VoteCompass 2022

The LNP is on record saying they want to keep wages down.

Virtually no immigration the last 2 years has seen a massive drop in the unemployment level.

Fair enough, have you got a link for this? And if they want to keep wages down is it because they want to keep the poor poor, or do you think there is another motive? Genuine question, I'd be surprised if the mo is to keep poor people poor because they just want to be cruel.

I think that'd be counterproductive for themselves.

Fair enough, have you got a link for this? And if they want to keep wages down is it because they want to keep the poor poor, or do you think there is another motive? Genuine question, I'd be surprised if the mo is to keep poor people poor because they just want to be cruel.

I think that'd be counterproductive for themselves.

lol there's no way that someone could 'bury' a dentist's income and claim Austudy.
A time when the Bursar's office was 10 deep paying the account in cash. And an armoured truck collected the days taking.

The 'good old days' when a humble delicatessen owner could send his son to the best schools. Who would then go on to comment on leaders and lifters.

On SM-A515F using BigFooty.com mobile app

........I think tradies buying a $35k car every 2 years, getting $20k from the govt, then selling it for $20k after those 2 years and making $5k profit is a particularly obscene one.....

As a self employed business owner I'd absolutely love to know how to get away with that. Where does the "$20K from the government" come from?

I think you're a little confused about the "rules"

Short version, there's 2 ways to depreciate capital ( Not just cars ) assets bought by the business/sole trader.

If you choose to sell the asset before it's fully depreciated then there is an "adjustment event" that becomes INCOME.

Let's take your example.

Old mate buys $35K car, uses instant asset write off. Assuming held across 3 x FYs

FY#1 - $35K deduction, straight off the top of Gross Income
FY#2 - No deduction for said car
FY#3 - No deduction for said car, and $20K ( Less GST ) INCOME and goes back to line 1 for the new vehicle, assuming instant asset write off is still around then. It's only recently been introduced.

Depreciation method is slightly different, but you still end up with the adjustment event if asset has not fully depreciated. ( Accountants can chime in here with time period, I've never let a business car get that old )

As a self employed business owner I'd absolutely love to know how to get away with that. Where does the "$20K from the government" come from?

I think you're a little confused about the "rules"

Short version, there's 2 ways to depreciate capital ( Not just cars ) assets bought by the business/sole trader.

If you choose to sell the asset before it's fully depreciated then there is an "adjustment event" that becomes INCOME.

Let's take your example.

Old mate buys $35K car, uses instant asset write off. Assuming held across 3 x FYs

FY#1 - $35K deduction, straight off the top of Gross Income
FY#2 - No deduction for said car
FY#3 - No deduction for said car, and $20K ( Less GST ) INCOME and goes back to line 1 for the new vehicle, assuming instant asset write off is still around then. It's only recently been introduced.

Depreciation method is slightly different, but you still end up with the adjustment event if asset has not fully depreciated. ( Accountants can chime in here with time period, I've never let a business car get that old )

Instant asset write off.

The thing that bothers me most about this compass - other than the short list of questions making it a pretty shallow analysis - is that it manages to frame some perfectly understandable and shared views as somehow extremest. The furthest left is held by the Greens, and the furthest right by the Lib/Nats. I would like the actual socialists represented somewhere, despite their narrow appeal, and some of the smaller right-wing outfits too.

I don’t know how this is corrected, but I would like them to release a version alongside the existing one that shows some better threshold examples from overseas, in the hope of correcting the view that believing that Australia could increase its migration levels and not impound children offshore and deny them proper medical treatment puts you on some kind of level of extremest socialism.

The thing that bothers me most about this compass - other than the short list of questions making it a pretty shallow analysis - is that it manages to frame some perfectly understandable and shared views as somehow extremest. The furthest left is held by the Greens, and the furthest right by the Lib/Nats. I would like the actual socialists represented somewhere, despite their narrow appeal, and some of the smaller right-wing outfits too.

I don’t know how this is corrected, but I would like them to release a version alongside the existing one that shows some better threshold examples from overseas, in the hope of correcting the view that believing that Australia could increase its migration levels and not impound children offshore and deny them proper medical treatment puts you on some kind of level of extremest socialism.
i don't think the ABC want's to do that, if they did their compass wouldn't have been setup like it was
They are getting pretty s**t after years of effort from the libs to gut and shift them right

lol there's no way that someone could 'bury' a dentist's income and claim Austudy.
Have enough investment properties and cycle the income through the “business”… I’m sure you could come out with a very “low” income

Too many tax dodges out there

i don't think the ABC want's to do that, if they did their compass wouldn't have been setup like it was
They are getting pretty s**t after years of effort from the libs to gut and shift them right
What counts as an objective news source then?

Lefties here s**t all over the HUN, news.com.au, the age, and now the abc. I think the age and abc are usually reasonable.

Broadly overall the ABC is excellent and pretty neutral, I laugh when anyone suggests otherwise

The ABC used to be better, they had more funding, more local reporters, its become a lot more Sydney centric

The quality of coverage is down across the board, Leigh Sales was asking who the greens were going to send their preferences to which ffs that's not how our voting works and we shouldn't have the host of the supposed flagship program doing that
The vote compass might be more doing favors for ALP than the coalition but it's certainly not balanced coverage

Broadly overall the ABC is excellent and pretty neutral, I laugh when anyone suggests otherwise
Righties can it for being too left. Now lefties are canning it for being too right.

The ABC used to be better, they had more funding, more local reporters, its become a lot more Sydney centric

The quality of coverage is down across the board, Leigh Sales was asking who the greens were going to send their preferences to which ffs that's not how our voting works and we shouldn't have the host of the supposed flagship program doing that
The vote compass might be more doing favors for ALP than the coalition but it's certainly not balanced coverage
What are your preferred sources of objective news then?

Righties can it for being too left. Now lefties are canning it for being too right.
tbf in the past I have said that if anything it can have a minor leaning to the left which I'm fine with because the right dominates the commercial media but even that is probably unfair. I think they do a good job with tax payers money of remaining unbiased.

What are your preferred sources of objective news then?
Define objective.....
This idea that media is unbiased and just reporting is bogus
Fairfax was decent until they got bought by 9
They can still produce good journalism but they shouldn't have the reputation they used to because they aren't the same

I still check ABC and SBS regularly and guardian aus which is obviously the most left of the group by far

Again its an example. They make a profit buying a ute/Ranger every 2 years so that the Libs can win all the seats in the Hills District (I assume most cities have similar rich/blue colour suburbs).
There might be something in that. I have always wondered why Bayswater is a Liberal seat (Vic) / Aston (Fed)

There might be something in that. I have always wondered why Bayswater is a Liberal seat (Vic)
Casey is a mix of outer metro and rural You've got some hippies up in the hills but there are a lot of church going types, some expensive private schools, some real pockets of cash as well as people that probs just grew up in middle clas liberal families

Just looked it up, Bayswater is Labor now, from the Danslide :drunk:. But it had been Liberal for 12 years previously. Which is odd if you have ever been to Boronia.

Federally Bayswater is Tudge(Aston)
Bayswater North is Sukkar (Deakin)
Next out is Casey which is retiring former speaker Tony Smith
That whole area federally has been fairly blue
State level yeah different, be interesting to see if that translates federally this election or not

Yeah that's not wanting to keep wages down, he clearly said he wants wages growth through market dictation rather than enforce a higher minimum wage via legislation.

That's not wanting to keep the poor people poor.

Ok so how did the Government magically reduce the unemployment level now? That they are taking credit for?

Not sure the government did, more likely it was private enterprise that did. In any case none of that points to your theory that the government wants the poor to stay poor. And there isn't a valid reason for such a want, it's counterproductive.

2 things brought down unemployment …
1. virtually no immigration … and no one mentions this.

2. 200 billion in government spending that went straight into consumer spending.

Private enterprise had nothing to do with it …. Other than benefiting from money printing.

2 things brought down unemployment …
1. virtually no immigration … and no one mentions this.

2. 200 billion in government spending that went straight into consumer spending.

Private enterprise had nothing to do with it …. Other than benefiting from money printing.

1. That was a result of covid, not a deliberation by govt.
2. It's the businesses out there employing people, not the government.
3. You still haven't linked any evidence that govt. wants to keep the poor people poor or why they would.
3A. It's a nuts theory to think that somehow govt. would want to do this. It's counter productive.
4. Consumer spending drives demand for employees, more consuming = need more employees to provide products and services.