State Focus WA 2024 - Western Australia’s junior footy talent

He has a broken hand and it is in a splint, has been out for some time. But still looking super fit so hopefully will be back soon.
Thanks mate....very helpful.....As soon as he's back I'll take him out of the injury list and put him on the main list.

Actually, while you are here....where is Anthony Hansen? Haven't seen him this year. Yet named in the state squad!

Thanks mate....very helpful.....As soon as he's back I'll take him out of the injury list and put him on the main list.

Actually, while you are here....where is Anthony Hansen? Haven't seen him this year. Yet named in the state squad!
Have not seen Anthony for awhile. I don't think he has been training consistently either. He is a real talent but was a little surprised he was named in state squad over some of the other lads.

Yeah for sure. Ok thanks man.

Not sure if you are 34 for the Black Ducks but if so keep up the great work in the backline. If not, thanks for the great info and please do contribute more often.

Futbolista do you know much about this lad? Only played the one WAFL game last year for South Fremantle.
Pretty impressive game for his school here

Attachments

• IMG_6467.jpeg
    IMG_6467.jpeg
    223.6 KB · Views: 36
Futbolista do you know much about this lad? Only played the one WAFL game last year for South Fremantle.
Pretty impressive game for his school here
I watched some of his game in PSA. Big stocky midfielder. Imposing. What did you think of him?

Fun to look back at how things have turned out in 2024 from the final 2022 WA list we made. Some have done well, others not so but most are still playing.

1-Jedd Busslinger (EP).....(AFL)
2-Elijah Hewett (SD).....(AFL)
3-Reuben Ginbey (EP/PSA).....(AFL)
4-Sam Gilbey
(CL/PSA).....Res
5-Darcy Jones (SD).....(AFL)
6-Ed Allan
(CL/PSA).....(AFL)
7-Kaleb Smith (EF/PSA).....(AFL)
8-Kane Bevan (WP).....(WAFL League)
9-Jack Cleaver (EF).....(WAFL League)
10-Jed Adams (PT).....(AFL)
11-Jed Hagan (EF).....(WAFL League)
12-Ryan Newick (S).....(WAFL League)
13-Steely Green (SF).....(AFL)
14-Josh Draper (PT).....(AFL)
15-Christian Wilson (SF).....Res

16-Luke Michael (WP)
17-Jackson Broadbent (PT)
18-Jasper Scaife (WP).....(WAFL League)
19-Jordyn Baker (EP).....(AFL)
20-Hugh Davies (CL/PSA).....(AFL)
21-Harry Cole (CL/PSA)...Res

22-Noah Farrow (WP)
23-Tyrell Dewar (S).....(AFL)
24-Michael Sellwood+ (PT).....(WAFL League)
25-Griff Julian (WP).....(WAFL League)

26-Byron Finch (PT).....(VFL League)
27-Sokaa Soka+ (EP).....Res
28-Connor McDonald (P/PSA).....(WAFL League)
29-Baxter Phillip (P).....(WAFL League)
30-Corey Tregenza-Cashell+ (PT).....(WAFL League)
31-Mitch Barron
(CL).....Res
32-Chase Bourne (SF).....(WAFL League)

33-Josh Sukuroski (CL)
34-Oscar Hine-Baston (P/PSA).....(WAFL League)
35-Conrad Williams (CL/PSA).....(AFL)
36-Rohan MacNeill (CL)
37-Max Mumme+ (CL).....(WAFL League)
38-Darcy Miller (EP).....Res
39-Jonah Brooks (EP/PSA).....Res
40-Joel Rush (PT) (League VFL)
41-Robert Hansen Jnr (S).....(AFL)
42-Jack Poole+ (P).....(WAFL League)
43-William Cassidy (EP/PSA).....Res
44-Jacob Evitt (S).....Res
45-Daniel Hill+ (P).....(WAFL League)

Fun to look back at how things have turned out in 2024 from the final 2022 WA list. Some have done well, others not so but most are still playing.

4-Sam Gilbey
(CL/PSA).....Res
6-Ed Allan
(CL/PSA).....(AFL)
16-Jackson Broadbent (PT)
17-Luke Michael (WP)
22-Noah Farrow (WP)

31-Mitch Barron
(CL).....Res

33-Josh Sukuroski (CL)
36-Rohan MacNeill (CL)
40-Joel Rush (PT)
Awesome effort cheers

I heard today that the State 18’s will be playing a practice match in a couple weeks against a WAFL 21’s side (selected by afl clubs who put forward a list of overagers they wanted to see play). I think it’s a great concept and should be fun to watch.

Ok cool. Hopefully the final 35 is picked by monday.....yeah the WA U/21's.....interesting

Be interesting to see if any of those U/21 boys are pulled from the WAFL league teams....I'd be peeved if Hagan and Cleaver are pulled for a meaningless practice match v younger kids, if I was EF coach Bill Monaghan....also can see a few other coaches not being happy either.

Interested to see that 21s list!

Be interesting to see if any of those U/21 boys are pulled from the WAFL league teams....I'd be peeved if Hagan and Cleaver are pulled for a meaningless practice match v younger kids, if I was EF coach Bill Monaghan....also can see a few other coaches not being happy either.
Wonder if it will align with the WAFL State game bye?

Fun to look back at how things have turned out in 2024 from the final 2022 WA list we made. Some have done well, others not so but most are still playing.

4-Sam Gilbey
(CL/PSA).....Res
6-Ed Allan
(CL/PSA).....(AFL)

16-Luke Michael (WP)

22-Noah Farrow (WP)

31-Mitch Barron
(CL).....Res

33-Josh Sukuroski (CL)
36-Rohan MacNeill (CL)
40-Joel Rush (PT)
Only 5 not in the AFL/WAFL system anymore is pleasing to see!

4-Sam Gilbey
(CL/PSA).....Res
6-Ed Allan
(CL/PSA).....(AFL)

16-Luke Michael (WP)

22-Noah Farrow (WP)

31-Mitch Barron
(CL).....Res

33-Josh Sukuroski (CL)
36-Rohan MacNeill (CL)
40-Joel Rush (PT)
Iam a peel fan so the boys in grey Jackson Broadbent did move to south Fremantle last year but is now just playing local footy and Joel Rush has left peel and is with GWS VFL. I’m not quite sure about the other boys think some fallen out of love with the game which is sad to see but on a good note is good to see a lot of the highly rated colt graduates go on to still play high levels on footy.

I can’t explain the number of under-agers. They can’t get drafted this year. It’s very strange.
This year's group is terrible and can't be salvaged.

Some of the guys at the very top end of Futbolista's list won't be getting picked up.

Why do you think this is the case? Last year was very strong for WA (I think), it one year it's completely flipped? Or is the start of something we'll see more of?

I still think WA has to aim for getting 10 drafted (Including mid-season) this year. I know we wont get 17 drafted like in 2022 and 2023 but we have to at least give the draft age guys that opportunity to impress.

But yeah 2025 is very exciting.

4-Sam Gilbey
(CL/PSA).....Res
6-Ed Allan
(CL/PSA).....(AFL)

16-Luke Michael (WP)

22-Noah Farrow (WP)

31-Mitch Barron
(CL).....Res

33-Josh Sukuroski (CL)
36-Rohan MacNeill (CL)
40-Joel Rush (PT)

You'd think a few of these undrafted guys would be on the radar for AFL clubs. Jasper Scaife is just about a certainty to be taken in the MSD and you'd think clubs would be putting due diligence into Hagan and Bevan.

Can't believe that Broadbent never kicked on, early days he looked every bit a top 20 draft selection. One of the better tap ruckman I'd seen come through juniors in recent years.

Thanks to noobermensch we have a brand new WA player in profile video. Luke Cotellessa (SD). Hunts the ball, wants the ball. Mainly good foot skills. What do you think.....I rate him. You can catch all noobermensch player profile videos on his youtube page

He's a natural footballer. Also very strong through the core. He doesnt blaze away if he has a bit of space, always lowers the eyes and delivers neatly to forwards.

I reckon he was even better in round 3, that would have been a good highlights package.

Swans have a nice midfield combo with him and Harvey.

I still think WA has to aim for getting 10 drafted (Including mid-season) this year. I know we wont get 17 drafted like in 2022 and 2023 but we have to at least give the draft age guys that opportunity to impress.

But yeah 2025 is very exciting.

Eastern Rangers who do you think in Futbolista 's current Top 7 list won't get drafted?

• I struggle to see Gerreyn not being drafted - good performances so far + decent potential and doesn't come across as a "problem child", I accept he could go a lot later in the draft.
  • Urquhart is a bit raw but again I would say on potential someone takes him late or as a rookie.
  • Unlikely but not impossible that Champion doesn't get drafted; his kicking is a bit ordinary, but I think he would have to put in some poor athletic performances to not get drafted. I can't see West Coast not giving him a go as an academy if he goes past 40.
  • Allan is doing some good stuff at WAFL seniors but he does strike me as a little bit vanilla for a HBF and that there are a few other options in the draft if you want a HBF. Was hoping he might graduate to the midfield but it doesn't look like that will happen.
  • The rest (Dennis, Boxshall and Roberts) - yes I can see them being overlooked. There are enough other Roberts types in the rest of the draft and as has been said in previous years, there are only so many centre midfielders that go.
I feel like Van Der Stryf and Artemis still have a reasonable chance of getting drafted - it probably only takes a couple of clubs specifically looking for that type of player, and limited options in the rest of the draft pool.

Ok cool. Hopefully the final 35 is picked by monday.....yeah the WA U/21's.....interesting
Have the 18’s reconvened for training yet? The majority of the side has been named, but I don’t think they’ve trained.