Welcome to the Bulldogs Nick Coffield

Foot soldiers ,
oh , we had plenty of them and they were oh so bloody good, hard uncompromising , brave and never or // hardly ever let us down.

Brad Wirra
Denty
Ryan Hargrave ( lot more than foot soldier, anyhow)
Daniel Southern
Todd Curley

Is it just me or does Coff look like he should be lining up in an early 90’s dogs team?

It’s like he’s been stuck in ice for the last 30 years Encino Man style.

Apologies for the intrusion, but just wanted to wish him all the best. You got a ripper with this kid, and nobody at our club wanted to lose him. FWIW (not much), below is my write up on him from our board

When Ratten settled him at half back and he blossomed for about 12-18 months. Very good decision maker with ball in hand. Solid if unspectacular kick. Good set of hands, but isnt really one to be taking pack marks. More just good reading of the play and being in the right spot to intercept. Not brilliant defensively (dont leave him 1v1). At his best think something like Grant Birchall. Not a KPD or a small lockdown defender. But a highbrid that in the right defensive system with freedom to operate he can really hurt a team. Play him in a foreign role (mid or KPD) and he can look like a space cadet.

Biggest issue is consistancy. Gap between best and worst is huge. But he has also had no continuity due to poor development and injury. Only time he stayed in the same side in the same role for a decent period, he exploded. If you can get him injury free and give him a single clear role, he is a potential gem.

Best game I have ever seen him play was the 2020 elimination final. Paddy Ryder was BOG, but Coff was a close second. If you can stomach watching the game again, he is basically the reason we hold on. Best of luck with him

I reckon we're still a bit salty about #17 Alby Smedts leaving for StKilda.

Since then, StKilda recruits Phil Cronan, Josh Bruce and now Coffield have all been given Alby's number.

Yeah I was thinking about Cronan as well as Bruce.
Had a few others inbound over the years - Tweedale, Bennett Kellett, Gorozidis, Winmar, Duperouzel.
And sent a few their way - Smedts, both Fords, Cordy, Stevens, Birss, Campbell, Davies, Powell, Penny.

Quite a few others of less note.

Probably the biggest one at the time, and now largely forgotten, was Saints captain, 4x BnF and state player Bill Cubbins, who came across in 1931 as captain coach. Only missed out on percentage getting us into our first finals series in 1931, and was a great onfield leader.

The saddest story was ruckman Bill Downie. Played for Footscray in the same era and under the coaching of Cubbins, then played briefly at St Kilda as well. Won the VFA Recorder Cup at Nortcote after that. During WW2, he was a PoW on the Burma railway. The Australian War Memorial lists his cause of death there as 'illness' but most other reports say he was bayoneted (on a whim allegedly) by a Japanese guard.

He unofficially measured up at 193-194cm on one of the club’s insta videos the other day. Really hope we go with him, Jones and O’Donnell as our three taller defenders.

Jones' and JOD's fathers both played at Saints, and so did Coffield. No wonder Bevo tried Bruce in defence, he likes the Saints connection, having both his own as a player and his father as a long time recruiter at Linton St. And Geary too. We take people away from St Kilda and make them better!

Can't help thinking he might be the best free hit we've had in a while.

No-one at AFL level was surprised when he was taken at #8 in the draft, so he's not lacking in natural football ability. His injuries have hindered his progress (52 games c/f Naughts 123), but he's only 23. There's time.

Yeah, there's some risk, but if he stays fit, he has huge potential.

We've picked him up at the right time, IMO.

Can't help thinking he might be the best free hit we've had in a while.

No-one at AFL level was surprised when he was taken at #8 in the draft, so he's not lacking in natural football ability. His injuries have hindered his progress (52 games c/f Naughts 123), but he's only 23. There's time.

Yeah, there's some risk, but if he stays fit, he has huge potential.

We've picked him up at the right time, IMO.

Lets hope so. Love the fact hes a lifelong dogs supporter

This bloke has gone under the radar with the likes of Sanders attracting rave reviews and the usual media-in-search-of-a-crisis headlines about Macrae, Daniel, Bevo, whoever...

Coffield's story is a good one and we know good stories don't get clicks. Or sell fast food and gambling.

Well done and welcome home, young fella. Born and bred a Bulldog and now set to play the best few years of your footy career in the RW&B. I hope you play every game right up to the GF.