We picked the wrong guy. :(

Lol that is terrible, rollseyes is ultimate douchebaggery....
Had a much higher opinion of you before this, douchebaggery is such an ugly word. Stick with the sophisticated diction, reflects well.

Can write whatever you want within the rules, I applaud the freedom to express your opinion, but I am just voicing mine.
Your applause is noted, appreciated and reciprocated. Though we disagree on the particulars of the argument.

The highlighted is pretty lame though and if that is the feeling from a lot of Demons fans and what you look forward to enjoying then to me that reflects badly, but that is just my opinion.
Hmm, you see I think you know your opinion is in the minority in this thread, hence I question the persistence. Is it not enough to know you are morally superior and retire happy in that knowledge?

I'm not really touchy about it, it just seems strange to me.
Could it not just be an uneasy feeling that you've so obviously bombed out with your number two pick?

Didn't think so. ;)

--------------------------- (line in the sand).

I don't like threads being derailed. No offence intended, but PM me if you want to carry this on. Let's get back to the footy talk.

Hahahahaha not morally superior just shocked at the terrible winners.

You guys don't do it much, so I just expected more class lol (every team has those kind of supporters though).

I am no better than any other poster and I am sure you are in the minority when it comes to Melbourne supporters, so apologies to others no offence intended.

I think it's more ironic considering how everyone judged Watts' entire career on one or two games. Now we're pointing out that it doesn't mean squat what you do early in your career.

And yet why be relieved, I just find it strange to be relieved about this kind of thing being taken off your own player because it has been pushed onto another.

I think the abuse and bagging is ridiculous and am not happy it is happening to either Watts or Nat.

Also who cares about tit for tat. I mean what about Grandmaster_B (yes you too Whelan lol) and his incessant Nic Nat bagging which inspired those threads..... kind lame whoever is doing it.

In the end it's not all that serious but some bad comments in this thread and really I would think both teams posters would have more sense by condemning some of the stupidity that people post, in writing off both young guys than simultaneously ragging on either player:o.

But then that just may be me, I would rather Naita succeed than feel he looks better because another young guy is failing

I think it is just human nature to want unwarranted pressure to be shifted off yourself or anything you are involved in (in this case the MFC). Yes we would have much ratherd he come out and play a belter but due to illness he didn't even have that chance.

Well I can only speak for myself but I have only been posting on this subject to defend my boy. And BTW i watched the Eagles v Hawks game last week and i was so excited about NickNat. His last quarter was superb and he just looks really exciting. I don't wish him to play bad just because it would look poorly on our club. I hope they both dominate for years to come and provide fans of all clubs with plenty of excitement.

Eagles fan - piss off. Don't pretend to be a good loser, reeks of ****burgery (yeah take that).

palm_tree_2.jpg

Um, no we can not be gracious winners. Football is way more fun when you make other people feel like shit over a game. It proves your superiority and their idiocy.

Natanui will be a poor man's Brent Grgic, at best.

Good call Karl! Yep, Old Stone-hands is back :p

Stone-Hand.jpg

How good is a win, and how good was it to see Naitta suck balls

Nooooo Matt, that's the last thing I want to see, especially before I have lunch! :p

On another note.... Liam Jurrah is a player. If he kicked straight he would have had 3 or 4 goals. Very impressive

This guy is going to be something... :thumbsu:

Im actually happy NicNat had an off day. Its normal for a first year player and part of his education. He got targetted a bit which is all part of his long term education.

NicNat is so far playing on his athleticism only. He doesn't look like a natural footballer. Much like a certain Irishman when he first played. His awesome athleticism has been enough for him to date, and it will allow him to do some spectacular things, but his lack of game skills will make him look bad too.

BUT when he does learn the game skills, as he inevitably will, he is going to be absolutely fearsome. Again, much like a certain Irishman.

On the other hand, Jack's got all the skills, and athleticism, but needs to adapt to the pace of the game and gain fitness and strength (his fitness is marginal at this stage - his migraines caused him to miss two training sessions that he simply can't afford to miss, which was why he was left out).

All I can say is that I think Jack will be better for what Melbourne needs. NikNat may well be better for what West Coast needs. Win-win. And equally stupid to bag either of them at this stage. OK, maybe I'm being oversensitive.

On another note.... Liam Jurrah is a player. If he kicked straight he would have had 3 or 4 goals. Very impressive

This guy is going to be something... :thumbsu:

Yes he certainly is WTR!

The Jurrahcane is well and truly on the rise....

JURRAHCANE.jpg

;)

Now we've not seen Jack Watts strut his stuff yet and I'll happily wait patiently to watch it unfold, and I believe it will... but Naitanui was good last night, had superstar written all over him, if I was an Eagles supporter I'd be ecstatic.

No denying that.

Watching Natanui is like watching the huge kid from school play at lunch time except its the AFL. He is pretty amazing. However having said that Watts is vital to our future success before drafting him our future forward line was being led by Mike Newton and Brad Miller. With that in mind I can completely understand why the recruiting staff went down his path

Why would you bump this thread ?

It was a very influential display against a team with no rucks. The guy is certainly unusual. I was watching and thinking this guy is the least natural looking footballer I've ever seen, but he has a knack of getting involved and benefitting his team.

But I wouldn't trade Watts for him. I'm very happy to let things unfold and make a judgment in 15 years. And hope that dimwits don't bump old threads or start new threads every time Naitanui plays well.

Watts is a about a year younger than Naitanui, played football part-time last year, has had a string of minor injuries to contend with and started his AFL career with a twig-like build.

I'm not worried, I think the right decision has been made.

Weird bump. Hmmmmm.....

But to put this in perspective, this was against a team that made Ivan Maric look like an AA.

Not bagging Nicnat as he does look very promising but please.

Why would you bump this thread ?

Because it was started the last time Naitanui showed something, has an interesting and highly debatable title, and the first game of footy for 2010 again showed why Naitanui was so highly touted. Why would you not discuss it? It's totally relevant on the Melbourne board because we had a genuine option of selecting this guy. I'm not saying we made a mistake but I felt the thread is a great conversation starter, I'm sure there are Melbourne supporters on both sides of the fence on this topic.

You can stick your 'dimwit' comment up your arse.

I'm not saying he won't be a gun this season, but not having bothered to watch the game last night it troubles me that beating up on the Essendon ruck division (NAB Cup version) is considered worthy of so much hype.

Call me when he does something against a real ruck combo. In fact, don't even bother calling me because he doesn't play for us and I shouldn't give a rats.

Cmon guys, if you want to be taken seriously in any discussion here put your bias away for a bit hey. The fact is Natanui tore it up last night, kicked 3 goals and 1 supergoal, laid some good tackles (burried Mcveigh) and some great smothered. He also showed his skills had improved heaps since he started and hes getting into dangerous positions. Anyone who saw that should be impressed with the display.

Are you really saying that if Watts comes out next week and kicks four while showing the work ethic and desperation that nata showed last night that you will pipe up and say

"it troubles me that beating up on the Fremantle back line (NAB Cup version) is considered worthy of so much hype.

Call me when he does something against a real defensive unit"

Average guys...give credit where its due

NikNat's gonna be an absolute gun, there's no doubt about that, but he was pick #2 in a strong draft - that should be expected shouldn't it?

Watts is going to be a star in a few years. The kid is only 18 FFS. Just be patient fellas.

NikNat's gonna be an absolute gun, there's no doubt about that, but he was pick #2 in a strong draft - that should be expected shouldn't it?

Watts is going to be a star in a few years. The kid is only 18 FFS. Just be patient fellas.
Yeah I wouldn't worry too much about it. Watts will be a superstar. He just hasn't had much of an oppurtunity to defend himself yet. Give it time, and he'll show you why he was number 1 in one of the best drafts in recent memory.
Just out of curiosity though, how was his preseason?

I'm not saying he won't be a gun this season, but not having bothered to watch the game last night it troubles me that beating up on the Essendon ruck division (NAB Cup version) is considered worthy of so much hype.

Call me when he does something against a real ruck combo. In fact, don't even bother calling me because he doesn't play for us and I shouldn't give a rats.

An unusually bad post mate, I don't expect you to care about Naita but if Watts kicks 5 next week against some no-name Freo defender this board will explode.

be more interested to see how they are both tracking after about 50 games each

If I recall correctly, (Frank) Spencer was flying for us this time last year. Lets not get too excited about a player this early in the year. Nic Nat was good, but Bombers were shite....