses. One mark he takes, the next he drops.

- Lonergan was moving very well and looks really fit and quick which suprised me a bit.

- JJ looks like it's all gone past him

All in all, I reckon if Knights makes a gutsy call to play the youngsters we can expect a really positive year with plenty of improvement. These kids look like our best players if you were to go along to training and didn't know any better.

Top work :thumbsu:
Suprised to hear your comments on JJ though, iv'e been hearing that he is looking fit and has been training well.

What gave you the impression that it's gone past him?

Training Fri 25/01/08

Slightly longer run today compared to other Fridays.
Mod group was Neagle,Bellchambers,Watson,Daniher,Williams and Gumbelton.
Winderlich wasnt on the track. He has had a lower back problem but apparently is close to resuming full training.
Dean Dick was out of the mod group.
Johns actually trained with the main group today :eek:
The intensity was pretty good.
The skill level was slightly down on Wednesday.
The intensity was pretty high. Things got pretty willing in one of the full contact handball drills. The boys where going in pretty hard and laying strong tackles.So much so that they called an end to that drill before someone did some serious damage.It was good to watch though.
Don 35 has put in his report on the other board so there is not much else to say about today.

Good to see soeone else getting a report in :thumbsu:

I can't agree with what you said about JJ. At the moment he is training better than he has at any stage in the last three years.Even his kicking has been better which has not always been the case during training.

Hooker is a bit awkward looking but he is a spectualive pick at the bottom end of a week draft. For a guy his height his pace is reasonable. He has missed a couple weeks of training so he wasn't going at full pace. It is likely he won't really amount to anyhting but i will wait and see him play a few games for Bendigo.

Dempsey did have his kicking boot on today but im not sold on him having the problem sorted just yet. He kicked a few wobblers on wednesday and until i see him continually hitting tragets i wont be saying he has sorted the problem.

One thing to remember with Daniher is he is coming off a shoulder reco and this week is the first week he has been allowed to kick the footy. His action isnt going to look great until he is allowed to put more of a workload on his shoulder. You are right in saying he has a different looking kicking action though.

Thanks TheDon35 & Ant :thumbsu:

What are your thought on Lee Ant?

Well lets just say if you asked me the 6 or 7 players i think we will delist at the end of the year Lee would be in the number one position.
I agree with Don35 , i dont think he will make it.

thanks again guys, youur efforts are much appreciated. Has there been any real stand-outs as far as performance goes or any players that are struggling lately? Im really interested on how Lovett is going as well, im hoping he can have a big year

i thought we were playing the australian day game in LA. What happened with that?

Gumby, Daniher, Williams, Neagle, Watson all in rehab group but all looked to be moving around ok.

- Dempsey looks to have improved his kicking dramatically. Was hitting targets over distance faltlessly and at speed. Looks like he's sorted out the sometimes awkward drop he's had.

- Jetta looks ripped and extremely quick. Skills were imaculate

- Houli and Reimers both are very fit and skills were sensational.

- Pears and myers both moving around really well. Excellent foot disposal and movement across the ground. Pears looks alot like Maguire of St Kilda in terms of size but looks quicker.

- Hooker looks like he's about 7 years away from it. Looked slow and awkward, skills were ordinary and I wouldn't expect to see him for a few years

- Daniher has a terrible kicking action. Drops the ball from far to high up and looses control on many occasions

- Hislop's looking extremely fit and seemed to have a bit more penetration on his kick's. Was very clean with his first grabs

- Ryder to me looks like the one who will become a star of the comp this year. Really working hard. Looks like he's put on about 4 kg. skills were at another level and marking is very clean.

- Lee doesn't look up to it. One kick hits, the next misses. One mark he takes, the next he drops.

- Lonergan was moving very well and looks really fit and quick which suprised me a bit.

- JJ looks like it's all gone past him

All in all, I reckon if Knights makes a gutsy call to play the youngsters we can expect a really positive year with plenty of improvement. These kids look like our best players if you were to go along to training and didn't know any better.
Cheers mate. That is a great rundown. Will pop down and have a look myself in the next couple of weeks.
Dempsey, Jetta, Houli, Reimers, Pears, Myers, Hislop, Ryder etc are the kids we want to come through and cement positions in the best 22 and it is great to hear positive reports about them. Some will make it this year whilst some have the next couple of years to make their mark. There is some serious talent in the names I mentioned and Im quite excited about the kids we have on our list. Of course, in the next 2-3 years is when we'll see them coming through and really starting to make an impact, but Ii like what I hear for now. Other than Ryder, Id pick Hislop to be a gun from that list. Jetta oozes class too. Good to have finally cemented in my mind the fact that Jetta IS willing to put in the hard yards to make AFL. A very bright prospect for the Bombers. I can see him becoming my 2nd favourite player behind Ryder very soon.

What time was training? I turned up this morning (Monday) after 10am and was told there wasn't any today.

Nevermind, I went to the Bombershop and picked up the GF pack for $70 (a great price). Also organised tickets for a few games during the year.

Training 25/01 - Player updates