Well Done Crows!

johnnyhoward said:
Then you'd be behind 3-1, and the Crows would have a brighter future than all your ageing stars like Bishop, Kingsley, Peter Burgoyne, Wakelin, etc.

Peter Burgoyne? Kingsley? They are like 26? You obviously know a whole lot about us. We will always have those core group of players that i think (besides this year :mad: ) will most likely take you to the finals. Players like Warren Tredrea, Burgoyne brothers, Stuart Dew, Pickett, Chad Cornes, Kane Cornes, Lade. Not to mention young players like Casissi, Ebert, Solopek, Eckermann, and others.. all will play big roles next year. Yeah ok it would be 3-1 in the AFL and so what? They have been in the comp 7 years longer then us and it should look like that really. It will be a different story in a decade to come though, and with the showdown record going nice and well we still have bragging rights here.

I gotta say for a 46,000 crowd the atmosphere was appalingly bad tonight. If it wasn't for a few Adelaide ferals and the chanting of the Sydney Cheersquad I doubt I would have heard anything else from the crowd apart from maybe the thirty seconds after Adelaide kicked their goals.

grayham said:
... yet won every stat in that game bar goals-for.
Bit of a problem when you need to attack to win. How's that second worst attack in the league going ?

grayham said:
Adelaide are jammy. Wont go far in September.
You've got to be the worst sport posting on these boards.

Have a cry mate. You should get used to losing on big grounds.

Paralowiepower said:
Not being at the game, but a friend from Sydney was, so I will ask him, the atmosphere from Docklands with half the crowd was twice that from Football Park.
If you say it was good, good luck to you, but it didn't sound like it on TV.

Spot the difference in stadiums, AAMI and Docklands, and the laws of physics, tool?

Atmosphere was great at the stadium. You wished you could get 45,000 to a home and away game (exc showdowns). Last crowd I seem to remember for your mob was just short of 28,000!

Tredders66 said:
Peter Burgoyne? Kingsley? They are like 26?

Ah, before your start quoting stats check you numbers or is your name Rucci???? Burgoyne is 27 (born 29/1/1978) and Kingsley is just about to turn 30 (20/8/1975). Keep believing in your delusions, your side is the oldest in the AFL (start of the year average 24 y and 109 days). Wanganeen, Kingsley, Bishop, Wakelin, James, Primus, Montgomery and Francou (all either over 30 or turning 30 this year) with a couple of others now 29 and will be 30 next year (Walsh and Lade). Your have a few good players (Burgoyne/Cornes brothers and Tredrea) but generally you are an old squad and will be do squat next year and a few years after that.

PS : Salopek is injury prone and Ebert never gets a fair go. You can't become good footballers if the coach doesn't play you. Your youngsters are unproven (given your coaches continual promotion of old players over young players) and thats a fact.

Ruddiger said:
Bit of a problem when you need to attack to win. How's that second worst attack in the league going ?

You've got to be the worst sport posting on these boards.

Have a cry mate. You should get used to losing on big grounds.

Crying? I said I was very happy with the game by the swans.
Win-win. Adelaide get to cement 2nd spot. Sydney know they can beat both WC and Adelaide if they kick straight. A final at AAMI holds no fear for us.

Adelaides mega-flood didnt help scoring. But kicking straight would have helped.

Congratulation Crows - outplayed us in a very hard game.

I think the Swans knew that they had to stay in front to keep the crowd out of the contest. Once the Crows got the tree goals in three minutes it seemed like the whole ground went off and the atmosphere cahnged on the field, too.

grayham said:
Crying? I said I was very happy with the game by the swans.
Win-win. Adelaide get to cement 2nd spot. Sydney know they can beat both WC and Adelaide if they kick straight. A final at AAMI holds no fear for us.

Adelaides mega-flood didnt help scoring. But kicking straight would have helped.

Use to think you had a bit of credibility among the posters of BF but you're just a sad individual who can't see the sun for the clouds.

Personally I think the Swans would have won the game if they had played just normal football and not the rubbish defensive gameplan they were forced to dish up.

They have some very good players with a heap of talent, but the coach will not let them use this talent properly. :confused:

And I will not be satisfied with the Crows crowd support until it is full on for the whole bloody game. Not the odd six or seven seconds after each Crows goal. :mad:

grayham said:
You are kdding right? Third Quarter the swans starter with 2 blokes lose in defence; Sorry to say but that games was dragged right down by Sydneys very negative game plan.

Shrapnel said:
I gotta say for a 46,000 crowd the atmosphere was appalingly bad tonight. If it wasn't for a few Adelaide ferals and the chanting of the Sydney Cheersquad I doubt I would have heard anything else from the crowd apart from maybe the thirty seconds after Adelaide kicked their goals.
No, the crowd was good tonight, and loud there (if you pulled you red and white pom poms out of your ears you would have heard it) Maybe the exciting game plan of Sydney put you into a trance like state?

kirky said:
I'm sure you went to the game and therefore would have seen both sides on occassions flood. If you didn't and relied upon what you saw on screen then you have no idea.
I notice at least five occasions last night where Sydney won the ball at half back and had absolutely no players passed the centre circle; it was shocking to watch.

Markthirtytwo said:
Personally I think the Swans would have won the game if they had played just normal football and not the rubbish defensive gameplan they were forced to dish up.

They have some very good players with a heap of talent, but the coach will not let them use this talent properly. :confused:

And I will not be satisfied with the Crows crowd support until it is full on for the whole bloody game. Not the odd six or seven seconds after each Crows goal. :mad:

The crowd were a lot better than usual last night mate. It is very hard to barrack against nothing, there were about 44,000 Crows fans their last night.

If their were at least 15,000 opposition supporters to get into then I'm sure the atmosphere would pick up when their are lulls in the game.

I do hate the lack of knowledge that Crows supporters possess, sometimes I wish some would shut their mouths full stop. 50 year old women really have no idea, calling McLeod "useless" halfway through the 4th quarter was laughable.

kirky said:
Ah, before your start quoting stats check you numbers or is your name Rucci???? Burgoyne is 27 (born 29/1/1978) and Kingsley is just about to turn 30 (20/8/1975). Keep believing in your delusions, your side is the oldest in the AFL (start of the year average 24 y and 109 days). Wanganeen, Kingsley, Bishop, Wakelin, James, Primus, Montgomery and Francou (all either over 30 or turning 30 this year) with a couple of others now 29 and will be 30 next year (Walsh and Lade). Your have a few good players (Burgoyne/Cornes brothers and Tredrea) but generally you are an old squad and will be do squat next year and a few years after that.

PS : Salopek is injury prone and Ebert never gets a fair go. You can't become good footballers if the coach doesn't play you. Your youngsters are unproven (given your coaches continual promotion of old players over young players) and thats a fact.

Port have some very tough decisions to make about the state of their list come the end of the season. I wonder if Mark Williams is big enough to put the club first and start shedding some of his ageing former stars, or will he take the self serving route and try and scrape into the lower reaches of the 8 with most of dad's army still on the payroll?

Ten Ton Hammer said:
If we play more attacking than yes we will!

So you'll go further than Adelaide even though we have beaten you twice? I think you might be just a little bit annoyed that you didn't triumph last night. I think you'd better calm down, think things through and then start talking about premiership contenders.

grayham said:
I think WC are still hot favourite, with Sydney and St Kilda equal chances to tip them. The rest are gone.

How do you figure? Adelaide are sitting second, 2 games clear of third. If we can hold onto second we will get 2 home prelims. How are we gone?

Tredders66 said:
Even your own supporters think your atmosphere is poor. Doesn't matter like i said we can get smaller crowds but we are louder it's obvious they even said in last years Ports final series,it was the loudest crowd they have ever herd let alone being at AAMI.

What are you trying to prove? I think you're just angry and frustrated that the Crows are playing better footy this year than Port and that they are the team for all South Australians. I'm sure our atmosphere would kill Port games' atmosphere. How about you try and fill AAMI Stadium first before saying the Crows atmosphere was poor.

Paralowiepower said:
Was it? The game seemed to be a shocker, and the atmosphere flat as a tack. So much for the big build up all week for the crow fans to make some noise.
Was it really so quiet or was that just the fox telecast?

It was terribly quiet for 90% of the time. The only time the big grandstand started up was when we had the temerity to get a chant going.

to But still have a read as to what happened to us last night.
http://www.redandwhiteonline.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&postid=137816#post137816

A more violent aggressive atmosphere at a football game in Australia I have had seldom had the pleasure of experiencing. We had a group of about 4 bogans with mullets and earrings who all had "Crows Army" on the backs of their guernseys. One of them even held up this "Crow Army' banner with a tank on it. :rolleyes: I taunted them that the "Crows Army" consisted of 3 people. And that not once did they even attempt to get a chant going in SUPPORT of their team. Not only did I get a reply of quite vicious personal abuse that lasted all match but without security being there at the end of the game, we would have been attacked by these thugs. Does anyone actually know anything about these morons? :mad:

If you thought the commentary was bad, you were lucky you weren't there behind the goals last night. Again we needed a security escort out of the ground as well. It is sad that football has gotten to this stage that security escorted are deemed necessary just to get out of the ground safely. Sadly in Adelaide they are very necessary. One comment can result in them returning fire with not only abuse but objects such as bottles and jaffas. Every time Pete Hatley and I got up to get a chant going, we had the whole grandstand either abusing us, telling us to **** off or go home, or even worse an excuse to hurl bottles at us.

There is a nasty abusive narky streak in Adelaide supporters it seems. If I had kids, I would NOT want to be taking them to AAMI Stadium when morons like the "Crow Army" are there, not only engaging in the most base of personal abuse but the possiblility of physical violence.

Adelaide were the better side on the night I guess. I have no problem in admitting that. It is just the attitude of some of the vindictive neanderthals who barrack for them that I find very very hard to fathom.

As always, we came in friendship. :rolleyes:

JF

Tredders66 said:
Oh boy ya know ya at a Crows game when theres fireworks and Mexican waves during the game, were the cheer leaders there? :o

Yep, they sure were.

I don't know about you, but I know I go to the game for the big fireworks display beforehand.

JF :rolleyes:

dA Crow said:
Ah, the old I have a friend that says.... yada yada yada <insert made up rubbish here > blah blah blah.

That friend is me mate. PP even gave me a lift from the SANFL at Alberton to AAMI. (Thanks mate!)

PP is definitely on the money. To hear Neil Craig's comments that the crowd made the difference when the Crows were behind is laughable. The only time our grandstand chanted at all was when we got up to get a Sydney chant going. One of our Cheer Squad member's Mum had a bottle thrown at her when we were doing this.

JF

dA Crow said:
No, the crowd was good tonight, and loud there (if you pulled you red and white pom poms out of your ears you would have heard it) Maybe the exciting game plan of Sydney put you into a trance like state?

If you think that was a good crowd I would hate to go to a quiet crowd at AAMI. Come to think of it anytime the home team is behind the crowd goes dead quiet. They only make noise after they kick a goal. Why are alot of people saying this if it isn't true?

yob said:
It's simple really. When you create a representative side for the SANFL, you run a 1 in 8 chance of having Central supporters show up.

Hey, have a bit of respect buddy. While I agree most Centrals supporters are a bit feral, you cant deny their passion for their team. Unlike most other SANFL teams supporters. I hope you enjoyed the 2003 GF.